Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Replacing the modem provided by my ISP

  1. #1

    Replacing the modem provided by my ISP

    The modem (ZyXel P-660R-D1) provided by my ISP, has only one RJ-45 jack, I want to replace it with a Prolink Hurricane 9000P (this one has 4 RJ-45 jacks) so that I can share my internet connection with my other computers.
    But when I connect the phone line in the Prolink modem then the modem to one of my computers it doesn't work. Maybe the are somethings I should set up first in my Prolink Modem but I don't know what. I tried the web configurator of the Prolink Modem and I'm kind of familiar with the menus, I just don't know what to put in the blanks. Then, I tried to open the web configurator of the Zyxel provided by my ISP but I can't open it, I tried lots of things but I fail. My plan was to copy the settings in that modem and try it in my Prolink.

    I don't even know what to ask. Just put any comments and suggestions
    Thanks for reading

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,876
    You might have a DSL account which authenticates using PPPoE..in which case you'll have a username and a password to fill in.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,264
    DDUUUUUDDDDEEE!
    </thread jack>

  4. #4
    Helo mentor
    By the way... I called my ISP last night they keep on changing the topic when I asked them if they use PPPoE, I also asked them about how to open the web configurator so that I can find out my user name and password, they say they don't have my user name and password. And at the end they told me to just use both their zyxel and my prolink.

    I connected their zyxel in my prolink using a straight-through cable and also my laptops and it works at the expense of my wall sockets (for the power supply of the two modems)

Similar Threads

  1. Help me tweak my 1024kbs line and MTU, RWIN plz (RWIN=1412)
    By boy84hn2002 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-10, 01:31 PM
  2. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-06, 04:21 PM
  4. Slow speed with new modem
    By gbiddle in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-06, 05:48 PM
  5. ISP Cable Modem
    By libbyloo in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-05, 01:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •