Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TCP Optimizer Problem with Vista

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    TCP Optimizer Problem with Vista

    Hi all,

    i'm from Germany so please try to understand what i'm trying to explain

    Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit.

    I tried to Configure my Network with TCP Optimizer, the Problem is that its not working!

    I deactivated the Autotuning Feature and ran Optimizer with Admin Rights. Its writing Settings to my Registry, but they dont work.

    When i use the Analyzer it tells me an RWIN Value from 65k.
    The Optimizer is writing somethin about 1000000 in my Registry.

    Can somebody tell me why it doesn't work?

    greetz AkShen

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    TCP Optimizer isn't tested with Vista nor is it needed.. Vista is self tuning per the connection your using.

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    See this: http://www.msfn.org/board/Heres-TcpW...ta-t87969.html

    Suggest set autotuning to normal.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by trogers View Post
    See this: http://www.msfn.org/board/Heres-TcpW...ta-t87969.html

    Suggest set autotuning to normal.
    Is there a more plain english explanation of why disabling autotunning doesnt allow you to change it to what you want?

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Is there a more plain english explanation of why disabling autotunning doesnt allow you to change it to what you want?
    Yes. Vista has no registry entry for TCP Window Size. You cannot change what is not there.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    So Vista sucks?

  7. #7
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeex View Post
    So Vista sucks?
    no but since your refreshing every thread on the site, I'll respond to say that Vista is pretty good, just had alot of things different than XP. Its not complete yet and still has flaws like the memory usage that it requires to just hover on desktop but its getting there.

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Vista is a fine OS and its high memory usage is part of its design, not a problem.

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Vista is a fine OS and its high memory usage is part of its design, not a problem.
    Doesn't mean when one designs a car they didn't have a flaw in the design...

    I still stand behind it being a issue that needs to be adjusted or resolved.

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    Doesn't mean when one designs a car they didn't have a flaw in the design...

    I still stand behind it being a issue that needs to be adjusted or resolved.
    I'm sure over time it will be tweaked, but not to use less memory, just in when or under how much load to fill it up.

    With xp unused memory = free memory.

    With vista, unused memory = wasted.

Similar Threads

  1. what the heck is all this on my logs?
    By Faction in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-11-08, 08:03 PM
  2. TCP Optimizer problem
    By Boomsars in forum Feedback, Suggestions & Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-07, 06:37 AM
  3. TCP optimizer on Talktalk
    By s_jamjam in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-07, 09:47 AM
  4. TCP Optimizer version 2.0.2 Beta
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-15-05, 04:22 PM
  5. Problem with SG TCP Optimizer
    By bylund in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 02:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •