Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 2nd DSL modem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    2nd DSL modem

    I am using a pc, Siemens 4100 DSL modem.
    How do I add a second pc & DSL modem 200 feet away on a POTS line?
    Do I need a router & cat5 line?
    Does AT&T charge more for 2 modems?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    For a second modem..your telco would run another line....and you'd have an additional account from them.

    Why do you want a second modem?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    2nd MODEM

    Just don't know how to put 2nd pc on line.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    To hook up more PCs to 1 connection you need a router. If you get a wireless one and a wireless card for your PC thats 200ft away(assuming it doesnt have one) and then you can share the internet connection with both PCs.

  5. #5
    your second pc needs to be networked to your first pc to be able to use your internet connection. Use a hub to connect in the network but you will first need to network your pcs together.

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Quote Originally Posted by shop4bandwidth View Post
    your second pc needs to be networked to your first pc to be able to use your internet connection. Use a hub to connect in the network but you will first need to network your pcs together.
    Router provides you with better performance, the PCs can work independently, and more important....a router protects all PCs behind it with its hardware firewall...NAT.

    Hubs are pretty much extinct, switches replaced them.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    You could make it easy on yourself and get a modem with a router built right in, I recommend the Zoom X series wholeheartedly for ADSL users. My personal favorite that works great is a is a control freak's dream modem is the Zoom X5 ADSL modem.

    goto this page to look at the different versions of the X5 so you can pick the right one for your situation.

    http://zoom.com/products/adsl_overview.htm

Similar Threads

  1. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 03:27 AM
  2. Alcatel DSL modem, 4 yrs old, should i ask for a newer one?
    By rapierdragon in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-21-07, 02:28 AM
  3. problem connecting dsl modem to pc
    By Savage31 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-07, 12:02 PM
  4. DSL modem and Wireless router in parallel
    By rajanv in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-06, 03:31 PM
  5. Slow speed with new modem
    By gbiddle in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-06, 06:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •