Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Suggestions for Tweak Settings

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6

    Suggestions for Tweak Settings

    Hi guys i'm from Puerto Rico, and i was wondering if someone might help me tweak my settings with TCP Optimizer for my POS broadband connection.

    ISP: Choice Cable TV
    Advertised speed: 2.5mb (does'nt say upload speed)
    Modem: Surfboard SB4100
    Router: Belkin Wireless Pre-N Router Model:F5D8230-4
    Router: Linksys Wireless G Model:WRT54GS
    I've tried both, no significant difference, currently using the Belkin router.

    Let me know if any other info is needed. Thanks in advance.


    SpeedGuide.net TCP/IP Analyzer

    TCP properties for IP =
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405b4

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65535

    Note: TCP 1323 Options need to be enabled for RWIN over 2^16 (65535). Windows 9x might also need the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2621 kbps (328 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1049 kbps (131 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 111 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = OFF
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)


    Tracert Results

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [69.147.114.210]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.2.1
    2 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms catv-1.choicecable.net [***.***.***.***]
    3 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms gi0-2.guynpr1-cr3.centix.net [200.50.14.37]
    4 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms 66.231.160.137
    5 38 ms 38 ms 37 ms gi1-0.miamfl1-br1.centix.net [200.50.19.5]
    6 38 ms 37 ms 50 ms gi0-1.miamfl1-br2.centix.net [200.50.19.2]
    7 37 ms 41 ms 38 ms 64.209.96.189
    8 67 ms 67 ms 72 ms yahoo-4.ar2.dca3.gblx.net [64.208.110.122]
    9 67 ms 68 ms 68 ms ge-2-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.17]
    10 67 ms 68 ms 67 ms 66.196.112.33
    11 66 ms 68 ms 67 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [69.147.114.210]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>



    SpeedGuide Test


  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128480
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, try testing speed at a test server nearer to you, preferably in Central America.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    trogers,
    thanks, used your suggested settings and tried with the server at Dominican Republic wich is the nearest.


  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Check your line quality. Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by trogers View Post
    Check your line quality. Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.
    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [69.147.114.210]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.2.1
    2 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms catv-1.choicecable.net [***.***.***.***]
    3 9 ms 12 ms 10 ms gi0-2.guynpr1-cr3.centix.net [200.50.14.37]
    4 23 ms 9 ms 10 ms 66.231.160.137
    5 36 ms 38 ms 37 ms gi1-0.miamfl1-br1.centix.net [200.50.19.5]
    6 37 ms 37 ms 37 ms gi0-1.miamfl1-br2.centix.net [200.50.19.2]
    7 38 ms 37 ms 37 ms 64.209.96.189
    8 67 ms 67 ms 66 ms yahoo-4.ar2.dca3.gblx.net [64.208.110.122]
    9 70 ms 66 ms 68 ms ge-3-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57]
    10 * 67 ms 71 ms 66.196.112.201
    11 67 ms 67 ms 68 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [69.147.114.210]

    Trace complete.

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do not see any major problem in your tracert. Perhaps the Dominican international gateway was congested.

    Try downloading this Microsoft file and note your file transfer speed after 20% of the file has been downloaded, and multiply the transfer speed by 8 to get broadband speed:

    http://download.microsoft.com/downlo.../W2KSP4_EN.EXE

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Result was 97.7kb/sec @ 20% download.

    Equals to 777.6

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by skat325is View Post
    Result was 97.7kb/sec @ 20% download.

    Equals to 777.6
    Do this test and check out the report under the 'Statistics' and 'More Details' buttons:

    http://nitro.ucsc.edu/

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Hey thats a nice website, cool features.

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    No network congestion discovered.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 141.62 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 9 packets retransmitted, 102 duplicate acks received, and 107 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 1.36%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.54%
    This connection is receiver limited 7.39% of the time.
    This connection is network limited 92.43% of the time.

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [***.***.***.***] but Client says [192.168.2.2]

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by skat325is View Post
    Hey thats a nice website, cool features.

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    No network congestion discovered.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 141.62 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 9 packets retransmitted, 102 duplicate acks received, and 107 SACK blocks received
    The connection was idle 0 seconds (0%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 1.36%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.54%
    This connection is receiver limited 7.39% of the time.
    This connection is network limited 92.43% of the time.

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF

    Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [***.***.***.***] but Client says [192.168.2.2]
    Test indicates that your TCP Window is not set to 128480 as Window Scaling is off.

    As your round trip time to the US is only 142 ms, try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 64240
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, do another TCP Analyzer report to see if your TCP Window has been set to 64240.

    Then, connect your comp to the router by an ethernet cable to check speed. If speed is close to your subscribed speed, cause for slow speed is probably due to a problem in wireless signals.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Alright, i forgot to mention that this is my PC so its been always connected by ethernet to the router, anyway i tried it with the new settings, checked with the Analyzer and TCP Window has been set to 64240. Tried downloading the fle from microsoft again and the speed was 170kb./sec.

    I also tried the last test you sent me, and i'm getting this:

    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.4.12
    click START to begin
    Connected to: nitro.ucsc.edu -- Using IPv4 address
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 456.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 449.01kb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem
    [S2C]: Packet queuing detected

    click START to re-test

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by skat325is View Post
    Result was 97.7kb/sec @ 20% download.

    Equals to 777.6
    Means your download speed is now

    170 KB/s = 1360 kbps.

    Try with TCP Window set to 128480 and Window Scaling checked. See if your download speed can be higher than 200 KB/s.

Similar Threads

  1. help with settings (a lot)
    By cylent in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-06, 03:30 AM
  2. A "Rough" Guide To PC Specs For BF2
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 07:08 PM
  3. TCP Optimizer v.2 - Beta
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 05-23-05, 11:32 AM
  4. lost 32-bit settings after running AVG...
    By purplex in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-05, 08:26 PM
  5. any suggestions on nvidia geforce 5200 settings
    By scrubby709 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-05, 06:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •