Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 1 ADSL Modem and 2 Routers

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    1 ADSL Modem and 2 Routers

    I have a D-link ADSL modem, and two linksys routers.
    I want to have two independent networks, each with its own router,
    and I want each network to have internet access.
    What do I put between the two routers and the modem?

    (I tried an STLab 5-Port 10/100M Nway Switch, but it did not work.)

    I don't want to connect one router to the other, because I want to be able to remove either router without affecting the other network.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    With your existing hardware, the one way is to do the clunky double NAT setup, which I'd never want to do. One router is 192.168.0.xxx, and the second router is 192.168.1.xxx. Setup your "outside" router to the broadband modem, configuring it to your ISP. Then uplink your second "inside" router to the outside router...WAN/Internet port of the inside router to a LAN port of your outside router. It will somewhat separate the two networks, the outside network will never see the inside network, the inside network won't "see" the outside network without intentionally looking...so it's not the most secure, but it effectively separates.

    If this is a business network that needs full separation..the approach I take for clients is to get a single business grade router or switch...and use port based VLANs.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    ADSL and 2 routers

    Do you have multiple static IPs? If so, use a hub to connect to the modem instead of a switch. Connect both routers to the hub. It is shared media. Assign 1 static IP, SM and Default gateway to each router. Don't forget about the DNS. This should give you access for both networks if you have more than one static IP address.

Similar Threads

  1. Help me tweak my 1024kbs line and MTU, RWIN plz (RWIN=1412)
    By boy84hn2002 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-10, 01:31 PM
  2. Adviser For The Best Load Balncing Router & ADSL PPPoE Modem
    By SandsChild in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-07, 04:22 PM
  3. Still confused? ADSL Modem, router or gateway ....
    By Panda in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-07, 05:48 AM
  4. Slow speed with new modem
    By gbiddle in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-06, 05:48 PM
  5. Optimized settings for my ADSL modem?
    By Eran Karu in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-05, 12:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •