Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: DSL to cable and back - Cannot acquire IP address

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21

    DSL to cable and back - Cannot acquire IP address

    We started on Comcast cable. We also installed DSL Verizon to compare them. Currently we have both services into the house. Problem is, once a computer has been set to connect to the DSL modem, it cannot acquire a network address from the cable modem.

    Previously, I successfully set up internet access through the cable modem, both hardwired and wireless

    Then I disconnected from the cable modem and successfully set up the internet access through the DSL modem. It required me to install Verizon software

    Here is the problem:
    Now I disconnect the cat 5 from the DSL modem and connect it to the cable modem. I cannot acquire a network address.

    I think the Verison software has made some changes that prevent acquiring a dynamic network address from the Comcast cable modem.

    What settings might I need to change to acquire the cable modem address, and where would I look for it?

    Verizon - Westell 6100 DSL modem
    Comcast - Motorola SB5120 cable modem

    two computers, both running Windows XP os

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Cable modem only requires the LAN adapter to be set to "Obtain Auto".
    The Westell should be the same....as it's really a router that already does the PPPoE for you.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    it is set to "obtain auto". It acquires the DSL modem address. It does not acquire the cable modem address.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,898
    Is there a PPPoE adapter setup on the computer? Usually with the Westells..the modem/router itself does the PPPoE for you..you don't have to install/configure your workstation for it. Normally the Westells run as a router..so the PC gets a 192.168.0.xxx or 192.168.1.xxx address.

    With Comcast...you should get a public IP address from the Surfboard.

    Are you getting a 192.168.100.xxx address from the Surfboard? If so..your surfboard isn't connected to Comcast properly...it's not getting a public IP address from them.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    It is possible that you are holding on to a previous DSL settings. Are you doing a release and renew through ipconfig?

Similar Threads

  1. Cable Modem Losing Signal. Time Warner = Clueless...
    By wildmandingo in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-09, 09:18 PM
  2. Random disconnects, is my modem dying?
    By Sirkusphreak in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-13-08, 05:00 AM
  3. Router/Modem all of a sudden giving very slow speeds
    By pkillebr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-07, 08:41 AM
  4. Merging DSL modem and cable modem?
    By Starmax in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-05, 02:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •