Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Slow connection, packet losses problems !!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Slow connection, packet losses problems !!!

    Well i have a cable connection speed are supposed to be 1024/128

    My story goes like this i always had a perfect connection until i recently bought a new computer installed vista... NIC is an intel gigabit integrated in my motherboard
    I uninstalled vista thinking that was causing problems WRONG... installed XP still my connection remains crap..
    My connection download speeds are very unstable sometimes i dont even pass 20kb/s :S
    Im having packet loss problems when i play games online even having a good ping like 85ms i still lag a lot...

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.11.2007 00:01
    IP address: 200.8.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030001010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    http://miranda.ctd.anl.gov:7123/

    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.3.4e
    click START to begin
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 128.26Kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 109.07kb/s
    Warning! Client time-out while reading data, possible duplex mismatch exists
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem
    Information: Other network traffic is congesting the link

    WEB100 Kernel Variables:
    Client: localhost/127.0.0.1
    AckPktsIn: 72
    AckPktsOut: 0
    BytesRetrans: 48180
    CongAvoid: 16
    CongestionOverCount: 0
    CongestionSignals: 8
    CountRTT: 26
    CurCwnd: 4380
    CurMSS: 1460
    CurRTO: 510
    CurRwinRcvd: 64240
    CurRwinSent: 5840
    CurSsthresh: 2920
    DSACKDups: 0
    DataBytesIn: 0
    DataBytesOut: 232140
    DataPktsIn: 0
    DataPktsOut: 159
    DupAcksIn: 22
    ECNEnabled: 0
    FastRetran: 0
    MaxCwnd: 17520
    MaxMSS: 1460
    MaxRTO: 650
    MaxRTT: 380
    MaxRwinRcvd: 64240
    MaxRwinSent: 5840
    MaxSsthresh: 8760
    MinMSS: 1460
    MinRTO: 480
    MinRTT: 130
    MinRwinRcvd: 64240
    MinRwinSent: 5840
    NagleEnabled: 1
    OtherReductions: 1
    PktsIn: 72
    PktsOut: 159
    PktsRetrans: 33
    X_Rcvbuf: 107520
    RcvWinScale: 7
    SACKEnabled: 3
    SACKsRcvd: 18
    SendStall: 0
    SlowStart: 32
    SampleRTT: 260
    SmoothedRTT: 220
    X_Sndbuf: 107520
    SndWinScale: 0
    SndLimTimeRwin: 0
    SndLimTimeCwnd: 12925558
    SndLimTimeSender: 3091
    SndLimTransRwin: 0
    SndLimTransCwnd: 1
    SndLimTransSender: 1
    SndLimBytesRwin: 0
    SndLimBytesCwnd: 232140
    SndLimBytesSender: 0
    SubsequentTimeouts: 1
    SumRTT: 5920
    Timeouts: 7
    TimestampsEnabled: 0
    WinScaleRcvd: 0
    WinScaleSent: 7
    DupAcksOut: 0
    StartTimeUsec: 166950
    Duration: 12937895
    c2sData: 2
    c2sAck: 2
    s2cData: 9
    s2cAck: 2
    half_duplex: 0
    link: 100
    congestion: 1
    bad_cable: 0
    mismatch: 0
    spd: 0.00
    bw: 0.22
    loss: 0.050314465
    avgrtt: 227.69
    waitsec: 3.57
    timesec: 12.00
    order: 0.3056
    rwintime: 0.0000
    sendtime: 0.0002
    cwndtime: 0.9998
    rwin: 0.4901
    swin: 0.8203
    cwin: 0.1337
    rttsec: 0.227692
    Sndbuf: 107520
    aspd: 0.00000

    Checking for mismatch on uplink
    (speed > 50 [0>50], (xmitspeed < 5) [0.12<5]
    (rwintime > .9) [0>.9], (loss < .01) [0.05<.01]
    Checking for excessive errors condition
    (loss/sec > .15) [0.00>.15], (cwndtime > .6) [0.99>.6],
    (loss < .01) [0.05<.01], (MaxSsthresh > 0) [8760>0]
    Checking for 10 Mbps link
    (speed < 9.5) [0<9.5], (speed > 3.0) [0>3.0]
    (xmitspeed < 9.5) [0.12<9.5] (loss < .01) [0.05<.01], (mylink > 0) [3.0>0]
    Checking for Wireless link
    (sendtime = 0) [2.0E=0], (speed < 5) [0<5]
    (Estimate > 50 [0.22>50], (Rwintime > 90) [0>.90]
    (RwinTrans/CwndTrans = 1) [0/1=1], (mylink > 0) [3.0>0]
    Checking for DSL/Cable Modem link
    (speed < 2) [0<2], (SndLimTransSender = 0) [1=0]
    (SendTime = 0) [2.0E-4=0], (mylink > 0) [3.0>0]
    Checking for half-duplex condition
    (rwintime > .95) [0>.95], (RwinTrans/sec > 30) [0>30],
    (SenderTrans/sec > 30) [0.08>30], OR (mylink <= 10) [3.0<=10]
    Checking for congestion
    (cwndtime > .02) [0.99>.02], (mismatch = 0) [0=0]
    (MaxSsthresh > 0) [8760>0]

    estimate = 0.22 based on packet size = 11Kbits, RTT = 227.69msec, and loss = 0.050314465
    The theoretical network limit is 0.22 Mbps
    The NDT server has a 105.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 3.60 Mbps
    Your PC/Workstation has a 62.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 2.15 Mbps
    The network based flow control limits the throughput to 0.58 Mbps

    Client Data reports link is 'T1', Client Acks report link is 'T1'
    Server Data reports link is '10 Gig', Server Acks report link is 'T1'

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Tracing route to yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 24 ms 80 ms 29 ms 10.65.0.1
    2 8 ms * 11 ms ro-ccs-03.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.7]
    3 19 ms 15 ms 10 ms ro-ccs-01.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.3]
    4 69 ms 60 ms 44 ms so-4-1-1-0.miacr4.miami.opentransit.net [193.251
    .249.13]
    5 89 ms 110 ms 44 ms so-0-0-0-0.miacr3.miami.opentransit.net [193.251
    .128.57]
    6 119 ms 121 ms 110 ms so-7-0-0-0.dalcr2.dallas.opentransit.net [193.25
    1.240.185]
    7 76 ms 92 ms 84 ms te10-1.dalse1.dallas.opentransit.net [193.251.24
    1.186]
    8 147 ms 100 ms 68 ms unknown-216-115-102-153.yahoo.com [216.115.102.1
    53]
    9 162 ms 152 ms 111 ms so-1-0-0.pat1.pao.yahoo.com [216.115.101.132]
    10 144 ms 135 ms 134 ms ge-4-0-0-p440.msr1.scd.yahoo.com [216.115.106.20
    1]
    11 129 ms 120 ms 118 ms ten-1-3-bas1.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.82.217]
    12 114 ms 111 ms 124 ms w2.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]

    Trace complete.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Modem signal
    Downstream Value
    Frequency 831000000 Hz Locked
    Signal to Noise Ratio 41 dB
    Power Level 12 dBmV

    Upstream Value
    Channel ID 6
    Frequency 38000000 Hz Ranged
    Power Level 44 dBmV

    My cable modem is a motorola sb5100

    Hope this is enough info i did not want to post all in just one post because it was gonna be a mess

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bl1nd View Post
    Tracing route to yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 24 ms 80 ms 29 ms 10.65.0.1
    2 8 ms * 11 ms ro-ccs-03.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.xxx.xxx]
    3 19 ms 15 ms 10 ms ro-ccs-01.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.3]
    4 69 ms 60 ms 44 ms so-4-1-1-0.miacr4.miami.opentransit.net [193.251.249.13]
    5 89 ms 110 ms 44 ms so-0-0-0-0.miacr3.miami.opentransit.net [193.251.128.57]
    6 119 ms 121 ms 110 ms so-7-0-0-0.dalcr2.dallas.opentransit.net [193.251.240.185]
    7 76 ms 92 ms 84 ms te10-1.dalse1.dallas.opentransit.net [193.251.241.186]
    8 147 ms 100 ms 68 ms unknown-216-115-102-153.yahoo.com [216.115.102.153]
    9 162 ms 152 ms 111 ms so-1-0-0.pat1.pao.yahoo.com [216.115.101.132]
    10 144 ms 135 ms 134 ms ge-4-0-0-p440.msr1.scd.yahoo.com [216.115.106.201]
    11 129 ms 120 ms 118 ms ten-1-3-bas1.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.82.217]
    12 114 ms 111 ms 124 ms w2.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]

    Trace complete.
    High and irregular ping times at your modem in hop 1. Either your modem needs an updated firmware or it is being affected by electromagnetic interference from some nearby electrical devices.

    Downstream Value
    Power Level 12 dBmV

    Downstream power level is too high at 12 dBmV. Ideal is a value of zero. Normal working should be + or - 3 dBmV.

    After checking for the latest firmware and relocating your modem a few feet away from all other electrical device, turn power to your modem off for 10 mins before rebooting it.

    Then check your power signals again to see if you get an improvement. If not, you will need to call your ISP tech in to check your line and set your power levels.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Yeah i noticed that about the first hop... i rellocated my modem and power level went down 1... lol

    Firmware upgrade u think i can do that without screwing my connection on a motorola sb5100?

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bl1nd View Post
    Yeah i noticed that about the first hop... i rellocated my modem and power level went down 1... lol

    Firmware upgrade u think i can do that without screwing my connection on a motorola sb5100?
    Usually, your ISP will upgrade the firmware of your modem automatically through the connection line. This is one of the purpose of powering down your modem and rebooting.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    When ping times of your modem are lowered and regular (est. at <10ms), try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 32120
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    okay so i powered down my modem for 10 mins and now my tracert changed

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [216.109.112.135]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 9 ms 28 ms 10.65.0.1
    2 8 ms 9 ms * ro-ccs-03.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.7]
    3 9 ms 8 ms 7 ms ro-ccs-02.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.4]
    4 49 ms 49 ms 71 ms so-1-1-3.ar2.mia1.gblx.net [67.17.161.177]
    5 270 ms 69 ms 104 ms te9-1-10g.ar2.dca3.gblx.net [67.17.108.17]
    6 97 ms 114 ms 97 ms yahoo-4.ar2.dca3.gblx.net [64.208.110.122]
    7 98 ms 99 ms 87 ms ge-1-0-0-p100.msr1.dcn.yahoo.com [216.115.108.41
    ]
    8 122 ms 108 ms 89 ms ge10-2.bas1-m.dcn.yahoo.com [216.109.120.203]
    9 89 ms 86 ms 92 ms w2.rc.vip.dcn.yahoo.com [216.109.112.135]

    Trace complete.

  9. #9
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bl1nd View Post
    okay so i powered down my modem for 10 mins and now my tracert changed

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [216.109.112.135]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 9 ms 28 ms 10.65.0.1
    2 8 ms 9 ms * ro-ccs-03.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.7]
    3 9 ms 8 ms 7 ms ro-ccs-02.ro.intercable.net.ve [200.75.113.4]
    4 49 ms 49 ms 71 ms so-1-1-3.ar2.mia1.gblx.net [67.17.161.177]
    Ping times at hop 1 are better though not ideal (eg. 9 ms for all). Both tracerts show an '*' in one of the ping times at hop 2. Check to see if you have any loose connections or wiring between modem and wall socket.

    When you lower your RWIN to 32120, does your test shows the following?
    Your PC/Workstation has a 31.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 1.05 Mbps
    The network based flow control limits the throughput to 0.58 Mbps
    The 'network based flow control' means the network of your ISP. If this limits your throughput to lower than 1.05 mbps, it means high traffic in your ISP's network is slowing everyone down and you will not be able to achieve 90% of your subscribed speed even though you have adjusted your PC buffer to achieve the necessary throughput.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    The theoretical network limit is 0.27 Mbps
    The NDT server has a 105.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 4.41 Mbps
    Your PC/Workstation has a 31.0 KByte buffer which limits the throughput to 1.31 Mbps
    The network based flow control limits the throughput to 0.47 Mbps

    SO i have no solution i think im going to change to DSL...

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    i keep getting high ping in the first hop... i just did a tracert and got 71ms in one hope what can i do to solve that?

  12. #12
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    run pingplotter from www.pingplotter.com and let it hit a few locations for a while then call them when you see that one certain hop always shows packetloss.. they can't ignore the facts

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    But what about first hop thats the thing that worries me... maybe the cables in my house are bad or the modem is bad

  14. #14
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bl1nd View Post
    But what about first hop thats the thing that worries me... maybe the cables in my house are bad or the modem is bad
    Checks on power levels and making sure the modem is not placed near to other electrical devices will give you a degree of assurance that the modem is not bad.

    Another possible cause for spikes in ping times is the presence of spyware/malware.

    Have you go into Windows 'Safe Mode' to scan and remove spyware/malware? If not, search Google for SpyBot and Lavasoft Ad-Aware, download and update them to scan your comp.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Well i made a call to my ISP i explained everything and still they say everything seems to be ok and that they cant send a tech because everything looks regular...

    I dont know what the heck i can do about this it doesnt matter the hour i download 11kb/s

    Let me try that last thing i have ran a thousand tests for spyware

  16. #16
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by bl1nd View Post
    Well i made a call to my ISP i explained everything and still they say everything seems to be ok and that they cant send a tech because everything looks regular...

    I dont know what the heck i can do about this it doesnt matter the hour i download 11kb/s

    Let me try that last thing i have ran a thousand tests for spyware
    Try scanning with a-Squared Free:

    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free/

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    done nothing my pc is clear still my connection is utter crap :S well im just screwed... i guess the only solution is change ISP to DSL....

    Can u believe they refused to send me a technician? and the guy had no solution for my problems... in a few words they told me i should cancel the service or live with it

    and told them about the first hop high pings and if they can change my modem because i think there is a problem with it and they said no we cant change it, it looks normal

    My fault for living in a goddamn third world country

Similar Threads

  1. having problem with my connection (packet losses)
    By danterz in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-07, 11:56 AM
  2. Abnormally Slow Connection Speed
    By Varian in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-06, 06:26 PM
  3. Limited network connection & Excessive packet loss problem
    By tlbray in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-06, 12:32 AM
  4. older pc win95 Please help review my tweaks
    By 5MpstweakR in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 06-25-05, 05:09 AM
  5. My connection is much slow after tweak
    By josse81 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-26-05, 06:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •