Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 3rd Party Firmware to boost your routers performance and add features...

  1. #1
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,860

    3rd Party Firmware to boost your routers performance and add features...

    If you have certain models/versions of routers, you may be able to install some 3rd party firwmware which can add features and boost performance of your router, as well as gain some stability.

    Some of the popular routers which these firmwares are available for.....the Linksys wrt54g series, and some Asus and Buffalo Tech routers. Note that you need to be careful of "versions".

    //insert "Use at your own risk" words of caution...you can brick your router with a flash gone bad..and render it useless.

    You can get features such as
    *VPN server
    *Increase your wireless output for increased range
    *VLAN support
    *Increase in bridging and WDS support
    *Traffic charts
    *AP mode, flip role of WAN/Internet port to 5th switch port
    *Overclocking the CPU
    *IDS and antivirus scanning of traffic

    A basic one which has the look and feel of stock Linksys firmware...
    http://www.hyperwrt.org/

    A very popular one which adds quite a few features...
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/index.php

    Another cool one that has a nice looking web admin, traffic charts, etc
    http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato

    This one I believe is relatively new.....and it really captures my interest because it introduces some enterprise like UTM features such as antivirus and Snort intrusion detection features..you'd only find on high end enterprise grade hardware that costs thousands, or on some of the better linux distros such as Endian or IPCop with the Copfilter add-on.
    http://packetprotector.org/

    I'm listing the popular ones up above...DD-WRT, HyperWRT, and the growing Tomato. There are some more openwrt and various projects to be found at these forums at Linksysinfo....
    http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/fo...play.php?f=116
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  2. #2
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,262
    also add the older belkin
    f5d7230-4 v1000 (v1223df), v1010, v1111 'all builds of dd-wrt
    v1444 (microbuilds only)
    F5D7130 (micro dd-wrt builds)
    F5D7330 (micro dd-wrt builds)

    dd-wrt router chart

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

    open wrt route chart

    http://wiki.openwrt.org/TableOfHardw...w&redirect=toh

  3. #3
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I wonder if tomato would work on the version 6 Linksys wrt54G?

  4. #4
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    I wonder if tomato would work on the version 6 Linksys wrt54G?
    Nope.

    This firmware will work on:
    Linksys WRT54G v1-v4,

  5. #5
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,336
    I just got dd-wrt working well on a Linksys WRT300n v1.0. ( = no version # next to name on bottom of router)
    Upgrade was simple:
    1. hard reset the router.
    2. connect by cat5.
    3. login using default Linksys password.
    4. Upload dd-wrt firmware dd-wrt.v24_mini_wrt300n.bin.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  6. #6
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,262
    its awesome aint it. why didnt you use v24 sp2?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    anythign to help out the pitiful range of a Linksys WRT610N dual band?

  8. #8
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,262
    dd-wrt will let you up the power on xmit. as far as receiving. get a high gain antenna

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by morbidpete View Post
    dd-wrt will let you up the power on xmit. as far as receiving. get a high gain antenna
    will it still maintain 5GHz N-band functionality? I was under the impression it was for 2.4GHz G wireless (new to all of this, still absorbing it all)

  10. #10
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,262
    Quote Originally Posted by kethnaab View Post
    will it still maintain 5GHz N-band functionality? I was under the impression it was for 2.4GHz G wireless (new to all of this, still absorbing it all)

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    How do you configure a high gain antenna when all the existing antennas are internal?

  12. #12
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bell County, Tejas
    Posts
    14,351
    I picked up my Dads old WRT54G Router, and put Tomato on it.
    I'm running DD-WRT on my WAP54G.

    I like them both a lot better than the stock Linksys Firmware.
    I am running the WRT as an AP.

    I really like the bandwith/chart on the Tomato FW though.
    http://members.speedguide.net/bala/tomatochart.jpg

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Hi
    Can any of these router improvements monitor the bandwidth per ip or per mac? I have up to 4 homestay students who use my wireless lan and abuse the limit rules. They get 2 gig monthly each but usually deny their overuse. Can I meter their individual use without installing software on their pcs? They come and go so it would be good if charging based on monthly use logs were possible.
    Thanks mate.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Of course it helps to improve the bandwidth, but I tried it on Windows Vista, but it’s not working, Can anyone help?

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Of course it helps to improve the bandwidth, but I tried it on Windows Vista, but it’s not working, Can anyone help?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •