Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: FIX: Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

  1. #1
    WaxyBreath
    Guest

    FIX: Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

    Thought I would share my struggle with IPcop Blue + WAP config...

    Scenario:

    I just installed a Blue network on my IPcop (1.4.11) and want to use a
    wireless access point (NOT a wireless router. *In general*, think of a
    WAP as having only one ethernet port on the back, and router would
    have more than one due to also having a router/switch integrated)


    Problem:

    After connecting everything, enabling DHCP on the blue interface, and
    assigning IP's to blue and the WAP device, there is no internet
    access. I can ping the blue interface as well as the WAP, but no
    external IP's.


    Solution:

    If only using a WAP on blue, you MUST create a an entry in the Blue
    Access menu for *every* POSSIBLE DHCP address that *may* be assigned.
    This seems completely counterintuitive with DHCP involved, but that is
    just the it must be configured. Here's what I did as an example:

    - 1. I reduced the number of DHCP address in the scope to save me time
    entering these rules.
    - 2. Under Firewall | Blue Access menu, I added EACH POSSIBLE DHCP
    address. MAC or IP can be used. Make sure you check the enable box.








    For wireless routers, create a subnet behind the wireless router.
    Disable DHCP on the blue interface, enable DHCP on the wireless
    router, and finally add the IP of the wireless router to the blue
    access device

  2. #2
    WaxyBreath
    Guest

    Re: FIX: Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE! Post a reply if this did or did not help. It's
    good to know that was time well spent. If you don't have a Google
    groups account, then you know what to do...

  3. #3
    neto.armando@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: FIX: Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

    On 18 jan, 19:02, WaxyBreath <WaxyBre...@gmail.com> wrote:
    > PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE! Post a reply if this did or did not help. It's
    > good to know that was time well spent. If you don't have a Google
    > groups account, then you know what to do...


    this didn't help me.. but the problem is the same..

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1
    Hi WaxyBreath...after spending a lot of search I found your solution and it worked.
    I still don't understand why I have to add all MAC's to access Internet from AP.
    my wireless devices gets IP's from DHCP running on blue but can't connect to internet unless I add MAC to blue access.

    Any ways ...thanks for your solution.

  5. #5

    FIX: Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

    This solution was a huge help to me. I also reduced the number
    of blue ips I allowed on the dhcp page of ipcop and then added
    all of the permitted ips to the blue access page. Many thanks to WaxyBreath for the solution, which I could not find elsewhere.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thank You...

    "For wireless routers, create a subnet behind the wireless router.
    Disable DHCP on the blue interface, enable DHCP on the wireless
    router, and finally add the IP of the wireless router to the blue
    access device"

    This worked for me, but I just wanted to add, that it's not required to enable DHCP on the WAN Interface of the router... I added the static IP of the WAN side of my router, and the MAC (just in case)... I finally have a working Blue Interface. I was only adding the LAN assigned DHCP addresses before, it was causing me to pull my hair out...

    Thanks Again!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    FIX Wireless access point on IPcop Blue network

    You might want to move everything into close proximity to each other while setting everything up so that range or too much range is not causing problems.

    Not sure your point about cell service, unless that is how you connect to the Internet. Cell and wireless networking are two different beasts.


    How great a distance are you trying to reach? You may need to look into directional antennas.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    6
    solution u recommend for wireless routers not working for me.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2
    This worked for me, but I just wanted to add, that it's not required to enable DHCP on the WAN Interface of the router..

Similar Threads

  1. Dell laptop bringing down the network when wireless is enabled
    By Flashboski in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-07, 01:56 AM
  2. Problems with wireless network connecting to the internet
    By mksingh79 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-07, 10:19 AM
  3. Mixing a wireless router and an ethernet switch. How?
    By jb22 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-07, 05:57 PM
  4. I need help with my wireless network...lost and stuck!
    By insuranceman in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-07, 03:10 PM
  5. Belkin F5D7000 Wireless Network Card Help!!
    By phoenix211984 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-06, 05:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •