Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Raid 1 Recovery Issues

  1. #1
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    633

    Raid 1 Recovery Issues

    I was helping someone yesterday who had a RAID 1 Mirroring issue. I know a bit about RAID, but am no expert.

    A. At first his PC would not boot, said something like please insert a boot device and reboot.

    B. I opened it and reseated both HDD's power & SATA cables.

    C. Now on boot, we got the RAID Configuration and went into the Configuration Progam, INTEL. It showed the array volume and said it was DEGRADED. It showed 1 HDD as NORMAL and the other with ERRORS. We called the tech who built his computer and setup his RAID. He told us just buy a replacement HDD and then we should be able to repair the array, with the replacement HDD.

    D. Got the replacement HDD, installed it. Now in the RAID Configuration Utility it showed the original RAID Volume, 1 HDD as NORMAL the other as MISSING. It also showed a non-RAID HDD, (the new one we put in). HEre's the kicker. There was no menu option available to put this new HDD into the Volume and repair the array. Our choices were:
    1. CREATE RAID VOLUME. This was not viable as it was to make an entire new array and said there were not enough disks.

    2. DELETE RAID VOLUME. This option said it would destroy all the data on the existing drives, not an option to be taken at this point.

    3. REVERT TO NON-RAID DISKS. This option also sais it would destroy all the data on the existing drives.

    4. EXIT - just exited the RAID Configuration Utility and we get the unable to boot screen.

    There seemed to be no options to repair the array using the new HDD. So it seems to me, the whole point of having RAID 1 Mirroring, for system redundancy was pointless.

    Any ideas? I have never seen RAID be an easy way to get your backup data except on a server with RAID-5 and hot-swapple HDD's, where I did see a drive be rebuilt after installing the replacement. But on a 2 drive, mirrored array, it doesn't seem to work as advertised.

  2. #2
    put back the old one that was bad, boot back up into controller, and might be an option for set drive to be replaced or something like that, then it should tell you ok to replace

    i never worked on Intel specific Raid before but i seen other raid cards set that way

  3. #3
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    633
    There wasn't any option like that, when we had it in.

  4. #4
    Freedom Fighter jeremyboycool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,989
    http://www.intel.com/support/chipset.../CS-021014.htm

    Intel® Matrix Storage Manager
    Degraded or failed RAID 1 Volume

    I don't know what configuration program your using intel has more than one.

    http://www.intel.com/support/motherb.../cs-020811.htm
    "The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge." - Stephen Hawking

  5. #5
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    633
    Thanks for the links, a lot of good info. In this case though, it's not working as described. It indicates it should still be booting to the good drive and isn't.

  6. #6
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,408
    That new drive you bought, did it come pre-formated? If it did get a Partition magic disk and delete the partition then go back into the RAID BIOS to see if it will give you the option tovrebuild the RAID partition.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

Similar Threads

  1. RAID 0,1 possible with two 250gb and one 500gb?
    By lieiti in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-07, 10:16 PM
  2. XP Services?
    By mandm6 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: 06-21-06, 12:54 AM
  3. SATA RAID question
    By bartjones in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-06, 10:20 AM
  4. GamePC: Serious Serial ATA-II RAID with AMCC’s 3Ware 9550SX-8LP
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-05, 07:38 AM
  5. Software SATA RAID 0 in Linux
    By Blisster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-27-05, 08:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •