Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 73

Thread: Just got an XBOX 360...

  1. #21
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,234
    You can use any HDMI cable, but if you're looking to run the sound through another source (ie optical or RCA), you'll need to get Microsoft's for the breakout box.

  2. #22
    SG Enthusiast Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,920
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim View Post
    You can use any HDMI cable, but if you're looking to run the sound through another source (ie optical or RCA), you'll need to get Microsoft's for the breakout box.
    Yep, thats exactly what I'm looking to do, run the sound through my surround sound. Thanks.

  3. #23
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Just checked and my tv accepts 1080i at max at composite. If it does 1080i, I won't be too worried but if it's 720 then I'll worry.

    If the xbox doesn't come with hdmi and tv can only take 720, is there a way I can get it to connect through hdmi? My tv does have a vga port as well.

  4. #24
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,234
    You'll be able to display at 1080i just fine over component (not composite).

    If your TV can do 1080p over VGA, then that adapter would be of use to you, but like I said, the difference between 1080i and p is fairly minimal unless you're using a screen quite larger than yours. I'd save the money and just use the component cables, and you'll be just fine.

  5. #25
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim View Post
    You'll be able to display at 1080i just fine over component (not composite).

    If your TV can do 1080p over VGA, then that adapter would be of use to you, but like I said, the difference between 1080i and p is fairly minimal unless you're using a screen quite larger than yours. I'd save the money and just use the component cables, and you'll be just fine.
    Thanks jim. I meant component not composite.

    Arf, can't wait.... come on. If it doesn't come today, I don't think they'll ship it on saturday and monday is new year's eve. GRRR.

    I have an itch...

  6. #26
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Annyways, thanks again jim and others for being so helpful. Forgive my newbie answers as I just want to be prepared to play this thing when it gets here.

    If my box does not have hdmi port, is there anything I can get so that I can connect it to the hdmi? Would this do? http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...60hdmiavcable/

    Thanks again.

  7. #27
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,234
    No problems.

    No, in order to use HDMI (including the cable you linked to), the machine needs an HDMI port.

    I have seen HDMI adapters, but since the regular video port on the back of the 360 is analog, it renders the all-digital "feature" of HDMI moot.

  8. #28
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Thanks again Jim.

    I'm seriously considering returning this xbox for one with hdmi. I don't really care that this bundle comes with halo3 and two worlds... I should've known better.

    Like you, I just assumed it came with it as does all the latest bundles. Then I realized there's the fine prints. There were actually 2 different version of the same bundle.

  9. #29
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,234
    Keep in mind that a console is a console, so it's not as if the HDMI-equipped one has some sort of other features that the older model does not possess. But if you're wanting to use an HDMI connection, yeah, I'd see if you can exchange it, even it it means paying a little more (ie full price).

    For the record, if it wasn't stressed elsewhere in this thread, Two Worlds is a waste of disc space. If you're a fan of awful games, the first hour may give you some enjoyment, but that's about it.

  10. #30
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Funnily enough it arrived yesterday. Hooked it up to see what it can out put and somehow it did 1080p over component. Weird.. looks as good as the PS3 over hdmi to me.

    I guess I'll be keeping it! Gotta keep playing games. Yeah, I'm trading in two worlds for anything. I already have mass effect and oblivion to kill my rpg lust.

  11. #31
    SG Enthusiast Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,920
    As soon as we both get some practice I'll see you on xbox live

  12. #32
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainbow View Post
    As soon as we both get some practice I'll see you on xbox live
    Practice? Hah.. I don't need no such thing!



    Yeah, it doesn't really help at all. I'll lose either way.

    Surprisingly, Oblivion is good but I just really wish I was playing this on the computer. I like mods. Mass effect is suited very nicely for console though. I'll try to finish this one before oblivion.

    The game I'm most addicted to is table tennis... haha.

  13. #33
    Advanced Member MetalHead324's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    538
    Quote Originally Posted by Immortal View Post
    Surprisingly, Oblivion is good but I just really wish I was playing this on the computer. I like mods.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=10-62179273-2


    Got any arcade games?

  14. #34
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  15. #35
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    ohh being a smart aleck eh. I have it on comp just that my comp can't run it in good details and I can't wait to play it anymore so I'm playing it on xbox.

    I didn't know playing 5 hrs straight is an achievement.... I should really take a break. I'm hooked onto mass effect now. I knew I'd love it considering I love kotor 1 and even 2.

    No arcade games yet. Deciding to finish my single player rpgs before I sign onto live. I haven't even unwrapped halo 3 yet... I'll play it after my rpgs are over with.

  16. #36
    SG Enthusiast Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,920
    I have been playing assassins creed endlessly, I love it!

  17. #37
    Advanced Member MetalHead324's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    538
    Quote Originally Posted by Immortal View Post
    ohh being a smart aleck eh. I have it on comp just that my comp can't run it in good details and I can't wait to play it anymore so I'm playing it on xbox.

    I didn't know playing 5 hrs straight is an achievement.... I should really take a break. I'm hooked onto mass effect now. I knew I'd love it considering I love kotor 1 and even 2.

    No arcade games yet. Deciding to finish my single player rpgs before I sign onto live. I haven't even unwrapped halo 3 yet... I'll play it after my rpgs are over with.
    If your still playing your rpg's on an offline account, once you get XBL, your gonna have to get all the achievements again.

  18. #38
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    If your still playing your rpg's on an offline account, once you get XBL, your gonna have to get all the achievements again.
    Really.... other than bragging rights.. what else do these things do?

  19. #39
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Immortal View Post
    Really.... other than bragging rights.. what else do these things do?
    They give you a bigger E-Penis.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

  20. #40
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    If your still playing your rpg's on an offline account, once you get XBL, your gonna have to get all the achievements again.
    Well that's only if he doesn't sign up to XBL using the same account. If he does he keeps all his achievements and his gamerscore.
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

Similar Threads

  1. Xbox 360 SKU's
    By PsykoPenguin in forum Console Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-07, 01:36 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-07, 01:14 AM
  3. Umm how does it work?
    By Rivas in forum Console Gaming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-11-07, 12:27 AM
  4. Emergence Day Celebration on Xbox Live
    By Rivas in forum Console Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-06, 02:21 PM
  5. XBOX 360 lawsuits
    By Meggie in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-06-05, 08:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •