Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Laptop keeps dropping internet connect

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Angry Laptop keeps dropping internet connect

    Hi, new here.

    I keep having a problem with my laptop dropping my internet connection.

    I have a Toshiba Laptop that is 2 years old, operating Windows XP. I have Time Warner Cable internet, no wireless router.

    So the problem: I will be going along just fine for awhile, then all the sudden the connection drops, and the modem's lights show that it is not connected. I called my ISP, and they confirmed they were seeing that the connection was lost.

    I have replaced the modem 3 times, and had Geek Squad come out and we ended up reloading the PC entirely. He mentioned he thought something was causing my computer to "reset" the modem.

    So after reloading the computer, and replacing the modem, everything worked fine for a couple of months. Now all the sudden, it's doing it again. I can go for hours, then it will just drop the connection. And I cannot manually reset it.

    I'm considering dumping cable internet and switching to FiOS, hoping that if I don't have a modem it will fix the problem.

    Any ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    How are your signal levels?

    http://192.168.100.1

    I really dont believe this was your original problem but something could have changed.

    Personally- Id find a cheap broadband router to put between the modem and the laptop. Maybe even a wireless one to let you roam. Helps by providing a layer between you and the outside.

    Your original problem could have been dhcp related. You could have picked up a virus or spyware that took out your connection. Lots of variables.

    What antivirus are you running? Checked for spyware lately?
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Here were my signal levels:

    Frequency 615000000 Hz

    Signal To Noise Ratio 36.5 dB

    Power Level -6.3 dBmV
    The Downstream Power Level reading is a snapshot taken at the time this page was requested. Please Reload/Refresh this Page for a new reading


    Upstream Value
    Channel ID 1
    Frequency 19500000 Hz
    Power 45.3 dBmV

    Funny you should ask about antivirus and spyware. I'm currently not running anything since they reloaded my PC. I just bought both of them at Best Buy and looking to install today. Trend Micro Antivirus and Webroot Spy Sweeper.

  4. #4
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    You probably want to start here then http://forums.speedguide.net/forumdisplay.php?f=46

    Theres a good chance you could have to rebuild your operating system again. The average time for an unpatched, computer from the time its connected to the internet till its be infected is about twenty minutes. But go to that link first.

    Try this too http://usa.kaspersky.com/products_se...us-scanner.php

    I personally like Kaspersky Antivirus Products.
    www.kaspersky.com

    Good Luck!
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  5. #5
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by erickaom View Post
    So the problem: I will be going along just fine for awhile, then all the sudden the connection drops, and the modem's lights show that it is not connected. I called my ISP, and they confirmed they were seeing that the connection was lost.

    this alone tells me its the ISP's issue and they need to come out and look at your lines and so forth. Could be packetloss at a hop on their network which they need to fix.

  6. #6
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    this alone tells me its the ISP's issue and they need to come out and look at your lines and so forth. Could be packetloss at a hop on their network which they need to fix.
    Yep- many issues here that need to be dealt with.

    The connection between the modem and the computer going bad can cause the loss of the Ethernet Light and show the loss of connection their seeing. I have seen driver issues that take out the adapter for what ever reason and cause this.

    The Receive and Send lights going out are an indication of loss of modem connection and show issues with the cable connection. Call the cable company if this is happening.

    This comment...
    I'm currently not running anything since they reloaded my PC.
    grabs my attention for obvious reasons. I wont even deal with my customers unless they deal with their security first. I will help and get them going with it, but it is first! I guess I just dont like getting their return business...

    Call me cynical...


    BTW- the signal levels look fine but look at them the next time you lose connection. Might help you to diagnose...
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    19
    I hope you get speeds like this.


  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by shoreke View Post
    I hope you get speeds like this.

    I hope I can just get a tenth of that...

Similar Threads

  1. WRT54G Wireless can connect to internet, Cannot connect to Local LAN PCs
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-07, 04:11 AM
  2. I see they still haven't fixed it yet
    By Sid in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-20-05, 07:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •