Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: WinXP 64 bit hangs on shutdown. Hardware or software problem?

  1. #1
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219

    Question WinXP 64 bit hangs on shutdown. Hardware or software problem?

    Fresh install with SP2 slipstreamed. I had the same problem before I did the SP2 slipstream. At this point I’m using the drivers Windows installed for the hardware. I haven’t installed the manufacture’s drivers yet. I had the same problem before when I used the hardware supplied drivers.

    The PC will reboot in a heartbeat, nice and fast. The problem comes in at shutdown, it will hang on the “windows is shutting down screen”. Then I have to push the button to shut it down. It’ll boot into Windows just fine when I turn it back on, the “windows has been shut down improperly” screen doesn’t come up.

    Any clues on how to determine if it’s a hardware or software problem or how to fix it?
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  2. #2
    Broke
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA
    Posts
    13,506
    Under power options>advanced, do you have it set to shut down ?

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    as Norm would say, check the event viewer

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    yeah event viewer than take a look at to what is loading through msconfig just in case you over looked something there that may be the cause that got loaded.

    All devices are checked to have drivers installed?

  5. #5
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Under power options>advanced, do you have it set to shut down ?
    Yes
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  6. #6
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    as Norm would say, check the event viewer
    Nothing much in even viewer showing why it may be hanging up.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  7. #7
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    ...All devices are checked to have drivers installed?....
    I've done two fresh installs to see if it might be a driver problem.

    The first install was with all the hardware supplied drivers, it hung on shutdown.

    The second install was with Microsoft supplied drivers and it still hung up on shut down.

    Either way, all drivers were installed.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  8. #8
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Another thing that comes to mind that may or may not have and effect, I downloaded SP2 and slipstreamed it, then burned it to a bootable DVD.

    I'll tell you what, it sure installs a whole lot faster on a DVD format rather then CD format. I didn't think it would make much of a difference, but it certainly does in the speed aspect.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Try a install of XP SP1 then load SP2 and go on from there.. see if it does the same thing. If not then it was your slip streaming you created.

  10. #10
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    Try a install of XP SP1 then load SP2 and go on from there.. see if it does the same thing. If not then it was your slip streaming you created.
    I can't explain it properly since I tried so many different things while troubleshooting.


    You can't so a 64 bit slipstream unless you are on a 64 bit pc. So I loaded the basic OS and used nLite to do the slipstream with a few of it's options and tweaks enabled. Formated and reinstalled the OS. It wouldn't shut down. I also checked to make sure the "clear page file before shutdown" wasn't enabled. That tweak will make a PC take forever to shut down sometimes.

    I loaded all the drivers in and updated the PC (without IE7), then I slipstreamed in SP2 with no options or tweaks enabled. Ran a repair on the OS and now it shuts down properly.

    Now it's time to do a fresh install with the new slipstream and see if the problem pops up again.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    What motherboard? Maybe fine tuning the bios power management options could help.

  12. #12
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Ok, so I did a fresh install with the new slipstream and it still wouldn't shut down. EDIT: It shuts down now fine.

    After searching through VIA's website, I found this link,

    http://driveragent.com/?ref=248

    It scans your pc and detectes if all the proper VIA drivers are installed. Seems that even after installing the VIA HyperionPro 5.13 drivers a driver called "Falcon 2.10A" wasn't installing properly and it has something to do with the IDE and SATA channels. After I installed it, it reconfigured all my IDE channels in Device Manager and the PC shut down real fast after that.

    It also found that I needed a driver called "AMD Processor Driver " available from Dell. Dell number R135384.EXE. Available here.

    For some reason I've always found VIA chipset mobos a real bitch to get the drivers right. Maybe I'm just not geek enough for a VIA mobo. I wouldn't even have put it together if the mobo, processor and a nice case hadn't been given to me and I already had a copy of WinXP 64bit on hand.

    So far my config is,
    Cheapo Jetway K8M8MS mobo
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Athlon 64 3700+
    1Gig of Corsair XMS ram
    36 gig Raptor primary drive
    Two DVD burners, each on thier own IDE channel
    Promise ATA133 controller card with a Maxtor ATA 133 IDE drive
    On board nic and sound (I've got a new Linksys nic, but they don't have 64bit drivers for it yet, and for the life of me I can't find my Audigy Gamer sound card )

    All in all it's not too bad of a PC considering it was built form parts I had lying around the house.

    If you have a mobo with any kind of VIA chipset I would recommend running that driver agent scan link I posted, it seemed to help me a lot.

    Last edited by RoundEye; 10-10-07 at 01:00 PM.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  13. #13
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Unplug the ethernet cable just before you shut down and see if it still hangs.

  14. #14
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    Unplug the ethernet cable just before you shut down and see if it still hangs.
    It's shutting down fine now. But out of curiosity, what happens over ethernet that would cause a hang on shutdown?
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  15. #15
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    Unplug the ethernet cable just before you shut down and see if it still hangs.
    Sorry man, I edited my post to show that it shuts down now, I forgot to mention that, also I'm using the onboard nic if that makes any difference.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

Similar Threads

  1. My Thinkpad T60 problem - random shutdown?
    By sogood in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-29-08, 08:25 PM
  2. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  3. Hardware problem (I think)
    By Forgie in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-24-07, 05:30 AM
  4. A bit of a problem here.
    By DarkEpyon in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-05, 11:51 AM
  5. Shutdown sound problem
    By AceFireball in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-05, 10:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •