Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need some tips and tricks with--

  1. #1
    n00b pWn3r! EvilAjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York City, USA
    Posts
    6,973

    Need some tips and tricks with--

    ATi Tool 0.26 and RivaTuner.

    My card is the 8800GTS 640MB. I've been noticing artifacts ONLY with counter strike. When I try to snap a screenshot of it, it appears normal. Also, it seems my shaders are f*cked or something. Some objects cast a greenish, depixelated blocky reflection when under certain shadows. This happens on all maps, only for CS:S.

    I've run 3Dmark06 and got a pretty good score. Passed both Shader 2.0 and 3.0 tests. Compared to 21 people with similar systems to me, I ranked 10th. Which is not bad at all.

    Anyway, my friend told me that if I bump the voltage to my card through these programs, that I should notice less artifacts or none at all.

    My card is running at a steady 58 degrees Celsius right now. I'm thinking about turning up the fan speeds to 100%.

    I just need some tips and tricks on how to use these programs and where I would start first. Thanks.

    BTW, my friend said ATI tool is supposed to give me a voltages tab. But he has an ATi card, so I'm thinking that is why he has it and I don't.

    BTW my system:
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 4300 @ 1.80GHz (2 CPUs) with Tuniq Tower Ultra Silent Cooler
    Memory: 2048MB/2GB DDR2 RAM
    Hard Drive: 236 GB Total
    Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB VDDR3 Stock
    Monitor: 22" Samsung 226CW Widescreen LCD
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card
    Speakers/Headphones: SENNHEISER HD555 3.5mm/ 6.3mm Connector Circumaural Stereo Headphone and Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
    Keyboard: Razer Tarantula
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder
    Mouse Surface: SteelSeries Pro Gaming 5L
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
    Motherboard: Asus P5LD2
    Power Supply Unit: Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply
    Computer Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower (All fans on high for the ultimate cool system)

    I put in most of my hardware so you can get an idea of how much voltage is being shared and whatnot.

    Thanks in advance.
    <sarcastic>um... yeah</sarcastic>

    Wanna get pwned?

    Quote Originally Posted by raromoney View Post
    Thanks EvilAjax!
    Yup, I'm baaaackkk!

    EvilAjax unbanned, reinforces stereotypes with gunplay braggadocio...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ertlanta, Gargea
    Posts
    7,002
    If you wanna up voltage do it by modifying your bios, though I haven't heard of any problems being fixed via increased voltage in the 8000 series. ATItool has been quirky with the 8000 series, best to use the latest beta version if at all.

    Use rivatuner to max out your fan to 100 percent and see if that changes anything. Also use it for any overclocking of the 8000 series.

    Artifacting is usually a result of your graphics ram and would most likely give funny artifacts in all games rather than just one if that was the problem.

    It ONLY happening in CS:S would lead me to think its a game or software problem. Try reinstalling cs:s and doing a proper uninstall/reinstall of nvidia drivers.

    If that doesn't work, instead of increasing voltage, underclock your card and see if it goes away first.
    Last edited by Shagster; 10-21-07 at 10:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Doesn't seem like a voltage problem..and I would advise it as that card should do the trick for that game and then some...

    I suggest trying different video drivers.

    Make sure you clean your old ones off first good.

    also, power supply powerful enough for the card and other components you have running?
    (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 26 Amps.)

  4. #4
    n00b pWn3r! EvilAjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York City, USA
    Posts
    6,973
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    Doesn't seem like a voltage problem..and I would advise it as that card should do the trick for that game and then some...

    I suggest trying different video drivers.

    Make sure you clean your old ones off first good.

    also, power supply powerful enough for the card and other components you have running?
    Does that minimum requirement mean that it's a shared 12V rail?

    Mine has 3 12V rails. But they all max out at 18A.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103941

    God damn it.. don't tell me I need a new PSU now

    I thought my ANTEC 550 was good
    <sarcastic>um... yeah</sarcastic>

    Wanna get pwned?

    Quote Originally Posted by raromoney View Post
    Thanks EvilAjax!
    Yup, I'm baaaackkk!

    EvilAjax unbanned, reinforces stereotypes with gunplay braggadocio...

  5. #5
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by EvilAjax View Post
    Does that minimum requirement mean that it's a shared 12V rail?

    Mine has 3 12V rails. But they all max out at 18A.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103941

    God damn it.. don't tell me I need a new PSU now

    I thought my ANTEC 550 was good
    get a meter and put on it, check it to see if its putting out what it should be.

  6. #6
    n00b pWn3r! EvilAjax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York City, USA
    Posts
    6,973
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    get a meter and put on it, check it to see if its putting out what it should be.
    I have a volt meter.. where exactly do I connect the alligator clips to? I don't know how to determine polarity with that.
    <sarcastic>um... yeah</sarcastic>

    Wanna get pwned?

    Quote Originally Posted by raromoney View Post
    Thanks EvilAjax!
    Yup, I'm baaaackkk!

    EvilAjax unbanned, reinforces stereotypes with gunplay braggadocio...

  7. #7
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    your psu should be fine for your setup unless it's fubared...48A on the 12v rail should be more than adequate and it does not appear that you have too much stuff hooked up.
    do you know what your voltages are measuring? install the Asus probe to get the voltages,
    also, are you overclocking anything?

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Tips & Tricks
    By Ken in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 117
    Last Post: 08-04-17, 02:13 AM
  2. XP Help and Tweak Sites
    By Norm in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-25-07, 12:23 PM
  3. BF2 Tips & Tricks
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-26-05, 03:43 PM
  4. Gear Heads - Any tips on changing a rear seal?
    By RoundEye in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-25-05, 02:04 AM
  5. Clean Up Your Act: Tips for Spring Cleaning
    By minir in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-11-05, 01:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •