Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Optimizing my internet connection

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    Optimizing my internet connection

    Hello

    I'm from the philippines. I'm currently using a P4 2.4Ghz PC and a windows XP OS. I am using a wireless broadband with a 384 kbps. I did some speed test and I just want to know if I can still increase my download and upload speed.

    Here's the speed test result I got



    SG Speed Test Results

    kbps 200040006000800010000
    download
    upload 177 kbps ↓
    186 kbps ↑



    177 kbps down (~0.18 Mbps, 22 KB/s) ↓
    186 kbps up (~0.19 Mbps, 23 KB/s) ↑
    Details:

    250 KB downloaded in 11.546 seconds
    100 KB uploaded in 4.406 seconds
    3 times faster than 56k dialup
    Tested on: 2007.10.17 09:09 EDT
    Tested from: speedguide.net 2
    Test ID: IWO8A4SQTMRT
    User Test History: User Stats
    Browser/OS: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; MEGAUPLOAD 2.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
    IP Address: 121.1.51.190
    Latency: 240ms

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hello Mr Trogers

    Here is the result of the TCP analyzer

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.17.2007 09:25
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 256960 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 10278kbps (1285KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4111kbps (514KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 45
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Thanks

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 32120
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 8
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 8
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  4. #4

    Tweeking your DNS

    A lot of times a slow connection is realy the DNS servers, your are using - are overloaded. Most isp's run a standard BIND server that is very veunerable to floods that can be common with older Linksys routers.

    DNSServerList.org has daily updated servers that are open to the public.

    Try changing your DNS servers on your router to these.

    Also note that if you have a Linksys (Or other router with three DNS slots) populate all three.

    Helpfull sites.
    DNSServerList.org
    Open-DNS.org
    Geo Ip Locator

    Enjoy
    QW

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    This are the TCP analyzer report after adjusting the TCP optimizer:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.18.2007 09:49
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 32120 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 32120
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 1285kbps (161KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 514kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 45
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    What do you think? did this increase my internet speed?

  6. #6
    How do you read all those things?

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    T

    What do you think? did this increase my internet speed?
    Test speed at this link using the test server in Quezon City:

    http://www.speedtest.net/

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by NeedForHelp View Post
    How do you read all those things?
    Read thru the documentation of TCP Optimizer to understand the report in the TCP Analyzer:

    http://www.speedguide.net/tcpoptimizer.php

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hello

    I've been busy all these days that's why I can't perform the speedtest.
    Sir here's the result of the speed test. How can I make my upload speed just like my download speed?

    download 234 kbps ↓
    upload 185 kbps ↑

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    Hello

    I've been busy all these days that's why I can't perform the speedtest.
    Sir here's the result of the speed test. How can I make my upload speed just like my download speed?

    download 234 kbps ↓
    upload 185 kbps ↑

    Thanks
    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hello

    Here's the result of the tracert...

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 9 ms 15 ms 13 ms 192.168.224.1
    2 161 ms 209 ms 185 ms 121.1.51.189
    3 210 ms 189 ms 258 ms 121.1.5.81
    4 152 ms 197 ms 198 ms 203.111.239.138
    5 186 ms * 224 ms 121.54.3.114
    6 137 ms 149 ms 155 ms 203.111.225.5
    7 186 ms 184 ms 284 ms 210.14.27.33
    8 221 ms 259 ms 234 ms 58.71.0.79
    9 382 ms 418 ms 582 ms if-7-2.mcore4.laa-losangeles.teleglobe.net [216.
    6.85.29]
    10 455 ms 523 ms 567 ms if-5-0.mcore4.pdi-paloalto.teleglobe.net [216.6.
    86.9]
    11 456 ms 514 ms 435 ms if-7-0.core3.pdi-paloalto.teleglobe.net [216.6.8
    6.2]
    12 466 ms 469 ms 479 ms ix-6-2.core3.pdi-paloalto.teleglobe.net [207.45.
    213.130]
    13 582 ms 472 ms 480 ms g-1-0-0-p140.msr1.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.53]

    14 538 ms 512 ms 532 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    15 489 ms 447 ms 412 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    Hello

    Here's the result of the tracert...

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 9 ms 15 ms 13 ms 192.168.224.1
    2 161 ms 209 ms 185 ms 121.1.xxx.xxx
    3 210 ms 189 ms 258 ms 121.1.5.81
    4 152 ms 197 ms 198 ms 203.111.239.138
    You have quite a big problem with signal quality.

    Usual ping times at your router in hop 1 would all be <1ms and those at the modem in hop 2 would all be less than 50ms.

    The cause of the problem could be:

    - Router/modem being placed near to some strong source of electrical interference
    - bad firmware
    - spyware/malware infesting your comp.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hello

    I've check the router and it is far from any electrical interference. Does an electrical power plant substation affects the signal?

    What do you mean by bad firmware?

    Everytime I run spybot my pc hangs in the middle of the scan. What should I do?

    Thanks

  14. #14
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    Hello

    I've check the router and it is far from any electrical interference. Does an electrical power plant substation affects the signal?

    What do you mean by bad firmware?

    Everytime I run spybot my pc hangs in the middle of the scan. What should I do?

    Thanks
    Flush your comp and clean your registry with CCleaner first.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by trogers View Post
    Flush your comp and clean your registry with CCleaner first.
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/207995818.png

    Download: 256 kb/s
    upload: 298 kb/s

    My pc was under repair this past few weeks and here's my speed result. I'm still using a wireless broadband. Can I still have more than 384 kb/s speed?

    Thanks

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Mr Trogers

    Here is my present TCP analyzer results

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 12.02.2007 05:55
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 108
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  17. #17
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    Mr Trogers

    Here is my present TCP analyzer results

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 12.02.2007 05:55
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 108
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Use the settings I gave with TCP Window at 32120.

    After reboot, do a speed test at www.pldtdsl.com
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Using pldtdsl test
    http://210.5.68.202/speed/results.ph...000&recorded=1

    Using bayantel
    <a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/208016600.png"></a>

    Download speed: 207
    upload: 216

    Why did the speed got slower? did i miss something?

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25
    Here is the TCP analyzer result after rebooting

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 12.02.2007 07:29
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 44
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  20. #20
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by quinemar View Post
    Here is the TCP analyzer result after rebooting

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 12.02.2007 07:29
    IP address: 121.1.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 44
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 32120
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 8
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 8
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

Similar Threads

  1. internet connection dropping - charter
    By aerogurl in forum Broadband Internet Providers
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-17-07, 08:50 PM
  2. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  3. Microsoft Internet Connection "Gateway" Icon
    By Anakinnz in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-06, 06:18 AM
  4. Internet Connection Sharing
    By footwo in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-05, 06:42 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-05, 08:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •