Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need help tweaking my PPOA dsl connection

  1. #1

    Need help tweaking my PPOA dsl connection

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 09.18.2007 06:00
    IP address: 222.153.xxx.xxx
    Hi, am running windows xp home sp 2 with dlink DSL 502T modem. In the settings in the modem it tells me my connection is 3248 kbps down and 160 kbps up but when i run go to speedtest.net it comes back at 2003kbps and 134 kbps. I am running Cablenut as well, but have taken out a lot of the settings - do you think i should uninstall it and just have the tcip optimiser? Can you help. Location - New Zealand.

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030001010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 63888 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 2556kbps (319KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1022kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    What speed did you pay your ISP to give you? Settings shown in the modem can be capped to follow the speed package you have paid to get.

  3. #3
    My ISP has no caps - its as much as your phone line allows, but upload is 128kbps.

  4. #4
    Bump

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 127776
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  6. #6






    Tested on: 09.26.2007 03:03
    IP address: 222.153.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030101010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 127776 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 5111kbps (639KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2044kbps (256KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  7. #7
    I ran a trace to www.yahoo.com and these are the results, what does it all mean?

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.1.1.1
    2 66 ms 62 ms 64 ms 222-153-160-1.jetstream.xtra.co.nz [222.153.160.
    1]
    3 63 ms 67 ms * MDR-IP03e-3-1-0.akbr3.global-gateway.net.nz [202
    .50.236.114]
    4 63 ms 61 ms 62 ms ge-1-3-0-42.akbr3.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.
    236.109]
    5 241 ms 243 ms 243 ms so-1-2-0.0-sjbr2.global-gateway.net.nz [203.96.1
    20.202]
    6 243 ms 10.1.1.1 reports: Destination protocol unreachable.

    Trace complete.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Seems the best you can achieve is 2 mbps. Could be due to your distance to the ISP's switch. Call and check with them.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  9. #9
    Ok, thank you for all your help

Similar Threads

  1. DSL Connection Problem and Phone Filters
    By Jin in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-11-11, 11:54 AM
  2. DSL Connection Loss
    By StaticShock in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-07, 12:43 PM
  3. Tweaking Bulldog 8MB DSL connection
    By nonocut in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-12-06, 05:58 PM
  4. *Pls* Nid help on Tweaking DSL connection speed....
    By YoNgZ in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-14-06, 12:02 PM
  5. 9 months of DSL connection mystery....Help
    By jbarczew in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-05, 01:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •