Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cox Cable 7mbps/WinXP---Pls Review

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Cox Cable 7mbps/WinXP---Pls Review

    Hello guys,

    I was wondering if you can take a look if my TCP setting is optimized to what I have subscribed for with Cox cable. Every now and then I would download a file at around 650mb and it is quite a slow download at around 124 kbps even for a torrent client. I went to the speakeasy.com speed test website and my values for download right now is 216 kbps and an upload of 559 kbps (quite shocking that its a little more than advertised. I am more concerned with my download values coz it's too LOW that what I paid for

    Cox Cable/ 7mbps download; 512 kbps upload (as advertised)
    Windows XP Home

    Here's the TCP analyzer report:
    -----------------------------
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.03.2007 22:49
    IP address: 70.162.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030201010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 261360 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 10454kbps (1307KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4182kbps (523KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 54
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    -------------------------------
    Thank you in advance!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    To Add, I live in Arizona (Tempe city)

    oops I forgot to mention that...

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Search Google and scan comp with:

    SpyBot
    Ad-Aware 2007
    a-Squared Free

    and clean your registry with CCleaner.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5
    I've got 3 of these softwares installed and run on a regular basis (adaware/spybot and a-squared)---I run ccleaner too on a daily basis before using my computer....May I request a suggestion to change a different tweaks?

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128480
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, test speed at this link using a few nearby test servers and post your results:

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Here's the speed test result

    Is this the maximum capacity that I can tweak?

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    4629 kbps down (~4.63 Mbps, 565 KB/s)↓
    439 kbps up (~0.44 Mbps, 54 KB/s)↑
    3072 KB downloaded in 5.437 seconds
    1024 KB uploaded in 19.125 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.10.05 11:19 EDT
    Tested from: insaniquariumguide.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=11D0A48EVEEY
    Latency: 67ms
    Provider: ph.ph.cox.net
    Location: Tempe, AZ, US

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try testing speed at this link using a few nearby test servers. Sometimes, problem along the signal router to a test server gives low speed.

    http://www.speedtest.net/

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Big improvement :)

    download speed 5401 kbps and upload at 538 kbps (distance 50 miles; Ping 393 ms)

    This is cool, Thank you

Similar Threads

  1. Guide for fixing lost connection and speed issues on cable.
    By Rocky_Grim in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 02:12 PM
  2. cable vs dsl (is this still true? whats new?)
    By s1llym0nk3y in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-14-06, 05:01 PM
  3. Cox Cable Modem Connection Problem
    By phiwha in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-05, 07:46 PM
  4. problem with cox cable HSI
    By Crabtoes in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-05, 05:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •