Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Rebooting issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4

    Rebooting issue

    So... I got an Aopen AX4SPE Max (P4 Socket 478) from a friend of mine, and built a machine out of some spare parts I had lying around. However, I have a recurring issue that I can't seem to fix so far...

    Basically, every time I start the machine (either from a restart, or from a cold start), it goes into a "half-on" mode. The fans spin up, the power light is on, but USB devices are unpowered, the "Boot LED" is flashing, and the monitor doesn't get a signal. If IDE drives are hooked up, the HDD light is usually on, but with SATA drives hooked up, it's off.

    After this power state, if I either hold the power button (wait the 5 seconds for it to shut off) and turn it back on, or if I hit the reset button, then it'll come back up into POST, and I can continue as normal. It's not a major issue, but it is annoying to reach over to the case in the course of a software-level restart.

    This issue was not present when my friend owned the board, it's only been there since I installed my parts onto it. The issue was also not present when these same parts were installed on the board of a Dell Dimension 4600.

    Even though I don't find it necessary, I'll give the full hardware summary, for completeness:

    P4 3.2GHz Prescott, socket 478
    AOpen AX4SPE Max (latest BIOS)
    2x512MB Crucial DDR-400 RAM, 3-2-3-8
    EVGA 6600GT AGP
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB SATA/3Gbps drive
    Ultra 500W PSU (I know... but it was cheap, and modular, and my last PSU was underpowered)
    Sony DVD-RW drive

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Any usb drive plugged in?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    No, the only external devices plugged in are AC power, a CAT5 cable, a USB mouse, and a USB keyboard.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Hmmm. Try another PSU if you have one.

    No overclocking? Voltages set to auto or left alone? After you got the board from the friend you reset the CMOS?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    I've used this PSU in the other machine no problem, and I've used another PSU on this mobo with no problem.

    No OCing, stock voltage, etc. I have tried resetting the CMOS, still no effect.

    Another "malfunction", not sure if it's related... if I do change the clock speed in BIOS, nothing gets affected. If I set it, then save and exit the BIOS, then it restarts the machine (triggering my above issue). I reset the machine manually, and it's still at stock clock speeds. However, voltage can be changed just fine, with no problems. This time of year underclocking is more useful for me than overclocking (otherwise, my room gets way too hot), which I can't even do right now in the BIOS.

    Using AOpen's provided utility, "EzClock", I can change the clock speed, but half the time when I hit "Apply" the machine freezes. It seems as though if I can get the program to change clock speeds once, I'm fine as long as I don't OC too far, and as long as I don't shut the machine down. If I reboot and open up EzClock, there's a good chance that any change will once again freeze the machine up.

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Strange, try using memtest86+ or memtest for windows to check RAM.

    Could this friend have F'ed up the mobo before you got it?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    Yeah, memtest86 doesn't show any issues.

    I suppose it's possible that the board got some ESD while it was in transit between his case and mine... is there any way to check?

Similar Threads

  1. Computer-Specific Internet Browsing Issue
    By Holyfield in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-24-06, 05:51 AM
  2. To Many User Accounts?
    By mandm6 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-21-06, 07:29 PM
  3. Freak issue, but not unique. (Bit Torrent related)
    By PicHold in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-06-06, 02:41 PM
  4. SBC DSL and Linksys WRT54G dns issue?
    By manwithnoname in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-05, 09:42 PM
  5. Frustrating connectivity issue (DI-524)
    By SirDevon in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-02-05, 06:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •