Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Remote Desktop into a LAN with multiple PC's

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Remote Desktop into a LAN with multiple PC's

    Hi Guys,

    I wonder if anyone could help me clarify some Remote Desktop connections queries I have.

    I have 3 PCS with XP Pro on my network

    Internet
    |
    ADLS Modem/Router (internal IP 192.168.1.1)
    | | |
    PC1 PC2 PC3


    So I have port forwarded 3389 for PC1 (192.168.1.2) and PC2 (192.168.1.3), but my query is when I remote desktop how can I choose what PC to login? read somewhere that PC2 should have another porforwarded (3399?) but then how would I remote desktop into 3399?

    This is very confusing. I have no problem remote desktop(ing) into a single pc setup (1modem 1PC that's it) It's just when you have more than one PC I am very very confused.

    I hope all this makes sense.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,867
    If you want to RD into 3x different PCs on a LAN behind the same router..you have a couple of choices..

    Get a router that supports a direct VPN connection to it..so you can connect to the router..and be given access to the entire LAN.

    Or...do what you're attempting...open/forward ports on the routers firewall. However..you can only forward a port to a single LAN IP address...so port 3389 can only go to 1x PC. If you want another PC to be made available through the NAT..you'll have to change the default port..something like 3390 or 3391.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306759

    And..from the remote PC...you add a colon ( : ) to the IP address..followed by the custom port.
    Example say you WAN IP address is 64.63.62.61...from your house..you'd type this into the RDC>..
    64.63.62.61:3391
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks you're a legend, cleared that right up

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    112
    or you could set your router to foward ports this way

    Outside port 3389 to inside port 3389 192.168.1.100
    Outside port 3300 to inside port 3389 192.168.1.101
    Outside port 3001 to inside port 3389 192.168.1.102

    Most home routers support port redirection from a outside port, to a diff inside port.

Similar Threads

  1. PcAnywhere and Remote Desktop issues
    By Gort9k in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-27-06, 02:06 PM
  2. Urgent....PC's Generating Extra Traffic on LAN
    By kashi_mughal in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-05, 04:30 AM
  3. Service Pack 1 killed my remote desktop access in Win2K3.
    By RoundEye in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-05, 09:58 AM
  4. Remote Desktop Issue
    By chugger93 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-26-05, 08:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •