Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Upgrading a wireless modem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4

    Upgrading a wireless modem

    Hi,

    I just bought a netgear rangemax next ADSL2+ wireless modem. I also have Belkin pre-N wireless modem from before. Now the Belkin is working ok (Even though it disconnects every now & then) but when i remove it (Unplug it) and try to install the Netgear rangemax from the CD provided, it doesn't detect my ISP connection and tells me there is no connection detected. I returned the Belkin and it still works!

    Is there any obvious thing i am missing here ?? Is there any special way to remove a previous modem to install a new one??

    Thanks in advance for your help and looking forward to see some replies

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    The Netgear rangemax is a router (not a modem) which you should have connected to your modem using the router's WAN port. Have you entered the username and password for your ADSL connection and selected PPPoE?
    You need to setup the same login information on the Netgear that you previously used for the Belkin.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by lenwest View Post
    The Netgear rangemax is a router (not a modem) which you should have connected to your modem using the router's WAN port. Have you entered the username and password for your ADSL connection and selected PPPoE?
    You need to setup the same login information on the Netgear that you previously used for the Belkin.
    It is not the normal RangeMax, it is the RangeMax Next which is a wireless-N modem router.. This is the one i have:
    http://www.trustedreviews.com/networ...NEXT-DG834N/p1

    I don't know why but i don't get any configuration pages, it just tries to detect the internet service and fails..

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    OK. Assuming then that you have DSL service, have you configured the router to use PPPoE (most DSL providers use PPPoE) and entered your username and password (again most DSL connections require these)?
    They can be configured from your routers configuration page. You may need to connect your computer to the modem/router by Cat5 until you get an Internet connection, then configure your wireless settings after that.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by lenwest View Post
    OK. Assuming then that you have DSL service, have you configured the router to use PPPoE (most DSL providers use PPPoE) and entered your username and password (again most DSL connections require these)?
    They can be configured from your routers configuration page. You may need to connect your computer to the modem/router by Cat5 until you get an Internet connection, then configure your wireless settings after that.
    Yeah. AT LAST!! i finally logged in to the web based configuration using the admin/password and configured the connection

    THANKSSS

Similar Threads

  1. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  2. DSL modem and Wireless router in parallel
    By rajanv in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-06, 02:31 PM
  3. Connecting wireless router to broadband modem
    By rmassart in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-06, 07:26 PM
  4. Slow speed with new modem
    By gbiddle in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-06, 05:48 PM
  5. 1 Cable modem and 2 Wireless routers
    By Twisted385 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-05, 12:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •