Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Incredibly slow upload speed.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9

    Incredibly slow upload speed.

    Hi. I've been having problems for over a month with slow upload speeds. I can even send long text e-mails let alone photo attachments. I live in Japan and have a NTT B Flets broadband conection. Provider is a company called Plala. NTT guy came and checked out everything and saind there was no problem. He added a connection on my computer that speed tests for them but not through the internet. I get a connection of 51.11Mbps.
    I've tested several internet speed tests and download is about 17.00 or 18.00Mbps. Upload is about 10kbps.
    The speed test results from here were:

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    1413 kbps down (~1.41 Mbps, 172 KB/s)↓
    5 kbps up (~0.01 Mbps, 1 KB/s)↑
    1024 KB downloaded in 5.938 seconds
    500 KB uploaded in 810.716 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.08.01 22:40 EDT
    Tested from: w-kat.de
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=8933DD1GYEAT
    Latency: 225ms
    Provider: ap.plala.or.jp
    Location: Tokyo, JP

    Plala had me down load a program to change my MTU to 1454 and my RWIN to 40 times that. (I did this before the speed test here)

    I'm not sure exactly what all this means as my e-mail support was in Japanese, but nothing changed. I've tried turning off security software, unplugging, re-plugging on/off. My next move will probably be percussive maintenance!!!

    Any ideas what to do? I don't really have problems viewing the internet, but not being able to send photos to family back home is a totally bummer.

    PS I did install a new version of Java after a firefox prompt a while ago, and then went back to the old version after I found out I couldn't check my local surf cam anymore.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Post your TCP Analyzer report.

    Also, do a speedtest at this link using the recommended test server and post your results:

    http://www.speedtest.net/

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    Ok. Did the speed test but after 20minutes still didn't get a upload speed so gave up. Download was 12729kbps.

    TCP analyzer
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.03.2007 01:52
    IP address: 58.95.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 0204058601010402
    MSS: 1414
    MTU: 1454
    TCP Window: 56560 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 56560
    Reccomended RWINs: 65044, 130088, 260176, 520352
    BDP limit (200ms): 2262kbps (283KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 905kbps (113KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 105
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    I have no idea what any of that means though. Please help.

    PS I have scanned for spyware, virus etc. nothing.

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1454
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 260176
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, test speed again at the Yokohama test server.

    Also. do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    Here's the tracert.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User08>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 5 ms 4 ms 4 ms 218.44.77.103
    2 6 ms 4 ms 4 ms 218.44.77.98
    3 31 ms 26 ms 25 ms 218.47.158.129
    4 27 ms 26 ms 26 ms i210-225-225-205.s99.a049.ap.plala.or.jp [210.22
    5.225.205]
    5 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 218.43.251.249
    6 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 221.184.4.5
    7 27 ms 25 ms 25 ms 61.207.0.238
    8 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0-1.a21.tokyjp01.jp.ra.gin.ntt.net [61.213.16
    1.217]
    9 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms xe-2-1-0.r21.tokyjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [61.213.
    162.97]
    10 36 ms 36 ms 35 ms ae-3.r21.osakjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.2
    14]
    11 137 ms 136 ms 132 ms as-1.r21.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.8
    7]
    12 134 ms 141 ms 140 ms so5-0-0-2488.ar2.SEA1.gblx.net [208.51.134.81]
    13 163 ms 156 ms 168 ms ge4-1-10G.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [67.17.105.6]
    14 160 ms 155 ms 162 ms yahoo-3.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [64.208.110.170]
    15 160 ms 175 ms 168 ms g-0-0-0-p171.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.83]

    16 159 ms 161 ms 154 ms te-9-1.bas-a1.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.21]
    17 159 ms 166 ms 154 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User08>

    Speedtest still not coming back. Have to go out so will speed test again tonight.
    At the moment it has 17074 kbps on a 43 ms ping

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9


    came back. 8!!! I guess something is still wrong

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    Last edited by unrestraint; 08-05-07 at 04:44 AM.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by unrestraint View Post
    Your upload speed is very low. Could be due to spyware in your comp.

    Search Google, download, install, update and scan your comp with the following:

    SpyBot
    Ad-Aware 2007
    a-Squared Free

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    Ok. I have Ad-ware SE Personal. Did that with nothing. Did the Spybot and came up with a few and fixed them. haven't done a-Spuared Free yet. But did another speed test and got these results:

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    I just edited this as I realized the speed test above was also done when using a different LAN cable. When switching back to my original cable I get the slows again. THAT must be the problem. But I don't understand how can my LAN cable can affect my upload but hardly affect my download.

    Also, 1682 kb/s still sounds slow. What kind of upload speed should I be getting?
    Last edited by unrestraint; 08-07-07 at 02:53 AM.

  11. #11
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by unrestraint View Post
    I just edited this as I realized the speed test above was also done when using a different LAN cable. When switching back to my original cable I get the slows again. THAT must be the problem. But I don't understand how can my LAN cable can affect my upload but hardly affect my download.

    Also, 1682 kb/s still sounds slow. What kind of upload speed should I be getting?
    The upload bandwidth depends much on your ISP's package. But If I am to make an estimate from the 100 mbps download, it can be as low as 5 mbps.

    Carry out some tracerts with your original cable and with the one to the LAN and see what the differences are.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    broken? cable.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 5 ms 4 ms 4 ms 218.44.77.103
    2 5 ms 4 ms * 218.44.77.98
    3 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 218.47.158.129
    4 27 ms 27 ms 26 ms i210-225-225-205.s99.a049.ap.plala.or.jp [210.22
    5.225.205]
    5 * 26 ms 25 ms 218.43.251.249
    6 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms 221.184.4.1
    7 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 61.207.0.150
    8 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0-1.a21.tokyjp01.jp.ra.gin.ntt.net [61.213.16
    1.217]
    9 34 ms 34 ms 33 ms xe-0-0-0.r21.tokyjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [61.213.
    162.225]
    10 39 ms 33 ms * ae-3.r21.osakjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.2
    14]
    11 148 ms 149 ms 158 ms as-1.r21.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.8
    7]
    12 156 ms 147 ms 146 ms so5-0-0-2488.ar2.SEA1.gblx.net [208.51.134.81]
    13 171 ms 263 ms 162 ms ge4-1-10G.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [67.17.105.6]
    14 181 ms * 173 ms yahoo-5.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [64.215.195.98]
    15 170 ms 164 ms 164 ms g-0-0-0-p160.msr1.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.57]

    16 170 ms * 181 ms te-9-1.bas-a1.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.23]
    17 172 ms 164 ms 181 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>

    other cable.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 5 ms 5 ms 4 ms 218.44.77.103
    2 6 ms 5 ms 4 ms 218.44.77.98
    3 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 218.47.158.129
    4 27 ms 26 ms 26 ms i210-225-225-221.s99.a049.ap.plala.or.jp [210.22
    5.225.221]
    5 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 220.111.43.45
    6 26 ms 25 ms 26 ms 221.184.4.29
    7 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 61.207.0.238
    8 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms ae-0-1.a21.tokyjp01.jp.ra.gin.ntt.net [61.213.16
    1.217]
    9 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms xe-2-1-0.r21.tokyjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [61.213.
    162.97]
    10 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms ae-3.r21.osakjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.2
    14]
    11 140 ms 139 ms 148 ms as-1.r21.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.8
    7]
    12 156 ms 148 ms 147 ms so5-0-0-2488.ar2.SEA1.gblx.net [208.51.134.81]
    13 176 ms 184 ms 167 ms ge4-1-10G.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [67.17.105.6]
    14 164 ms 174 ms 167 ms yahoo-5.ar2.SJC2.gblx.net [64.215.195.98]
    15 166 ms 167 ms 158 ms g-0-0-0-p160.msr1.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.57]

    16 175 ms 168 ms 175 ms te-9-1.bas-a1.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.23]
    17 175 ms 158 ms 184 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.

    Thanks for all your help.

  13. #13
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by unrestraint View Post
    broken? cable.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [209.131.36.158]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 5 ms 4 ms 4 ms 218.44.xxx.xxx
    2 5 ms 4 ms * 218.44.77.98
    3 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 218.47.158.129
    4 27 ms 27 ms 26 ms i210-225-225-205.s99.a049.ap.plala.or.jp [210.225.225.205]
    5 * 26 ms 25 ms 218.43.251.249
    6 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms 221.184.4.1
    7 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 61.207.0.150
    8 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0-1.a21.tokyjp01.jp.ra.gin.ntt.net [61.213.161.217]
    Yes, hop 2 shows a possible problem along the signal line from after the modem to the ISP's switch.

    Look into possible loose connectors or broken wire in your cable line.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Miyazaki, Japan
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for all your help. I guess I should fork out some dosh and go wireless instead of having a cable running halfway around the house.

Similar Threads

  1. Why is my upload speed so slow?
    By AndyB007 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-19-07, 02:16 PM
  2. Ftp upload speed sudden slow down
    By world33 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-28-07, 04:27 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-06-06, 11:24 PM
  4. Very Slow Upload Speed..help..
    By Xperthero in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-06, 03:01 AM
  5. Upload speed slow then slower then stops...
    By rgvyan in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-05, 09:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •