Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wireless dilemma

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Wireless dilemma

    2 Laptops
    One with Win XP Pro
    One new with Vista Home Premium
    Router tied to DSL modem
    have old Netgear Wireless router
    have new LinkSys WGU624 wirelss router - Vista compatible
    all work fine hardwired - only.
    after hours with tech support on both routers and laptops, no one can get the wireless to connect.
    I occassionally see the SSID (not all the time)
    I get all green bars - plenty of signal.
    Tried open and WEP various bit lengths.
    Nothing will connect.
    I suspect interference, but what?
    I have a cordless phone, but it is on the rest.
    There are other routers around, the most powerfull shows all but one bar.
    How can I find out what is causing all of this?
    How do I track down interference?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Lorin View Post
    2 Laptops
    One with Win XP Pro
    One new with Vista Home Premium
    Router tied to DSL modem
    have old Netgear Wireless router
    have new LinkSys WGU624 wirelss router - Vista compatible
    all work fine hardwired - only.
    after hours with tech support on both routers and laptops, no one can get the wireless to connect.
    I occassionally see the SSID (not all the time)
    I get all green bars - plenty of signal.
    Tried open and WEP various bit lengths.
    Nothing will connect.
    I suspect interference, but what?
    I have a cordless phone, but it is on the rest.
    There are other routers around, the most powerfull shows all but one bar.
    How can I find out what is causing all of this?
    How do I track down interference?
    i don't know why you bought a new Router just for vista,all the routers are compatible With vista it's the same connector(RJ-45)and needs the same driver.
    802.11A+B+G are supported in vista.

    let's get back to the problem
    check the settings is set to "No Broadcast SSiD" if so,change it you should fined your connection.
    something else that you can check to is if you are using Mac address filtering,if so you can make one of the following
    1.shut down the filtering(less secure)
    2.add your self to the Mac address(much more secure).

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    The Vista compatible are supposed to install easier and I saw that could happen if the laptop would connect to the router.
    Anyway ... I have already tried all of that and with the help of their tech support (that was little help).

    I believe that I have an interference problem.
    But I do not know how to locate it or what to do about it.

    I can access wireless at a hotspot away from home.
    Perhaps my neighbor is radiating something that swamps out my signals.
    Occassionally I see my SSID show up with all bars green, then it disappears.
    It says uit sees it but cannot connect.
    How do I detect that.
    The standard "Finders" state on the box that they ignore things like cordless phones etc so that will not work.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Just marketing hype...same install steps as if you were on Win95 or 98 or ME or 2K or XP...manage router/ap with a web browser to the IP address.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    No help so far ...

    I guess no one that knows much about wireless technical issues come to this board.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Quote Originally Posted by Lorin View Post
    I guess no one that knows much about wireless technical issues come to this board.
    Have you tried the wireless networking tips stickied to the top of this forum? Everything I'd reply here is already mentioned in that troubleshooting thread.
    Also your DSL modem may already be a router...can conflict with your wireless router, what make/model is your DSL modem?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    You need someone with a spectrum analyzer.

    When your signal disappears, do the distant AP's also go away?

    Try changing the channel of your AP to something else like 1 or 11.

    Get a copy of netstumbler installed on your xp laptop. You can watch the signal strength of multiple AP's easier that way.

    Turn both routers on with one on ch 1 and 1 on ch 11. Let the laptops connect to each and see if the problem happens at the same time on both.

    Hire a two-way radio shop with the right tools to come out and find the interference. They are generally about $90 and hour. I do it around here all the time.

    Good Luck!
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

Similar Threads

  1. Linksys WRT54G and Intel PRO Wireless 2200 : Connection Drops
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-07, 01:59 PM
  2. Because of my wireless card or the wireless network??
    By Mahalo in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-07, 03:23 PM
  3. Linksys deploying new Small Business N wireless products...
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-06, 06:37 AM
  4. VPN, router, Wireless setup.
    By ckct in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-06, 05:07 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-13-05, 11:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •