Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please new to dsl and already having problem

Please new to dsl and already having problem

OK just a heads up its SBC yahoo and it says 1.5 mbps

Ok yes im new to all this but im not a idiot. There are filters on all phone jacks and the two satelite recievers ($22 extra bucks for two more filters). Anyways since ive had it i cant stay connected for a full day! It will disconnect at least 5-6 a day AND evening. So me and the sbc techies have been the best of friends as of late!

They try and run signal strength remotely to my house but they say the networks busy and cant test it

So today while im at school a tech guy is coming to my home outside not in. (an extra $60 i shouldnt have to spend

And i need any advice you all can give
    Cause you dont wanna see a midget angery! (hints the name)!

Please

Make sure you did not put a filter between the comp and the modem and between the modem and the splitter.

Also ensure there are no cordless phone nearby your modem. Use a line phone if one is needed.

There is none the closest cordless phone is in the living room about 20ft. away. and i only put filters on the phones and satelitte recievers.
    Any other ideas?

Post a TCP Analyzer report and do a tracert to www.yahoo.com.

Ok im a little dumb how the hell do you do that?

The link to TCP Analyzer is at the bottom left of the main page of this website. Click on the link and the report will be displayed.

To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

tracert www.yahoo.com

and press enter key

When test is completed, move mouse cusor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.

Ok i will when i get home. And what will this actually accomplish?

and i have to computers one with vista and one with 200pro. Does it matter which one i use?