Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: 3com switch?

  1. #1

    Question 3com switch?

    I have a 3com Baseline 24 port 2024 switch that I have ignored for the past 3 years, today my network disappeared, on looking at the switch all of the Duplex leds show red, should this be the case? I've powered off and unplugged all connections, but as I reconnect the led's return as before. network appears to running Ok again, but i'm worried this might be the beggining of the end and want to be prepared if it is. Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Hubs/switches locking up..all red lights.....if it happens once..could be a fluke, power issue, surge, something like that. If it starts happening a couple of times...something is failing on the unit.

    Those older 3COM units had chassis fans on the side..I've seen more than a couple fail..causing the units to overheat. If it's not that..the unit itself is probably on its way out.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Adding a switch (or switches)
    By daminator in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-07, 06:49 AM
  2. Mixing a wireless router and an ethernet switch. How?
    By jb22 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-07, 05:57 PM
  3. need some heelp with switch and router
    By albertldee in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-07, 06:51 AM
  4. Upgrade to Linksys Switch
    By kenny9999 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-06, 05:53 PM
  5. A switch and a couple of WinXP PC's...
    By 1Gunn in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-05, 05:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •