Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: wireless double the speed of my ethernet connection - ?? any idea why ??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    wireless double the speed of my ethernet connection - ?? any idea why ??

    Hi, This post could be quite long as I have tried all kinds of things to no avail. Hopefully someone can help.

    I use a USR9108 Router to connect to the internet (ADSL via Orcon in New Zealand). The router currently services two connections. The first and main connection to the router is my PC via ethernet through the PC's on board NIC on my Gigabyte 965P-DS3 mobo (Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller). The second connection is a my wife's laptop which is connected via wireless.

    After setting up the wifes laptop I wanted to see the performance hit through using wireless. So I used a local speed test site to check out the speed (http://www.consumerspeedtest.org.nz). I had run this a few times on my PC and knew the speed I was getting on the PC was a transfer rate of 260.6 KB/sec .

    I was very surprised when I was getting a result which was almost double the speed I was getting on my PC (transfer rate of 434.2 KB/sec). I checked it on a number of other speed test sites both in New Zealand and around the world and the same pattern happened on all of the sites.

    Initally I thought it was the router's ethernet connection which was causing the limiting of the connection to my PC. So I plugged the laptop into the router directly via ethernet and re-ran the speed tests. The laptop was still amazingly fast - much faster than the PC. This narrowed it down to the PC and not the router.

    I then thought it must be the NIC on the mobo so I purchased a new gigabit NIC and installed it (Netgear GA311). After installing the new NIC, the speed tests for the PC using the new NIC were exactly the same than the existing onboard one - still half the speed that the laptop wireless connection is getting.

    I thought Windows might be stuffed up and corrupted some settings so I reloaded a 'clean' image of my system partition and tried again - nope still half speed. At my wits end, I ended up re-installing windows from scratch to see if my image was also corrupted - nope still half speed.

    After a recommendation I used TCP optimiser, but the speed on the PC is still about half of the wireless speed on my wifes laptop.

    Some other details which might help - im using Win XP Pro (SP2), no software is interfering (i.e. no Norton or ZoneAlarm). I checked and the router and PC is connecting at 100.0 Mbps full duplex connection. I played with the speed and duplex settings, moving it away from auto-sensing and over to a forced 100.0 Mbps full duplex connection. Unfortunatly every setting I tried was the same slow speed.

    So this is where im at - a bit frustrated but none the wiser. Hopefully someone will have an idea of what could be the problem, if anyone wants any more details reply here and I will get you the details ASAP.

    Thanks

    wownerf

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    What speed did you pay your ISP to give you?

    What OS is the laptop using?

    Post the TCP Analyzer report for both computers.

    Test the speed of both computers at this link using the test server in NZ and post the results:

    http://www.speedtest.net/

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    Here are the details

    Hi, thanks for the response.

    Im on whats called the 'max/128k' plan. In a perfect world i would be getting the theoretical limits of the current tech (ADSL) which according to the ISP is 7.6Mb/128kbps. Due to the distance to the exchange is seems im maxing out at just under 4Mb down when using the laptop and 3Mb down when using the PC. The laptop is also running Win XP Pro (SP2).

    Here are the TCP Analyzer and Speedtest results.

    Thanks

    wownerf.



    Main PC / via ethernet connection to router
    -------------------------
    TCP Analyzer

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.27.2007 23:23
    IP address: 60.234.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 256960 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 10278kbps (1285KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4111kbps (514KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Speedtest results





    Laptop / via wireless connection to router
    -------------------------
    TCP Analyzer

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.28.2007 02:04
    IP address: 60.234.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 17520 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 17520
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 701kbps (88KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 280kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 115
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Speedtest results



    -------------------------

    I also decided to post the details via ethernet although the TCP Organizer details are the same.

    Laptop / via ethernet connection to router
    -------------------------
    TCP Analyzer

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.28.2007 01:54
    IP address: 60.234.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 115
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Speedtest results

    Last edited by wownerf; 08-28-07 at 03:10 AM. Reason: forgot to answer question about OS for the laptop

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer on just the PC:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128480
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Not a good result. Its slower, very noticable, I backed up my previous settings and have gone back to the speed listed above.

    Any other ideas ??

    Last edited by wownerf; 08-28-07 at 04:15 AM.

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Test both computers at this NDT site and post the results under the 'Statistics' button:

    http://nitro.ucsc.edu/

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    NDT Stats

    NDT Stats - Just in case you ask, I did open the required ports (3001,3002 and 3003) as stated. Dont know why it thinks im behind a firewall.

    Thanks

    wownerf

    ---------
    PC

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 134.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 85.99kb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_11

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 169.55 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 30 packets retransmitted, 10 duplicate acks received, and 10 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 2 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 0.8 seconds (8.88%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.73%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 21.82%
    This connection is network limited 99.83% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [60.234.219.205] but Client says [192.168.1.2]


    -----------
    Laptop

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 133.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 61.09kb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 256.67 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 18 packets retransmitted, 16 duplicate acks received, and 19 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 4 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 2.48 seconds (24.8%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 5.01%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 49.51%
    This connection is network limited 99.85% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [ 60.234.219.205] but Client says [192.168.1.3]

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    The NDT tests show that in both instances your connection stalled several times during the tests. Also, download speed of the PC is slightly higher than the laptop. The firewall is probably that in your router.

    This would imply that your top speed may be higher than 4 mbps but that some electrical interference is affecting your modem.

    Turn power to the modem and router off and relocate the modem a few feet away from all other electrical devices including the router. Make sure no excess lengths of signal and power cables are coiled up as doing so will generate electromagnetic force.

    When done, do the NDT test again to see if there is still stalling in the connection.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Hi trogers,

    As requested, the router has been moved away from the pc and printer. Its about 3 feet way (cant go much more than that at the moment)

    Here are the new results

    --
    NDT Results

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 134.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 64.68kb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_11

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 173.0 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 38 packets retransmitted, 9 duplicate acks received, and 10 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 2 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 0.8 seconds (8.0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.59%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 47.40%
    This connection is network limited 99.85% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [60.234.219.205] but Client says [192.168.1.2]

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Ok, here you go

    --

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Fraser>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 21 ms 19 ms 17 ms lo-1.exr01.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.8.17]
    3 18 ms 19 ms 16 ms ge-0-3-0-200.cr1.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.9.1]
    4 17 ms 18 ms 17 ms ge-2-2-0.gw4.AKL1.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.69
    ]
    5 143 ms 143 ms 143 ms po7-3.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.55.158]
    6 168 ms 165 ms 166 ms po2-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.165]
    7 142 ms 143 ms 143 ms PAT1.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.150]
    8 142 ms 144 ms 168 ms g-0-0-0-p170.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.81]

    9 144 ms 170 ms 144 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    10 147 ms 145 ms 144 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by wownerf View Post
    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 21 ms 19 ms 17 ms lo-1.exr01.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.xxx.xxx]
    3 18 ms 19 ms 16 ms ge-0-3-0-200.cr1.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.9.1]
    4 17 ms 18 ms 17 ms ge-2-2-0.gw4.AKL1.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.69]
    5 143 ms 143 ms 143 ms po7-3.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.55.158]
    6 168 ms 165 ms 166 ms po2-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.165]
    7 142 ms 143 ms 143 ms PAT1.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.150]
    8 142 ms 144 ms 168 ms g-0-0-0-p170.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.81]

    9 144 ms 170 ms 144 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    10 147 ms 145 ms 144 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.
    Slightly higher ping times at the modem in hop 2 compared to those in hop 3 and 4.

    Try to find out what device(s) may be affecting the modem by turning off power to them and then turn them on one by one while doing tracerts. The one that causes higher ping times at hop 2 is the suspect. Any cordless phone nearby?

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Hi, sorry for the length in time replying.

    Basically i have tried everything, from moving the router miles away from the computer and connecting with a 10 meter ethernet cable to turning off everything nearby. Nothing changes the speed of the computer or the latency of the first hop in the traceroute.

    I am guessing that this was the last option. To sum up, the laptop connecting via wireless is still over a 1mbit faster than the PC via ethernet. While the ADSL might be quicker at another house the difference between the pc and laptop speeds cannot be explained by it.

    Im really fustrated but somethings not right.

    Cheers for your help though, it has been the best advice I have got.

    Thanks

    wownerf

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Ok, I thought i would try one last thing. Using TCP Optimizer, I got the settings for the Laptop and transfered then completely to the PC. Most of them were blank (so i set them to blank on the PC), apart from the host resolution priority settings which were 499, 500, 2000 and 2001 respectivley.

    I got some interesting results, ranging from



    to



    Im unsure about how much I should rely upon these results. My usual site www.consumerspeedtest.org.nz still lists me as being slow (2400 kbits) and while downloading files from a local high speed mirror is a touch quicker, its not amazingly fast.

    Any ideas if this has solved the problem ??

    --

    For reference here is my TCP Analyzer results for these new settings

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.31.2007 03:12
    IP address: 60.234.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030e01010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 1073725440 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 42949018kbps (5368627KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 17179607kbps (2147451KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 242
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    and my tracert to www.yahoo.com (the first hop aint any quicker)

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Fraser>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 18 ms 20 ms 19 ms lo-1.exr01.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.8.17]
    3 18 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-0-3-0-200.cr1.nct.orcon.net.nz [60.234.9.1]
    4 19 ms 17 ms 20 ms ge-2-2-0.gw4.akl1.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.69
    ]
    5 143 ms 142 ms 143 ms po7-3.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.55.158]
    6 166 ms 166 ms 166 ms po2-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.165]
    7 142 ms 143 ms 143 ms PAT1.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.150]
    8 142 ms 143 ms 167 ms g-0-0-0-p170.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.81]

    9 145 ms 169 ms 143 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    10 143 ms 145 ms 143 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Also NDT Results

    --

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 134.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 60.09kb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_11

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 170.0 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 34 packets retransmitted, 6 duplicate acks received, and 11 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 3 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 1.2 seconds (12.0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.73%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 45.37%
    This connection is network limited 99.83% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: ON

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [60.234.219.205] but Client says [192.168.1.2]

  16. #16
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by wownerf View Post
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.31.2007 03:12
    IP address: 60.234.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030e01010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 1073725440 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 42949018kbps (5368627KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 17179607kbps (2147451KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 242
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    When you leave TCP Window blank with Window scaling checked, your TCP Window will become much too high, and in the presence of packet losses, your speed will swing widely.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer on just the PC:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 256960
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    Search Google and use PingPlotter to find out which hop(s) packet losses are occurring.

    Check to see if you have all the latest Windows update for your PC.

Similar Threads

  1. WRT54G Ver 7 Connection Drops and Random Speed
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-08, 03:31 AM
  2. Wireless LAN - From One House to Another
    By reallyfull in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-08-07, 12:38 PM
  3. Linksys WRT54G and Intel PRO Wireless 2200 : Connection Drops
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-07, 01:59 PM
  4. Wireless modem 2meg cabled to ethernet , stability prbl
    By chamouz in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-05, 10:19 AM
  5. Constant dropped connection, wireless
    By rikoshade in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-30-05, 06:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •