Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem With Downloading!

  1. #1
    silkunicorn
    Guest

    Problem With Downloading!

    Hi, I have been having the following problems for more than a day now.
    I have been using a News Reader to subscribe to certain newsgroups and
    download messages from there in the past and am using a dLink DI-524
    Router for wireless connection. But suddenly yesterday afternoon, I
    receive the following error message when I tried to download messages
    from the news server (which is news.west.cox.net: "502 Maximum number
    of connections reached. (Tornado v1.0.7.392)" as well as the following
    error message: "Exceed connection limit for news.west.cox.net.". The
    strange thing is: If I connect my PC directly to the modem (bypass
    the router), I was able to download messages from my newsgroups
    without any error messages. But as soon as I connect my PC via the
    router (which is dLink DI-524) again, the error message came on and
    stop me from downloading any messages. So obviously it is the ROUTER
    that is causing the problem. Could anyone please shed some light on
    this for me? Does the DI-524 router has a download quota that limit
    me to download messages? This situation occurred when I tried to
    download a 7 GB item from my subscribed newsgroup. It seemed that THE
    router is saying that I had reached my download quota and will not
    allow me to download any further. Is that true? Any suggestions/
    comments are much appreciated. Thank you very much.


  2. #2

    The problem is with Cox

    I have the same problems with 502 error codes. I use a linksys gateway router. The problem is the same using a belkin router. I had this problem 6 months ago and it took a supervisor at level 2 tech support to get it fixed. The people you talk to on the phone sitting at the computer screens are not able to fix the problem. That would be because the problem is not between their screen and yours. The problem is in the software that runs the newsgroup servers and that is why they were able to fix the problem with a supervisor that can "think outside the box". It is my guess that they did a newsgroup software update last week that has messed things up. But getting the level 2 tech to get a supervisor to look at the problem is almost impossible. Cox sent a service rep to my house and he concluded that the problem was with Cox. I have spent many hours on the phone doing all the steps that the tech rep was reading off the computer screen before him. They always end up telling you that the problem is with your router. THEN WHY DID MY ROUTER WORK WITHOUT A PROBLEM FOR THE LAST SIX MONTHS? AND WHY ARE OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AT THE SAME TIME? The answer is because Cox has a problem that they are unwilling to spend the time to fix. I pay all of my Cox bill every month and I expect to receive all that I am paying for.

    By the way I get a four connections if I unhook my router and use just a modem. Linksys has checked out my router and they said it is working just fine and that the problem is on Cox's end. But then I already knew that.

    alanoftulsa

  3. #3
    bwd777@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: Problem With Downloading!

    On Oct 5, 6:10 pm, silkunicorn <silkunic...@gmail.com> wrote:
    > Hi, I have been having the following problems for more than a day now.
    > I have been using a News Reader to subscribe to certain newsgroups and
    > download messages from there in the past and am using a dLink DI-524
    > Router for wireless connection. But suddenly yesterday afternoon, I
    > receive the followingerrormessage when I tried to download messages
    > from the news server (which isnews.west.cox.net: "502Maximum number
    > of connections reached. (Tornado v1.0.7.392)" as well as the followingerrormessage: "Exceed connection limit fornews.west.cox.net.". The
    > strange thing is: If I connect my PC directly to the modem (bypass
    > the router), I was able to download messages from my newsgroups
    > without anyerrormessages. But as soon as I connect my PC via the
    > router (which is dLink DI-524) again, theerrormessage came on and
    > stop me from downloading any messages. So obviously it is the ROUTER
    > that is causing the problem. Could anyone please shed some light on
    > this for me? Does the DI-524 router has a download quota that limit
    > me to download messages? This situation occurred when I tried to
    > download a 7 GB item from my subscribed newsgroup. It seemed that THE
    > router is saying that I had reached my download quota and will not
    > allow me to download any further. Is that true? Any suggestions/
    > comments are much appreciated. Thank you very much.


    I am having the same problem, chated with tech support and they said
    it was my router - needed to be reset. I reset my router and that
    didn't help. Any Ideas?


  4. #4
    I talked to a Supervisor at Cox-Tulsa on Tuesday. He knew of my problem of only having one connection back in Jan. I tried to convince him that the problem was with the company that is running the news servers. He told me that he knew someone that could probally get a hold of them and have them check out their server software. I never heard back from him but 3 hours later I started to get 4 lines in on the news server and no 502's. This had been after a week of Cox tech's checking things out and telling me that it was my gateway. I figured that what ever they did fixed everybodys problem with 502's. Thats about all I can tell you. Let us know if it gets working and what city you are in. I know I was not the only person in Oklahoma to have the same problem. alanoftulsa

  5. #5
    Well things worked just fine till about 10pm Friday night. Then things went b ack to 1 connection to the newsgroup. If this Provider company can't keep the news servers running right then COX ought contract with a company that can. So here we go again, having to bash my head against the wall trying to convince COX to contact their news contractors and have them fix the problem.

    If you run a gateway and only have one good line and three 502's on your newsreader then keep calling COX till the get the problem fixed. There is nothing wrong with your system at home and DON'T let them tell you there is.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    I am having the same issue with cox in San Diego. Yesterday was working fine, as within the past. Now today I am getting the 502 with all 4 connections unless I plug directly into the modem. Than I get all 4 bot connecting.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    If you are having issues with the west cox server try their east one. Worked for me. I did call with my issue to the cox west. Hopefully they sync up their brans and figure out the issue on the west coast one.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Actaully this happens from east as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Atheros (problem)
    By kdeo in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-18-08, 01:56 AM
  2. DSL/Router Disconnecting Problem?
    By Pimpinc333 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-24-07, 01:39 AM
  3. Timing out/page cannot be found problem
    By pmoney in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-22-05, 03:43 PM
  4. Problem with DHCP on my laptop
    By anshu214 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-05, 07:25 AM
  5. Netgear WGT624v2 MTU Problem With PPPoE
    By patinsj in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-05, 12:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •