Thread: need help in home network configuration

need help in home network configuration

Hi,

I am new to networking and windows system administration, trying to setup a home network behind the cablem/modem and router. Have gone through different sites and thought this is best place where I can get some help and suggestions.

Here is my scenario:

I have a cable modem which is connected to a Router (D-Link DI624) and have a switch with 5 ports. 2 Servers and two pc's, may need to add more servers if need be.
    One server is planned to serve (win 2003 std edition) DNS,DHCP,Active Directory(AD) and VPN manager from out side. Other Servers and PC's should be only visible in local network as they need to talk to each other for application sharing, local network system should also need to connect to internet. When I connect from out side using VPN or other family members then they should be validated based on AD credentials and policies.

What is the best and easiest way to handle the above situation?

Is it right to attempt like:

Cable Modem > Router > disable DHCP on Router and assign a static local ip (ex: 192.168.0.05) to a client ( i.e server1) > connect server1 to router (and name the network as WAN on that server from network connections) > connect another NIC to switch (name it as LAN) > on server1, install DNS and configure LAN network as per http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=1660 > on server1, install active directory and configure > test > connect server2 or pc to the switch and join the server1.local domain

Please suggest and also it will be really helpful if you can provide any other url's to refer for dns/ADMS and VPN configuration.

Thanks in advance.
    HoustonTester

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England