Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Strange XP issue

Strange XP issue

Okay I am not sure if this is software related or not but here it goes. I have this one PC that I have been running linux on for a couple of years. I switched this one soley to linux due to everytime I would boot XP it would give me a blue screen stating system halted hardware failure. It did this back then with XP pro and XP home. It ran for a couple of years fine with XP pro before it started doing this. Well today, I had the itch to try XP Media center on this pc. Well wouldn't you know it, as soon as it went to start the install it had the same blue screen again. This computer runs flawlessly on many flavors of linux but has completely stopped running MS. I just go not get it. The specs on this system are as follows:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    1 gig DDR crucial ram
    RTL-8139 nic
    Audigy MP3+ soundcard
    ATI Radeon 9250
    Abit KH7A motherboard
    Seagate Barracuda 120 gig HD
    WD 60 gig HD
    Last edited by burple; 01-12-08 at 10:08 PM.
    Test Your Speed Here

Previously known as beaker1.

i don't think you can upgrade a pc to media center, you have to buy one with media center installed on it. i could be wrong though, but i did read that somewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    i don't think you can upgrade a pc to media center, you have to buy one with media center installed on it. i could be wrong though, but i did read that somewhere.
    No that is not true. I just loaded a copy on my daughters pc just fine this week. And I do not think this has as much to do with media center as it has to do with just running xp all together now.
    Test Your Speed Here

Quote Originally Posted by burple View Post
    No that is not true. I just loaded a copy on my daughters pc just fine this week. And I do not think this has as much to do with media center as it has to do with just running xp all together now.