Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 73

Thread: TCP Optimizer - Tips For BEGINNERS

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14
    I saw this thread: http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=236450

    What would TCP Receive window be for 1440 MTU ?

  2. #22
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    499
    Move the slider at the top to match 7mb Make sure you reset all the changes I recomended, Warning sometimes you have to do it twice in order to get it to stick.

  3. #23
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Last edited by Rollingstone; 07-21-08 at 10:15 AM.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    If the optimizer makes my internet worse. How do I restore back my original settings?

  5. #25
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    In the optimizer click on file then should be a reset to default or default settings.
    Comptia a+ n+

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    mccoffe could you look in my topic please

  7. #27
    Junior Member i_am_nOobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Philippines!
    Posts
    18

    Exclamation Smartbro (Phillipines) Need Help Tweaks

    Sir PLEASE HELP ME TWEAK MY CONNECTION plz
    I am using SmartBro> Motorola Canopy Lite 5.7ghz

    Canopy Lite - 5.7GHz - Subscriber Module - 0a-00-3e-d1-36-a7
    Device Information
    Device Type : Canopy Lite - 5.7GHz - Subscriber Module - 0a-00-3e-d1-36-a7
    Software Version : CANOPY 8.1.5 SM-DES
    Software BOOT Version : CANOPYBOOT 1.0
    Board Type : P10
    FPGA Version : 111306
    PLD Version : 11
    Uptime : 01:47:50
    System Time : 16:14:27 04/25/2001
    Ethernet Interface : 10Base-T Full Duplex
    Antenna Polarization : Vertical

    Subscriber Module Stats
    Session Status : REGISTERED VC 96 Rate 1X/1X
    RSSI : 578
    Power Level : -76 dBm
    Jitter : 3
    Air Delay : 110 approximately 1.02 miles (5390 feet)

    Key Features Information
    Maximum Throughput : 1 Mbps Aggregate

    %********************************************%

    as of today I don't know how use ANY optimizers ex. CableNut
    plz recommend any further solutions..

    thankyou!

    Running Apps
    Nod32v3
    SUPERAntiSpywarePRO

    Running Apps in background
    GoogleDesktop
    SiS UtilityTray
    Windows Messenger - not signed in
    Realtek HD Audio Manager

    No spywares/adwares/viruses/malwares present in my computer sir..
    in 2007 i did try to tweak my connection with a fake TZ connection booster and it just improved a little bit ex.20kb to 23kb

    PS: Online games always lagg! Rakion, Gundbound, etc.

    i hope you could help me!!
    %********************************************%

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 04.10.2008 00:02
    IP address: 203.84.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030001010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 33580 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 33580
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 1343kbps (168KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 537kbps (67KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 42
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    %********************************************%
    Speedtest.net Results
    Tested on: 04.10.2008 00:02
    IP address: 203.84.xxx.xxx




    %********************************************%


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 11 ms 9 ms 7 ms 192.168.224.1
    2 16 ms 13 ms 15 ms 203.84.181.237
    3 27 ms 24 ms 23 ms 121.54.3.1
    4 22 ms 22 ms 24 ms 203.111.225.34
    5 20 ms 22 ms 19 ms 203.111.226.13
    6 21 ms 19 ms 18 ms 124.83.5.53.pldt.net [124.83.5.53]
    7 18 ms 22 ms 24 ms 58.71.0.143
    8 233 ms 229 ms 229 ms if-7-2.mcore4.LAA-LosAngeles.teleglobe.net [216.6.85.29]
    9 235 ms 241 ms 232 ms if-5-0.mcore4.PDI-PaloAlto.teleglobe.net [216.6.86.9]
    10 238 ms 244 ms 274 ms if-0-0.core3.PDI-PaloAlto.Teleglobe.net [207.45.196.77]
    11 234 ms 234 ms 239 ms ix-6-2.core3.PDI-PaloAlto.Teleglobe.net [207.45.213.130]
    12 242 ms 236 ms 242 ms g-0-0-0-p140.msr1.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.49]
    13 237 ms 239 ms 245 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    14 247 ms 239 ms 237 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

  8. #28
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by i_am_nOobie View Post
    ********************************************%
    Speedtest.net Results
    Tested on: 04.10.2008 00:02
    IP address: 203.84.xxx.xxx




    %********************************************%
    What speed did you pay your ISP to give you?
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  9. #29
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    I belive only philip can lock threads ,and maybe some of the mods. You'll have to talk to him about all that.
    Comptia a+ n+

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Hi thanks for the guide!

    One big question bothers me. Browsing internet by wlan is fine but I have got a network HP printer connected by LAN wire and it prints damn slow.
    It is a HP laserjet 2100TN with 8mb or 12mb. Anyway, I used TCPoptimizer and tuned 'only' my WLAN adapter for 1492 PPPOE and 16.000 advertised dl speed.
    The question is, have I to adjust the LAN adapter to which my printer connects, too? Is it possible that the printer has problems with a MTU of 1492 or a much too high RWIN?

    thanks
    DD from Germany

  11. #31
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  12. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thank you Rollingstone

    I will try that.

  13. #33
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,423
    Blog Entries
    6
    About those two settings:
    Max Connections per Server
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server

    Many web servers do not support too many concurrent connections, setting to a number over 10 can cause problems loading some pages, or excessive repeat requests. I'd recommend setting both to 8 or 10 max.

  14. #34
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by trogers View Post
    You cannot set QoS to zero with regedit.
    I believe it is QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0 in TCP Optimizer !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    85
    I was just wondering if you should have a warning about using Optimizer with Vista. Seems the consensus right now is to not use it with Vista.

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    85

    Don't Use Optimizer with Vista unless told to do so.

    Someone may have already asked this, but shouldn't you have a cautionary note about using Optimizer and some of the Vista tweaks, esoecially the Autotuning ones, before seeking help? Seems the consensus right now is not to use Optimizer with Vista. Most of the posts I am seeing right now with Vista OS are because Optimizer was used and didn't work or the connection is worse.

    I ran Optimizer on my Vista without any real problems last yesr.
    Disabled Autotuning, ran Optimizer using custom settings and then enabled Autotuning.
    Before doing this I was getting about 800/650 max from speedtedt.net

    My System
    Compaq Presario SR2180Nx
    Vista Home Premium SP1
    Intel Pentium D CPU (Dual Core) 2800MHz
    RAM 3062 MB
    Intel PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    connected to 2wire 2101GG-D Trained 1536/960 kbps
    ISP Qwest Silver (1500/1000)


    Speedtest.net test results from Minneapolis today

    LA ping 207 ms, 1338/685 kbp/s
    Dallas ping 74ms 1424/788 kbps


    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 09.20.2008 13:04
    IP address: 63.231.xxx.xxx
    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65700 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 16425
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2628kbps (329KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1051kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 49
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\PC>netsh int tcp show global
    Querying active state...

    TCP Global Parameters
    ----------------------------------------------
    Receive-Side Scaling State : enabled
    Chimney Offload State : disabled
    Receive Window Auto-Tuning Level : normal
    Add-On Congestion Control Provider : ctcp
    ECN Capability : disabled
    RFC 1323 Timestamps : disabled

  17. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2

    Question Anyone, anyone, please help me..

    I'm new to this forum, so please be patient with me..
    I'm using 3 Usb Modem (7.2mbps max). I'm on the advertised max 3.6mbps broadband.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.04.2008 01:32
    IP address: xxx.xx.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b4
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 17520 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 17520
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 701kbps (88KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 280kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 112
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: OFF
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    I'm on Win XP sp2.

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    33 kbps down (~0.03 Mbps, 4 KB/s)↓
    62 kbps up (~0.06 Mbps, 8 KB/s)↑
    250 KB downloaded in 62.156 seconds
    100 KB uploaded in 13.25 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.04 01:37 EDT


    Previously I've tested the speed both off-peak and peak hour. I live in Malaysia. My friend who subscribed for 384kbps once had a chance to get some 500kbps. I couldn't pass the 3.6Mbps advertised to me. I think i have gained 2mbps or so, but for maybe once or twice. Other than that, it would be an annoying less than 1mbps, and even slower..let alone 3mbps. By the way, modem shows either HSDPA or 3G. Very unlikely to fall below that.

    I've tried FullSpeed 3.0, then SC Net Speed Booster before removed them. I did use the SG TCP Optimizer 2.0.3 and followed the guidelines in this website, and forum. But then restored the default windows settings.

    I'm very new to the internet , but I know, it's not even half of what i've paid for. Oh, by the way, the speedtest.net shows the wrong location (I don;t know..500 or 600 miles away) where I should be. I read somewhere that says my broadband Plan has a 5gb limitation cap each month.

    In advance, I thank you sir.

  18. #38
    LM14's , i think we both are using the same IP,maybe you wanna refer to my topic which i already started and some of the pro's are actually helping me reg the tweak,there some tips there tht might help you and we might be able to help each other out too.my location is in johor.

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=246064

  19. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Angelinedev View Post
    LM14's , i think we both are using the same IP,maybe you wanna refer to my topic which i already started and some of the pro's are actually helping me reg the tweak,there some tips there tht might help you and we might be able to help each other out too.my location is in johor.

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=246064

    Thanks Angelinedev.. I tried few settings:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.07.2008 19:33
    IP address: 219.93.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030301010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 513920 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3 bits (2^3=8)
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 20557kbps (2570KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8223kbps (1028KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    767 kbps down (~0.77 Mbps, 94 KB/s)↓
    111 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 14 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 10.938 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 18.406 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 19:40 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    801 kbps down (~0.8 Mbps, 98 KB/s)↓
    111 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 14 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 10.469 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 18.39 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 19:36 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Then i've changed it:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.07.2008 19:59
    IP address: 219.93.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 256960 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 10278kbps (1285KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4111kbps (514KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    874 kbps down (~0.87 Mbps, 107 KB/s)↓
    111 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 14 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 9.594 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 18.407 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 20:02 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    774 kbps down (~0.77 Mbps, 94 KB/s)↓
    112 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 14 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 10.844 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 18.359 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 20:06 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    This, when i use SpeedConnect Internet Accelerator, Auto optimized for 3 Mbps.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.07.2008 20:19
    IP address: 219.93.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 251120 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 62780
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 10045kbps (1256KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4018kbps (502KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    662 kbps down (~0.66 Mbps, 81 KB/s)↓
    107 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 13 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 12.672 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 19.187 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 20:24 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    575 kbps down (~0.58 Mbps, 70 KB/s)↓
    110 kbps up (~0.11 Mbps, 13 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 14.578 seconds
    250 KB uploaded in 18.547 seconds
    Tested on: 2008.10.07 20:29 EDT
    Tested from: biznetnetworks.com

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Then i've decided to rest on TCP Window: 256960.
    Well, I don't know if thats the only pace i could get.
    Speedtest.net shows somewhere in Sarawak or Sabah..while i stay in Johor.

    Anyway, i really2 appreciate your help.

  20. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5
    PLEASE I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    CAN I USE 65535 IN LAN REQUEST BUFFER SIZE, USING TCP OPTIMIZER?

    THE PROGRAM SUGGEST 16384 IN OPTIMAL SETTINGS AND SOMEBODY TELLS 35540.

    MY EMAIL IS jai1732@gmail.com.


    regards.

Similar Threads

  1. Could use some help with TCP Optimizer settings
    By Sushi_x47 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-05-12, 05:18 AM
  2. Replies: 37
    Last Post: 09-19-08, 05:16 PM
  3. sg tcp optimizer settings help
    By supercoop in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-16-07, 01:58 PM
  4. Need Help with TCP Optimizer (Windows 2000)
    By OldSalt35 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-06, 01:35 PM
  5. Uploads faster then downloads
    By mailman30 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 02-23-06, 11:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •