Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help for 25Mbps(down)/512Kbps(up) connection !!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy Help for 25Mbps(down)/512Kbps(up) connection !!!

    Hello I'm new here (my first post)!!!
    I live in Athens, Hellas, Europe.
    I am giving you below information about my ADSL2+ connection and I would like a little help, because my connection is B@A@D...

    Info from my contract

    Connection: 25Mbps/512Kbps
    Provider: Forthnet (Athens, Greece)
    Router: Siemens CL-110, firmware 3.61r

    Info from my router

    1. Device Information
    This information reflects the current status of your ADSL router.

    System Up Time 00:13:38:53
    ADSL Speed (DS/US) 14977/509 Kbps
    LAN IP Address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Default Gateway xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Primary DNS server xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Secondary DNS server xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    Firmware Version 3.61r
    Boot Loader Version 1.0.37-6.8.5
    ADSL Driver Version A2pB022f.d20d
    Ethernet MAC Address xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
    USB MAC Address xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
    Memory Size 4MB Flash / 16MB SDRAM


    2. ADSL Line Status

    Current ADSL line status is displayed as the below.

    Line Mode: ADSL2+
    Line State: Show Time
    Line Power: State L0
    Line Up Time: 00:11:48:38
    Line Coding: Trellis On
    Line Up Count: 2

    Statistics (Downstream/Upstream)
    ---------------------------------
    Line Rate (14977 Kbps/509 Kbps)
    Attainable Line Rate (16808 Kbps/1237 Kbps)
    Noise Margin (5.5 dB/29.2 dB)
    Line Attenuation (32.0 dB/15.2 dB)
    Output Power (12.4 dBm/19.2 dBm)
    MSGC [number of bytes in overhead channel message] (115/13)
    B [number of bytes in Mux Data Frame] (248/7)
    M [number of Mux Data Frames in FEC Data Frame] (1/16)
    T [Mux Data Frames over sync bytes] (1/7)
    R [number of check bytes in FEC Data Frame] (6/16)
    S [ratio of FEC over PMD Data Frame length] (0.5299/7.8904)
    L [number of bits in PMD Data Frame] (3850/146)
    D [interleave depth] (64/8)
    Delay (8/15)
    Super Frames (2652585/2657312)
    Super Frame Errors (2019/1)
    RS Words (320962880/38768)
    RS Correctable Errors (738516/0)
    RS Uncorrectable Errors (49508/0)
    HEC Errors (1774/160)
    OCD Errors (16/0)
    LCD Errors (0/0)
    Total Cells (1501813228/241432437)
    Data Cells (36897195/143440815)
    Bit Errors (0/8776)
    Total ES (1256/21)
    Total SES (5/0)
    Total UAS (68/0)

    3. ADSL BER test
    The ADSL BER test is in progress.
    The connection speed is 14977 Kbps.
    The test will run for 20 seconds.

    ADSL BER Test - Result

    The ADSL BER test completed successfully.

    Tested Time: 20sec
    Total Transferred Bits: 271281792
    Total Error Bits 0
    Error Ratio 0.00e+00

    4. Diagnostic Tests

    Internet Connection: pppoe_8_35_1

    Test the connection to your local network
    Test your Ethernet Connection: PASS
    Test your USB Connection: DOWN

    Test the connection to your ADSL service provider
    Test ADSL Synchronization: PASS
    Test ATM OAM F5 segment ping: FAIL
    Test ATM OAM F5 end-to-end ping: PASS
    Test ATM OAM F4 segment ping: FAIL
    Test ATM OAM F4 end-to-end ping: FAIL

    Test the connection to your Internet service provider
    Test PPP server connection: PASS
    Test authentication with ISP: PASS
    Test the assigned IP address: PASS
    Ping default gateway: PASS
    Ping primary Domain Name Server: PASS

    4. Setup [as my provider sujested]

    Auto Scan Internet Connection (PVC): No
    VPI: 8
    VCI: 35
    Protocol: PPP over Ethernet (PPPoE)
    Encapsulation Type: LLC/SNAP
    Obtain an IP address: Automatically
    NAT: Enabled
    MTU: 1492

    Info from TCPOptimizer

    General Settings
    Network adapter: Realtek RTL 8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Connection speed: 20000Kbps
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Receive window: 65535
    TTL: 64
    MTU Discovery: Yes
    Black Hole Detect: No
    Selective ACKs: Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs: 2
    Window scaling: No
    Timestamps: No

    Advanced Settings
    MaxConnectionPerServer: 10
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server: 20
    LocalPriority: 5
    HostPriority: 6
    DnsPriority: 7
    NetbtPriority: 8
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit: 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting: 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue: 240
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl: 0
    NetFailureCacheTime: 0
    NegativeSOACCacheTime: 0
    Lan Browsing speedup: Optimized
    Lan Request Buffer Size: 32768

    Speed test from : http://speedtest.forthnet.gr/

    This server is located at Forthnet NOC in Thessaloniki - Greece;
    Currently available server network connections for diagnostic testing: 100 Mbps FastEthernet

    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.2.1e
    click START to begin
    18/10/2007 18:18:17
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 426.56Kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 6.73Mb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem

    More Details ...

    WEB100 Kernel Variables:
    Client: localhost/127.0.0.1
    AckPktsIn: 5908
    AckPktsOut: 0
    BytesRetrans: 5864
    CongAvoid: 0
    CongestionOverCount: 0
    CongestionSignals: 0
    CountRTT: 5711
    CurCwnd: 66364
    CurMSS: 1412
    CurRTO: 270
    CurRwinRcvd: 65535
    CurRwinSent: 5840
    CurSsthresh: 2147483647
    DSACKDups: 0
    DataBytesIn: 0
    DataBytesOut: 8730030
    DataPktsIn: 0
    DataPktsOut: 5955
    DupAcksIn: 198
    ECNEnabled: 0
    FastRetran: 0
    MaxCwnd: 66364
    MaxMSS: 1412
    MaxRTO: 280
    MaxRTT: 90
    MaxRwinRcvd: 65535
    MaxRwinSent: 5840
    MaxSsthresh: 0
    MinMSS: 1412
    MinRTO: 240
    MinRTT: 40
    MinRwinRcvd: 62711
    MinRwinSent: 5840
    NagleEnabled: 1
    OtherReductions: 0
    PktsIn: 5910
    PktsOut: 5955
    PktsRetrans: 4
    X_Rcvbuf: 87380
    SACKEnabled: 3
    SACKsRcvd: 0
    SendStall: 0
    SlowStart: 45
    SampleRTT: 80
    SmoothedRTT: 80
    X_Sndbuf: 169200
    SndLimTimeRwin: 9754863
    SndLimTimeCwnd: 276897
    SndLimTimeSender: 5155
    SndLimTransRwin: 2
    SndLimTransCwnd: 4
    SndLimTransSender: 3
    SndLimBytesRwin: 8586362
    SndLimBytesCwnd: 142202
    SndLimBytesSender: 5864
    SubsequentTimeouts: 0
    SumRTT: 436000
    Timeouts: 0
    TimestampsEnabled: 0
    WinScaleRcvd: 2147483647
    WinScaleSent: 2147483647
    DupAcksOut: 0
    StartTimeUsec: 668490
    Duration: 10039829
    c2sData: 2
    c2sAck: 2
    s2cData: 3
    s2cAck: 3

    Checking for mismatch condition
    (cwndtime > .3) [0.02>.3], (MaxSsthresh > 0) [0>0],
    (PktsRetrans/sec > 2) [0.40>2], (estimate > 2) [141.10>2]
    Checking for mismatch on uplink
    (speed > 50 [6.95>50], (xmitspeed < 5) [0.42<5]
    (rwintime > .9) [0.97>.9], (loss < .01) [1.0E<.01]
    Checking for excessive errors condition
    (loss/sec > .15) [1.0E>.15], (cwndtime > .6) [0.02>.6],
    (loss < .01) [1.0E<.01], (MaxSsthresh > 0) [0>0]
    Checking for 10 Mbps link
    (speed < 9.5) [6.95<9.5], (speed > 3.0) [6.95>3.0]
    (xmitspeed < 9.5) [0.42<9.5] (loss < .01) [1.0E<.01], (link > 0) [10>0]
    Checking for Wireless link
    (sendtime = 0) [5.13=0], (speed < 5) [6.95<5]
    (Estimate > 50 [141.10>50], (Rwintime > 90) [0.97>.90]
    (RwinTrans/CwndTrans = 1) [2/4=1], (link > 0) [10>0]
    Checking for DSL/Cable Modem link
    (speed < 2) [6.95<2], (SndLimTransSender = 0) [3=0]
    (SendTime = 0) [5.136040307205949E-4=0], (link > 0) [10>0]
    Checking for half-duplex condition
    (rwintime > .95) [0.97>.95], (RwinTrans/sec > 30) [0.20>30],
    (SenderTrans/sec > 30) [0.30>30], OR (link <= 10) [10<=10]
    Checking for congestion
    (cwndtime > .02) [0.02>.02], (mismatch = 0) [0=0]
    (MaxSsthresh > 0) [0>0]

    bw = 141.10 based on packet size = 11Kbits, RTT = 76.34msec, and loss = 1.0E-6
    The theoretical network limit is 141.10 Mbps
    The transmit buffer (165.0 KByte) limits the application to 16.90 Mbps
    Your receive buffer (63.0 KByte) limits the application to 6.54 Mbps
    The network based flow control limits the application to 6.63 Mbps

    Client Data reports link is 'T1', Client Acks report link is 'T1'
    Server Data reports link is 'Ethernet', Server Acks report link is 'Ethernet'

    Statistics

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    18/10/2007 18:18:17

    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 426.56Kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 6.73Mb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_09

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Half Duplex mode
    No network congestion discovered.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 76.34 msec;
    the Packet size = 1412 Bytes;
    and there were 4 packets retransmitted, 198 duplicate acks received, and 0 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    This connection is receiver limited 97.18% of the time.
    This connection is network limited 2.75% of the time.

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF
    Information: Network Middlebox is modifying MSS variable
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
    but Client says [yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy]

    Why I have only 7Kbps????

    I hope these info will help you to help me !!!!
    Waiting for reply ....
    If I missed something just tell me

    PS1: should I make a direct download from a site to see my true U/D (eg. nVidia)???

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 511104
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Smile That was a quick reply !!!

    Ok now I am at:

    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.2.1e
    click START to begin
    18/10/2007 19:04:06
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 435.69Kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 12.16Mb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem

    But what are those ????
    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 116.74 msec; the Packet size = 1452 Bytes; and
    There were 58 packets retransmitted, 2236 duplicate acks received, and 118 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    This connection is network limited 99.49% of the time.
    Contact your local network administrator to report a network problem
    Contact your local network admin and report excessive packet reordering

    Is there a problem???

    I also provide you with tracert from cmd.exe:

    tracert www.google.com

    Tracing route to www.l.google.com [209.85.135.104]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 34 ms 34 ms 33 ms bbras-llu-kln-02L0.forthnet.gr [194.219.231.33]
    3 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms core-kln-01-Gi6-0-0.forthnet.gr [62.1.37.129]
    4 34 ms 35 ms 34 ms core-ath-08-Gi2-0-0.forthnet.gr [212.251.94.61]
    5 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms core-ath-03.forthnet.gr [194.219.227.103]
    6 83 ms 105 ms 100 ms 62.208.109.129
    7 84 ms 98 ms 92 ms 72.14.198.109
    8 105 ms 88 ms 91 ms 209.85.249.178
    9 106 ms 92 ms 95 ms 72.14.233.106
    10 100 ms 114 ms 102 ms 72.14.239.46
    11 116 ms 111 ms 108 ms 209.85.253.22
    12 105 ms 105 ms 111 ms mu-in-f104.google.com [209.85.135.104]

    Trace complete.


    tracert www.forthnet.gr

    Tracing route to www.forthnet.gr [193.92.150.50]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 36 ms 33 ms 38 ms bbras-llu-kln-02L0.forthnet.gr [194.219.231.33]
    3 32 ms 34 ms 34 ms core-kln-01-Gi6-0-0.forthnet.gr [62.1.37.129]
    4 35 ms 35 ms 34 ms core-ath-08-Gi2-0-0.forthnet.gr [212.251.94.61]
    5 34 ms 33 ms 34 ms core-ath-01.forthnet.gr [194.219.227.98]
    6 35 ms 35 ms 34 ms serv-ath-06.forthnet.gr [194.219.227.206]
    7 33 ms 33 ms 34 ms www.forthnet.gr [193.92.150.50]

    Trace complete.


    tracert forums.speedguide.net

    Tracing route to forums.speedguide.net [66.230.207.59]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 34 ms 37 ms 37 ms bbras-llu-kln-02L0.forthnet.gr [194.219.231.33]
    3 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms core-kln-01-Gi6-0-0.forthnet.gr [62.1.37.129]
    4 33 ms 32 ms 34 ms core-ath-08-Gi2-0-0.forthnet.gr [212.251.94.61]
    5 36 ms 34 ms 34 ms core-ath-03.forthnet.gr [194.219.227.103]
    6 49 ms 50 ms 54 ms pal9-forthnet-1-gr.pal.seabone.net [213.144.181.49]
    7 164 ms 167 ms 168 ms new4-new2-racc1.new.seabone.net [195.22.216.239]
    8 169 ms 174 ms 176 ms te-2-4.car4.Newark1.Level3.net [4.71.148.9]
    9 233 ms 220 ms 223 ms ae-31-51.ebr1.Newark1.Level3.net [4.68.99.30]
    10 211 ms 219 ms 222 ms ae-1-100.ebr2.Newark1.Level3.net [4.69.132.22]
    11 219 ms 213 ms 220 ms ae-4.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.101]
    12 239 ms 233 ms 234 ms ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.158]
    13 228 ms 230 ms 236 ms ae-91-91.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.141]
    14 229 ms 223 ms 236 ms ae-2.ebr3.Atlanta2.Level3.net [4.69.132.85]
    15 235 ms 229 ms 233 ms ae-78.ebr2.Atlanta2.Level3.net [4.69.134.53]
    16 230 ms 208 ms 209 ms ae-5-5.car1.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.69.133.49]
    17 209 ms 209 ms 208 ms ae-14-14.car4.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.69.133.58]
    18 254 ms 242 ms 249 ms HOSTWAY-COR.car4.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.71.2.14]
    19 246 ms 243 ms 247 ms e49te.dr5.as30217.net [84.40.24.82]
    20 257 ms 259 ms 253 ms g1-0.sr1.as30217.net [84.40.24.46]
    21 248 ms 245 ms 248 ms forums.speedguide.net [66.230.207.59]

    Trace complete.

    Should I apply for technical support at forthnet???

    Does these help!?

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by ge_or_ge View Post

    But what are those ????
    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 116.74 msec; the Packet size = 1452 Bytes; and
    There were 58 packets retransmitted, 2236 duplicate acks received, and 118 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    This connection is network limited 99.49% of the time.
    Contact your local network administrator to report a network problem
    Contact your local network admin and report excessive packet reordering

    Is there a problem???
    Packet reordering means packets are arriving out of order and your comp has to rearrange them into the correct order.

    This usually is due to packets from the other side using several different signal routes to get to your comp.

    Try testing speed at this link using a few nearby test servers and post your results:

    http://www.speedtest.net/

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    speed tests from http://www.speedtest.net

    1st test (Athens, Hellas)

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/193919972.png


    2nd test (Haskovo, Bulgaria)

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/193921766.png

    3rd test (Rome, Italy)

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/193922243.png

    4th test (Stillwater, USA)

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/193922715.png

    5th test (Moscow, Russia)

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/193923171.png

    Doctor am I ok !!!!
    I feel like dying .....

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    All the tests show rather low upload speed, and your ISP is giving relatively low upload bandwidth compared with the download bandwidth to begin with.

    Scan your comp for possible spyware/malware that may be leeching part of this upload bandwidth. Google for the following programs:

    SpyBot
    Ad-Aware 2007
    CCleaner - registry cleaner

    Set your System Restore to Off before scanning:

    Control Panel -> System -> Tab to System Restore and adjust accordingly

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5
    To understand, I have 2 pcs' connected to a switch and the switch is connected to my router. So both of them have internet access...

    So I made scans with SpyBot, XostSpy, Zonealarm and all where clean!
    But with DU meter I saw 0.2 kB/s upload and 0.2 kB/s Download, continuus traffic (something like "noise").
    The process that is doing that is services.exe with 3.03% CPU usage (I saw it with Process Explorer). My other PC doesn't have this trafic....!!!
    WHY!!!???

    And don't forget about my Internet speed!!! IT SUCKS !!!!!

    I AM GOING TO HIT MY HEAD TO THE WALL !!!!!!!!!!!

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by ge_or_ge View Post
    To understand, I have 2 pcs' connected to a switch and the switch is connected to my router. So both of them have internet access...

    So I made scans with SpyBot, XostSpy, Zonealarm and all where clean!
    But with DU meter I saw 0.2 kB/s upload and 0.2 kB/s Download, continuus traffic (something like "noise").
    The process that is doing that is services.exe with 3.03% CPU usage (I saw it with Process Explorer). My other PC doesn't have this trafic....!!!
    WHY!!!???

    And don't forget about my Internet speed!!! IT SUCKS !!!!!

    I AM GOING TO HIT MY HEAD TO THE WALL !!!!!!!!!!!
    Why do you use a switch? Why not connect your 2 comps directly to separate ports of the router? Using a switch may result in duplex mismatch.

    Try this NDT and post the report under the 'Statistics' button:

    http://nitro.ucsc.edu/

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5
    I use a switch because my router siemens CL-110 has one ethernet and one usb port...

    I made it, here are the detailed statistics...

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 305.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 6.18Mb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_09

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    No network congestion discovered.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 307.37 msec; the Packet size = 1452 Bytes; and There were 19 packets retransmitted, 389 duplicate acks received, and 233 SACK blocks received

    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 2.43%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 0.63%
    This connection is network limited 98.95% of the time.

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:

    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall.
    [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall.
    [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Information: Network Middlebox is modifying MSS variable
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information:
    Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] but Client says [yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy]

    ......!!!


    I also made two direct downloads:
    the file was:

    http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...35-SP2-ENU.exe

    1. with Flashget download manager and I got 800KB/s average

    2. without a download manager and I got 1.2 MB/s for the first few seconds and then it fall to 120KB/s


    Also:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.19.2007 20:24
    IP address: 77.49.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac010303030101080a000000000000000001010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 511104 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 20444kbps (2556KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8178kbps (1022KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 45
    Timestamps: ON
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by ge_or_ge; 10-19-07 at 08:27 PM. Reason: added info

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Run ipconfig /all under DOS command (similar to tracert) and check the IP address for your 2 comps. If they both have the same IP address, your connection through the switch is the problem.

    Suggest you get a pure router to connect your 2 comps and set your Siemens into bridge mode to make it into a pure modem.

Similar Threads

  1. WRT54G Ver 7 Connection Drops and Random Speed
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-08, 03:31 AM
  2. Here's how I did it!! VPN to an Office network
    By Mike Howles in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-07, 07:27 AM
  3. Connection problem with Wireless
    By lovesm3s in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-29-06, 06:39 AM
  4. Different Windows XP Broadband connection types?
    By andrewh13 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-06, 01:48 AM
  5. Microsoft Internet Connection "Gateway" Icon
    By Anakinnz in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-06, 07:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •