Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: does this exist?

  1. #1
    Chinese Vampire tHE_0ne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Williamsburg/Norfolk VA
    Posts
    5,870

    does this exist?

    Ok I dont want to be laughed at, but I have some spare 80GB sata and IDE hard-drives. I have a laptop I got on black friday, but I want a external hard drive. Can I somehow buy a case for these 80GB hard drives that I can put the drive in ,then plug into my laptop via usb?

    If this doesnt exist, I think it should be invented

    My~Rig
    |Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz @ 2.5Ghz||ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2||OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200|ZALMAN 120MM CNPS7700-CU|
    |ATI XT 1600 PRO|CSB SB0570 Audigy SE 7.1||WD SE16 SATA 320GB HD|Hitachi SATA 160GB HD|Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply |WIN 7 Ultimate| (College Budget)

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Could buy external cases, I dunno if they have ones for multiple drives of different connections.

    *goes to browse newegg*

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,051
    Yes.. I took a 60gig Laptop HDD 2.5 drive and got this encloser for it.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163063

    I mostly used it to save some images I made of a few computers I have with Acronis so I could do a few "Experimental" things with them.

    But yes you can do what you asked and I recommend doing that with Internal HDD's than I would buy a regular built/sold External HDD as most internals have longer warranties than the Externals.

  4. #4
    Chinese Vampire tHE_0ne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Williamsburg/Norfolk VA
    Posts
    5,870
    regular hd's are 3.5 right?

    My~Rig
    |Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz @ 2.5Ghz||ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2||OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200|ZALMAN 120MM CNPS7700-CU|
    |ATI XT 1600 PRO|CSB SB0570 Audigy SE 7.1||WD SE16 SATA 320GB HD|Hitachi SATA 160GB HD|Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply |WIN 7 Ultimate| (College Budget)

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Quote Originally Posted by tHE_0ne View Post
    regular hd's are 3.5 right?

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,964
    Yes there are tons of them out there..just an empty case that adapts the drive interface to USB or firewire or ethernet...depending on which you get. Think SATA ones are out now also for those lucky enough to have external SATA connectors on their mobos.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Yes, you can do that , just go and choose one in the newegg.

Similar Threads

  1. Do such things exist...?
    By CiscoKid in forum Automotive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-07, 08:32 PM
  2. Batch file backups
    By loganj in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-14-07, 08:05 PM
  3. Did Jesus exist? Italian court to decide
    By horsemen_ in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 01-07-06, 02:24 PM
  4. Do chemistry/electronics etc mini projects exist for 6 year old.
    By sito in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-28-05, 11:29 PM
  5. BAT files command.
    By Immortal in forum Programming Forum
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 02-06-05, 05:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •