Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Another Verizon DSL Tweak support request

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12

    Another Verizon DSL Tweak support request

    I am supposed to have Verizon 3 down 768 up.

    First Test was: 1527 down, 383 up

    After TCP Optimizer optimal settings it wasnt changed much 1528 and 382

    On Friday I got the service and was supposed to be 3 but they had me for 1.5 so I upgraded and the lady said it may take through the day before active.

    Today, Sunday speeds have not improved. I followed other instructions provided at http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=73799 changing settings and regedit.

    Any other recommendations?

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.22.2007 09:52
    IP address: 71.253.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405a40103030201010402
    MSS: 1444
    MTU: 1484
    TCP Window: 261360 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63536, 127072, 254144, 508288
    BDP limit (200ms): 10454kbps (1307KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4182kbps (523KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Thanks in advance for any help you guys and gals may have.

    Brady

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Another test:

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    1487 kbps down (~1.49 Mbps, 182 KB/s)↓
    377 kbps up (~0.38 Mbps, 46 KB/s)↑
    3072 KB downloaded in 16.922 seconds
    500 KB uploaded in 10.86 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.07.22 10:05 EDT
    Tested from: theshell.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=RAPHY0YQY8ZE
    Latency: 48ms
    Provider: nrflva.east.verizon.net
    Location: US

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    What is the brand and model of your router and modem? Your MTU should be 1492 for PPPoE or 1500 for PPPoA. It may be limited by the router or modem.
    Last edited by trogers; 07-22-07 at 10:39 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    I was just actually looking at the router. I logged in and nosed around a bit.

    Its a Westell, Model D90-327W15-06

    Other info:
    Model Number D90-327W15-06
    Serial Number 07B406057956
    Software Version VER:4.03.02.04
    Software Model 4 Port Gateway
    Description WireSpeed Data Gateway
    Boot Loader VER:4.03.02.04
    Configuration 096-900125-02A

    and other info:

    DSL link: Connected
    Speed (Down/Up): 1792 Kbits/sec by 448 Kbits/sec
    Connection Type: PPP

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Also.. Tried an update just to see and update failed: bug information not available

    I looked at their site for an update and its exclusive for verizon and they dont have updates. Verizon would but found nothing.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Sorry for multiple posts. Other info is I have xp pro. I also have vonage hooked up through westell and one other computer powered down. All wired not wireless. I disabled wireless on router.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Check the user guide of your router cum modem unit and ensure MTU and MRU is set to 1500, and if they have a setting, MSS = 1460. Then save and reboot the Westall.

    Then, try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 32120
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    1505 kbps down (~1.51 Mbps, 184 KB/s)↓
    377 kbps up (~0.38 Mbps, 46 KB/s)↑
    3072 KB downloaded in 16.718 seconds
    500 KB uploaded in 10.86 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.07.22 11:37 EDT
    Tested from: theshell.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=QLUEVVZY8BSU
    Latency: 49ms
    Provider: nrflva.east.verizon.net
    Location: US

    Page 140 talks about MTU: http://www.westell.com/images/pdf/327w11_06_ug.pdf

    Page 93 talks about MRU but i cant see anywhere to edit or view these settings.

    Thank you very much for your time and if you can figure out where these settings are

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    I just saw it is: Ethernet MTU - 1500

    Found this at Advanced > Diagnostics > Network Statistics > Ethernet and it cant be edited from here but 1500 is what you suggested and that looks correct

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Post a new TCP Analyzer report to see if TCP Optimizer has adjusted your MTU to 1500.

    The status of your Westell indicates your speed has not yet been upgraded to 3 mbps.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.22.2007 12:26
    IP address: 71.253.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030201010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 261360 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 10454kbps (1307KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4182kbps (523KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bradyb1977 View Post
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.22.2007 12:26
    IP address: 71.253.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030201010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 261360 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 10454kbps (1307KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4182kbps (523KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Your MTU has been raised to 1492 correct for a PPPoE connection.

    Your TCP Window is too high.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer. This is the setting for a 3 mbps connection:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Maybe verizon is dragging their butts on updating my service to 3meg?

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    1469 kbps down (~1.47 Mbps, 179 KB/s)↓
    377 kbps up (~0.38 Mbps, 46 KB/s)↑
    2048 KB downloaded in 11.422 seconds
    500 KB uploaded in 10.875 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.07.23 05:50 EDT
    Tested from: theshell.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=D45P2IL9C9EF
    Latency: 49ms
    Provider: nrflva.east.verizon.net
    Location: US

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.23.2007 05:51
    IP address: 71.253.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405a401010402
    MSS: 1444
    MTU: 1484
    TCP Window: 32120 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 32120
    Reccomended RWINs: 63536, 127072, 254144, 508288
    BDP limit (200ms): 1285kbps (161KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 514kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    I am going to reboot the modem/router and see what happens.

    thanks

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    rebooted and same results:

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    1479 kbps down (~1.48 Mbps, 181 KB/s)↓
    375 kbps up (~0.38 Mbps, 46 KB/s)↑
    3072 KB downloaded in 17.015 seconds
    500 KB uploaded in 10.937 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.07.23 05:57 EDT
    Tested from: theshell.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=E1C59UFK4NGR
    Latency: 48ms
    Provider: nrflva.east.verizon.net
    Location: US

  15. #15
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    your mtu changed back to another number try thease reboot after saving changes take another analyzer.

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    vbrep_register("2083232")
    Comptia a+ n+

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    Finally.. got my 3meg upgrade and now have:

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    2805 kbps down (~2.81 Mbps, 342 KB/s)↓
    726 kbps up (~0.73 Mbps, 89 KB/s)↑
    5120 KB downloaded in 14.954 seconds
    1024 KB uploaded in 11.562 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.07.30 06:57 EDT
    Tested from: theshell.com
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...t=LHECAGY8R1WU
    Latency: 47ms
    Provider: norf.east.verizon.net
    Location: Norfolk, VA, US

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.30.2007 06:58
    IP address: 151.199.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405a401010402
    MSS: 1444
    MTU: 1484
    TCP Window: 32120 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 32120
    Reccomended RWINs: 63536, 127072, 254144, 508288
    BDP limit (200ms): 1285kbps (161KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 514kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    any suggestions to improve and thanks for all the previous help.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12
    and speedtest:


  18. #18
    pturner38
    Guest
    I had this same problem when I was running Windows 2000, my speed should have been 3/784 but about all I could get was 1.3/384.

    I finally found an article somewhere that suggested adding a key in regedit:

    HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\

    Add a new REG_DWORD and name it TcpWindowSize, set the value to faf0.

    This brought my download speed up to about 2.9 but my upload still stayed at 384.

    When you're done go to speakeasy.net/speedtest and check your speed.

    I hope this helps

Similar Threads

  1. Trace route probs
    By codes4 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-07, 11:32 AM
  2. The tweaks are not working for me
    By djdansays in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-16-07, 10:55 PM
  3. Best Speed is .73 Mbps - Please Advise
    By Lurch in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-30-06, 09:05 PM
  4. [DSL & lost packets] A french guy who need some help...
    By wouf in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-06, 07:05 PM
  5. Cable acting weird.
    By Shazz in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-29-05, 05:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •