Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Settings for 832\128

  1. #1

    Settings for 832\128

    What are my best settings that i need to change or tweak for my cable connection, 832kbps down, 128kbps up (as advertised)?

    ..and to also note i'm noticing a delay, latency or lag when surfing, maybe 8 secs before page load as is trying to connect.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.02.2007 23:27
    IP address: 206.248.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030101010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 104320 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 52160
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 4173kbps (522KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1669kbps (209KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    the tcp windows size is 26280, i don't know if i need to change to a more up value and default receive windows 106496.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    You have used Cablenut to tweaked and your operating system is XP SP2. Any value specified in DefaultReceiveWindow will override TCP Window to establish the TCP hand shake.

    First tell us which country you are in.

    Have you scan for possible spyware that may be causing the 8s time lag? Use SpyBot and Ad-Aware 2007. And clean your registry with CCleaner.

  3. #3
    I'm from Puerto Rico.

    When Ccleaner was analizing, AVG pop up with a virus message "osopt.exe", i quickly put it in vault and check with Highjack This and there was a lot of entried about YahooTool Bar, i don't know how it get there because don't use that.

    I will surf now and see the results.

    Update-

    well i'm getting in some pages a 3 to 4 delay and other 7-8 (reading the counter in FasterFox), entering here took 8.31 segs, is that normal?

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 64240
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  5. #5
    Wow, now is super fast and less delay, thank you very much, is a more pleasent net surf.

  6. #6
    I'm having problems again, very slow surfing and most of the time its stuck "loading" a web site.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by lizardo_manson View Post
    I'm having problems again, very slow surfing and most of the time its stuck "loading" a web site.
    Probably another malware. You should get a router to improve security, or else use Comodo firewall. Also be careful of websites that you surf to, especially porn sites.

    Scan your comp with SpyBot. Ad-Aware 2007 and a-Squared Free.

Similar Threads

  1. New Connection, New cablenut settings needed.
    By ITALIAN_GUY_20 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-06, 06:52 AM
  2. help with settings (a lot)
    By cylent in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-06, 03:30 AM
  3. A "Rough" Guide To PC Specs For BF2
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 07:08 PM
  4. worse settings :(
    By coaX in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-05, 06:26 PM
  5. lost 32-bit settings after running AVG...
    By purplex in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-05, 08:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •