Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lower MTU = Less Latency?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    40

    Lower MTU = Less Latency?

    When playing online games, i've read lowering your mtu gives you less lagg. Is this true...so if i set my mtu to 1 i'd get best results.

    It's currently set at 1492(i changed from 1500), and i've noticed a difference. But people are still beating me and clicking at the right time.

    What should it be? Any help would be awesome.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try 1440. But when you change MTU, you also need to change TCP Window to remain optimum.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    Does this really work???

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,061
    Blog Entries
    6
    Smaller packets have a bit less latency... But headers become larger part of the whole packet, so throughput suffers a bit.

    If you're aiming purely for gaming, you can try it. Here is a bit more information on packet size and latency: http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=111

    Keep in mind that many games use UDP traffic (that uses different packet sizes), MTU is for TCP traffic, so your mileage may vary.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    what would be a good RWIN to set my computer to if I changed my MTU to 1440?
    I live in calgary, AB, CA and am paying for a 5mbps down connection

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 09.15.2008 23:56
    IP address: 68.144.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030101010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 128480 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 5139kbps (642KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2056kbps (257KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Weedy View Post
    what would be a good RWIN to set my computer to if I changed my MTU to 1440?
    I live in calgary, AB, CA and am paying for a 5mbps down connection
    (MTU - 40) x highest even number to get a value just below 65535 and then multiply it by 2.

    1400 x 46 = 64400 x 2 = 128800
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    thanks for all the help guys
    one last question if you don't mind: If I edit MTU on my computer would I have to change it on my router as well? I'm connected via LAN
    Last edited by Weedy; 09-16-08 at 05:16 AM.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Just change the settings in your comp.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1440
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128800
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

Similar Threads

  1. rwin lower then mtu?
    By unknown187 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-07, 09:42 PM
  2. Haywire optimum MTU
    By Pilatus in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-22-07, 07:53 PM
  3. How can i lower my latency??
    By devildude0293 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-07, 05:10 PM
  4. speedguide.net/analyzer.php , Not showing correct MTU ???
    By speedms in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-06, 11:08 AM
  5. Netgear WGT624v2 MTU Problem With PPPoE
    By patinsj in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-05, 12:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •