Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: pathping Results; Packet loss ingame?

  1. #1

    pathping Results; Packet loss ingame?

    Brief story of past couple days to give some background. I live in Southern Cali. and I have a 10MB connection from Time Warner Cable, everything was working fine before. I was about to move to a different place so I scheduled to discontinue my service and so they did, but I changed my mind and they got a guy out to my house to activate the cable line again. After doing so, I have been experience random pauses that lasts 1-3 seconds in an online game (CS:Source). I called support and the guy said everything was fine (doubt it).

    I did a pathping test to a local public server and here are my results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Albert>pathping 66.225.245.210

    Tracing route to unknown.sjc.scnet.net [66.225.245.210]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    0 PC-AlbertPham.socal.rr.com [72.129.60.221]
    1 10.34.160.1
    2 cpe-24-30-162-185.socal.rr.com [24.30.162.185]
    3 tge4-3-0.lsanca1-rtr1.socal.rr.com [24.30.162.233]
    4 tge1-2-0.tustca1-rtr1.socal.rr.com [66.75.161.210]
    5 ge-6-1-129.hsa1.Tustin1.Level3.net [4.79.140.37]
    6 ae-3-3.ebr1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.132.218]
    7 ae-1-100.ebr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.132.6]
    8 ae-78.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.135.14]
    9 ae-2.ebr3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.132.9]
    10 ae-73-73.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.134.230]
    11 ae-2-79.edge2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.79]
    12 269.xe-0-2-0.cr1.sjc1.us.scnet.net [4.79.40.130]
    13 v52.ar1.sjc1.us.scnet.net [216.246.103.2]
    14 ge0-1.aggr20.sjc1.us.scnet.net [66.225.245.66]
    15 unknown.sjc.scnet.net [66.225.245.210]

    Computing statistics for 375 seconds...
    Source to Here This Node/Link
    Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
    0 PC-AlbertPham.socal.rr.com [72.129.60.221]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    1 8ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 10.34.160.1
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    2 8ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% cpe-24-30-162-185.socal.rr.com [24.30.162.185]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    3 13ms 2/ 100 = 2% 2/ 100 = 2% tge4-3-0.lsanca1-rtr1.socal.rr.com[24.30.162.233]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    4 15ms 3/ 100 = 3% 3/ 100 = 3% tge1-2-0.tustca1-rtr1.socal.rr.com[66.75.161.210]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    5 41ms 2/ 100 = 2% 2/ 100 = 2% ge-6-1-129.hsa1.Tustin1.Level3.net[4.79.140.37]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    6 22ms 3/ 100 = 3% 3/ 100 = 3% ae-3-3.ebr1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net[4.69.132.218]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    7 22ms 3/ 100 = 3% 3/ 100 = 3% ae-1-100.ebr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.132.6]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    8 25ms 1/ 100 = 1% 1/ 100 = 1% ae-78.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net[4.69.135.14]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    9 31ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ae-2.ebr3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.132.9]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    10 31ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ae-73-73.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net[4.69.134.230]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    11 --- 100/ 100 =100% 100/ 100 =100% ae-2-79.edge2.SanJose1.Level3.net[4.68.18.79]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    12 29ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 269.xe-0-2-0.cr1.sjc1.us.scnet.net[4.79.40.130]
    1/ 100 = 1% |
    13 29ms 1/ 100 = 1% 0/ 100 = 0% v52.ar1.sjc1.us.scnet.net [216.246.103.2]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    14 31ms 1/ 100 = 1% 0/ 100 = 0% ge0-1.aggr20.sjc1.us.scnet.net [66.225.245.66]
    1/ 100 = 1% |
    15 28ms 2/ 100 = 2% 0/ 100 = 0% unknown.sjc.scnet.net [66.225.245.210]

    Trace complete.
    Just a tid bit confused about that 100/100 in the hop from 10 to 11 is...I'm not experiencing any major packet loss correct? Am I reading it correct that I'm only experiencing 0-1% packet loss? So would this mean that this problem is server-sided? (Meaning Valve/Steam's fault - company behind CS:Source). Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. I'd rather not deal with 10 retarded tech. support people at Time Warner.

    I'm also awaiting results from the Line Quality test from dslreports.com and will post if needed.

    To add: I was doubting at first that this was Valve's fault because at those pauses ingame, where everything would freeeze, my voice communication over a Ventrilo client was cut off too momentarily and I could not hear my teammates voice chat at the specific moment.

    Here are my TCP Analyzer results if useful:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 01.09.2008 14:26
    IP address: 72.129.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65700 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 16425
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2628kbps (329KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1051kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 116
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by albert0373; 01-09-08 at 01:27 PM.

  2. #2
    These are my line quality test results:

    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2332740

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Signals from both east and west encountered packet losses at this intermediate router:

    ae-2-56.edge3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  4. #4
    How may that be solved?

    I called Time Warner and nobody could understand all the jargon I was throwing at them, even the "modem specialist". Bunch of retards operating those phones...

    So they're sending me a technician on Friday morning, what should I tell him? I'll show him the lag spikes I am getting in game though, and the test results?

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by albert0373 View Post
    How may that be solved?

    I called Time Warner and nobody could understand all the jargon I was throwing at them, even the "modem specialist". Bunch of retards operating those phones...

    So they're sending me a technician on Friday morning, what should I tell him? I'll show him the lag spikes I am getting in game though, and the test results?
    The tech will probably run some test from his laptop connected from your line. They usually just check speed. Get him to check ping times and packet losses to your game servers.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  6. #6
    Thank you, you've been a great help.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-07, 09:11 PM
  2. Connection Timing out/ Packet Loss
    By Derrty in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-07, 09:12 AM
  3. Connection Times Out/ Packet Loss
    By Derrty in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-07, 11:31 PM
  4. Packet loss via switch
    By ravensm in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-07, 03:10 PM
  5. Limited network connection & Excessive packet loss problem
    By tlbray in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-12-06, 11:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •