Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Monitor Screen Resolution

  1. #1
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229

    Monitor Screen Resolution

    I just bought a 22" Wide screen LCD Monitor and I cant seem to find the proper screen resolution. It says to set it to 1680 x 1050 but that doesn't look right. Any idea's ?
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,861
    That's a common one for that size WS. Probably want to make sure the proper monitor drivers are loaded in Device Manager, and also your video card supports wide screen resolutions so that you can properly set it to that rez.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    that card can do that res but its weak

    Asus V8 420 GeForce 4 Ti4200 Video Card

    I suggest a better card if you plan on gaming though.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Is this your first widescreen?

    WHat about it doenst look right?

  5. #5
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    Sorry. Updated the video card a while ago. Never changed it in my signature. I have to set the resolution to 2048 x 768 to get it to look decent.
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  6. #6
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    This is my 1st wide screen and my 1st LCD. Maybe its going to take me a while to get used to it. They are very bright with a lot of contrast compared to my CRT.
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Make sure the refresh rate is what the monitor is meant to run at too, 60hz is fine for LCDs.

    What monitor is this?

  8. #8
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    22" Envision Wide Screen LCD
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Not sure how You have it at 2048 x 768 if its native is 1680x1050.

    Is it plugged in via DVI or analog cable?

    It should look fine at 1680x1050.

  10. #10
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    1680x1050 is the native resolution, that is what it should be set at.

    Can you take a picture of it with your camera at that resolution and post it here for us so we can see if it looks normal or not?
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  11. #11
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    It is plugged in with analog cable. Do you want a picture of my desktop or something on my browser?
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  12. #12
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    both if we can be greedy

  13. #13
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    How about a couple shots using Snagit. I don't know if this will help. This is how I have it set now at 2048 x 768.


    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c384/iflog/pic1.jpg

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c384/iflog/pic2.jpg

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c384/iflog/pic3.jpg
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  14. #14
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    those pictures are at 1024x768, did you resize them at all before uploading?

    what I really want is a picture taken by a digital camera of your LCD sitting at the desktop at 1680x1050 so I can see if the aspect ratios look correct
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  15. #15
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    The reason it shows up as 1024 is because I run dual monitors using NVIDIA horizontal span mode. If I was to capture the whole screen, which would be both monitors, it would be double. 1024 x 2 = 2048
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    it might be the dual monitor thign thats messing you up.

    if you set it up for just the 22" and set it to 1680x1050 how does it look.

  17. #17
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    Well, heres the deal. I set the monitor up by itself and tried a few resolutions. Sorry for the crappy pics. Used my cell phone. I'll start with the resolution it should be set at.

    1680x1050
    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...glemonitor.jpg

    Then I played with a few others.

    1280x768
    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...glemonitor.jpg

    1280x1024
    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...glemonitor.jpg

    Here are 3 shots of it set at 2048x768 with both monitors.

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...almonitors.jpg

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...lmonitors2.jpg

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...lmonitors3.jpg

    I think I'm going to have to stay with it the way it is. I'm sure the dual monitor thing is forcing me to. Even though, the setting at 1680x1050 on a single view monitor doesn't look good either. The icons are really small.
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

  18. #18
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    1680x1050 is the correct resolution for the 22" though, it looks fine to me in the pics
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  19. #19
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    If you're not going to run an LCD at its native resolution, you might as well return it.

  20. #20
    Regular Member iflog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    229
    It may look good to you at 1680x1050 but the icons are very small, and that is running one monitor. When I run the dual view it stretches the resolution across both monitors. That is probably why I have to run 2048. If I were to run the dual monitors at 1680 the icons would be so thin you wouldn't be able to read what is under them. Why would I return the monitor just because I can't run it at its native resolution? Please don't respond with idiotic remarks.
    Time Warner Cable - Road Runner
    10000/1000
    Windows 7
    Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33Ghz
    3GB Ram
    Dual Monitors - 19" LG Flatrons Model LG1933TR

Similar Threads

  1. changeing BF2 resolution to widescreen aspect?
    By Jay Santis in forum Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-17-06, 05:21 PM
  2. Tweaked but changed screen resolution
    By biiqydanz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-07-06, 02:14 AM
  3. increase color and resolution on win98
    By jtt1 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-20-06, 07:09 PM
  4. Resolution Settings Not Staying In XP
    By bbimber in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-05, 06:16 AM
  5. multiple resolution online slideshows
    By zooner in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-05, 05:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •