Thread: looking for good router without wireless capability to update ungainly network

looking for good router without wireless capability to update ungainly network

Hi,

I'm very new to networking ideas and am looking for some advice.

Our current network depends on 6 airports in DHCP mode to distribute IP addresses to 15-20 desktop computers and a varying number of laptops. Clearly, this is an inefficient way to do things and the network goes down regularly. Someone (who is now unavailable to ask for help) suggested that we add a router without wireless capability to act as the DHCP server service. The problem is, most of the routers I can find on the market all have wireless capability. Could anyone suggest a good router without wireless capability, or at least point me in the direction of good sites to look at? I would really appreciate it!

And, I realize that the router versus switch question is answered in the FAQ, but I was wondering what exactly a network backbone switch was, and how it differed from a regular switch or router.

Thank you very much!

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    As you step into business grade routers...most of those are without a wireless feature. It's usually home grade routers which bundle wireless in with them. For business environments...certain you want at least business grade hardware.

On the entry level..Linksys/Cisco makes an RV0 series of routers...I love them...fast, solid, stable, good VPN functionality, multiple WAN ports. DLink also makes a similar model.

Step up a notch..Sonicwall, Watchguard, Cisco, ZyXel, 3COM, Netopia, Multitech

Up another notch...Juniper, or build your own linux distro router on your hardware.

If you have 6x access points....I'd get an access point setup which is designed to be managed centrally, DLink has some SmartAP series....HP Procurve, Cisco...all designed to be setup to blanket a large area and be managed together from a single tool.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company