Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: sg tcp optimizer settings help

  1. #1

    Question sg tcp optimizer settings help

    would you folks, look over my settings an give me
    some advice.please

    bellsouth dsl PPPoE 6mbps/512kbps
    win xp

    before changing
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.18.2007 11:35

    TCP options string: 0204055001010402
    MSS: 1360
    MTU: 1400
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 65280, 130560, 261120, 522240
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 115
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    after sg tcp optimizer optimal settings

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.18.2007 12:55
    TCP options string: 020405800103030201010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 259200 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 64800
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 10368kbps (1296KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4147kbps (518KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    according to this
    You also have the option to type a a custom MTU value (that will be used to recommend RWIN). Generally, MTU can safely be set at 1500, however some types of connections, and some routers use smaller values. It is only necessary to edit the MTU value in such special cases. For example, the maximum MTU value for Windows XP PPPoE encapsulation is 1480 (even though other PPPoE implementations can use as high as 1492).

    i set the mtu to 1480 in sg tcp optimizer optimal settings
    but the
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    show it at MTU: 1448
    why is it different?

    speakeasy
    before after
    4020/434 atl 4034/429
    2739/433 ny 2738/426
    3263/432 la 3333/428

    i have a BS netopia 224in-vgx modem
    in ie i can type an ip into address an pull up modem
    in expert mode / conf/ statistics

    DSL Statistics

    Line State Up
    Modulation DMT
    Data Path Interleave

    Downstream Upstream
    Max Allowed Speed (kbps) 4896 512
    SN Margin (dB) 9.00 15.00
    Line Attenuation (dB) 31.00 18.00
    CRC Errors 7296 62

    what does tell me?

    Robert

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    If you have a router, log into your router setup and ensure MTU is set to 1492 and reboot your router to take effect.

    Then, try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 127776
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  3. #3
    hey trogers
    no i do not have a router

    here are the results after changing to your settings


    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.19.2007 17:13
    TCP options string: 020405800103030101010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 127776 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 5111kbps (639KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2044kbps (256KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try using WinSockFix at this link and reboot comp.

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/N...nSockFix.shtml

    Then the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - leave blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, post a new TCP Analyzer report.

  5. #5
    hey trogers
    ok, did WinSockFix and reboot comp.

    then new sg settings an reboot



    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.19.2007 21:11
    TCP options string: 0204058001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Robert

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Looks like your MTU is still fixed at 1448.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1448
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 129536
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  7. #7
    trogers ,thanks for your help

    what do you think is keeping the MTU fixed at 1448 ?

    new settings applied
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.19.2007 21:52
    TCP options string: 020405800103030101010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 129536 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 64768
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 5181kbps (648KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2073kbps (259KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    My guess is your BS netopia 224in-vgx modem. Check the MTU (or MRU) in its setup.

  9. #9
    ill have to do some research on modem.

    this maybee a useless tidbit of info , but

    bs has a dsl speed optimization tool
    with link on speedtest page

    http://speed.fastaccess.com/

    bs optimum settings
    rwin 13068? maybee another digit missing
    mtu 1400
    mss 1360

    shows my current settings
    rwin N/A
    mtu 1448
    mss 1360

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by supercoop View Post
    ill have to do some research on modem.

    this maybee a useless tidbit of info , but

    bs has a dsl speed optimization tool
    with link on speedtest page

    http://speed.fastaccess.com/

    bs optimum settings
    rwin 13068? maybee another digit missing
    mtu 1400
    mss 1360

    shows my current settings
    rwin N/A
    mtu 1448
    mss 1360
    MTU set at 1400 will not give you max. download speed but it will give you zippier data packets (for gaming). This is because your MSS will only be 1360 against an overhead of 40 compared with MSS of 1452 with the same overhead of 40.

    If you like to set MTU to 1400, use the following with TCP Optimizer. RWIN should be 130560 as recommended by TCP Analyzer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1400
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 130560
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  12. #12
    trogers
    I recently switched from charter cable to bellsouth dsl
    on phone line.with a new computer.
    i was having trouble with my connection going down
    intermittenly, at certain times of the day, up\ down every 60 sec. BS sent me another modem. an the new modem
    worked for awhile then started acting up to.
    then i realized
    when the bs installer came out . the wife failed to tell him
    that the kids had a phone plugged in.
    in their room. guess whats missing Duh ! the dsl filter....
    i unplugged the phone an the connection immediately
    started working.the installer put filters on the main cordless phone in living room.
    and on the phone jack for modem about 10ft from pc. but he didnt have a a phone cord that would reach the pc.
    he checked the connection with his laptop . an left us with
    no internet connection . great instalation job?
    off to home depot i go. i picked up a 20' phone line extension cord with the filter an modem plugged into it at pc.
    since then the connection has been working maybe 99% of the time it will drop an come right back up. i dont know
    if its a loose connection or a bs problem. the connections look tight.
    i started reading bs help support an found
    bs has a dsl speed optimization tool
    with link on speedtest page
    http://speed.fastaccess.com/
    bs optimum settings
    rwin 13068? maybee another digit missing
    mtu 1400
    mss 1360
    i ran their test an it showed my settings were different
    an it promted to change them click
    what did it just change in my registry?
    googled rwin an here i am ...
    thanks for walking me thru this step by step
    i think im getting close to optimized

  13. #13
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Thanks for sharing with us. Sometimes we become so engrossed with tweaking the comp and with the many new and powerful signal hardware coming into the market, we forget to go back to the basic - a good and solid line quality.

    Have a read through the other sections of our forum like security and networking. It won't be long that you may want to consider double NAT to create a secure zone to isolate some comps that are used strictly for financial and business transactions.

  14. #14
    hey trogers
    my internet connection has been up an down like a yoyo
    but i may have just found the problem!
    i think there was a loose connection were the red dsl phone cable, plugs into the inline filter.
    i swapped out the cable an the connection has ben up solid, the past hour. ill keep my fingers an toes crossed..

    i found some documentaion on modem
    im still trying to figure out whats keeping the mtu fixed at 1448 im still looking for the MTU (or MRU) in its setup
    http://www.netopia.com/support/hardware/2241.html

    http://www.netopia.com/support/hardw...s/NIR_067.html

    Robert

  15. #15
    hey trogers
    the mru is set at 1492 in modem
    i had to view the configuration with telnet

    set ppp module [vccn] mru integer
    Specifies the Maximum Receive Unit (MRU) for the PPP interface. The integer argument
    can be any number between 128 and 1492 for PPPoE; 1500 otherwise

  16. #16
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by supercoop View Post
    hey trogers
    the mru is set at 1492 in modem
    i had to view the configuration with telnet

    set ppp module [vccn] mru integer
    Specifies the Maximum Receive Unit (MRU) for the PPP interface. The integer argument
    can be any number between 128 and 1492 for PPPoE; 1500 otherwise
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer to see if your MTU can be maximized:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - leave blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  17. #17
    i tryed these settings but could not get this forum ,or tcp analyzer, an bs home page to load.
    hanging, web site found waiting for reply
    had to revert back to , backup settings

  18. #18
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Maybe the previous setting did make your MTU to 1500 and in a PPPoE line, you get fragmentation. Try the following:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 127776
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  19. #19
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.23.2007 22:53

    TCP options string: 020405800103030101010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 127776 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 5111kbps (639KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2044kbps (256KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  20. #20
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by supercoop View Post
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.23.2007 22:53

    TCP options string: 020405800103030101010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 127776 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 5111kbps (639KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2044kbps (256KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Looks like the previous settings with MTU at 1400 with RWIN at 130560 would be better.

Similar Threads

  1. Could use some help with TCP Optimizer settings
    By Sushi_x47 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-05-12, 04:18 AM
  2. Need Help with TCP Optimizer (Windows 2000)
    By OldSalt35 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-06, 12:35 PM
  3. Help w/ TCP Optimizer settings
    By Indoobidubly in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-06, 12:26 AM
  4. Uploads faster then downloads
    By mailman30 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 02-23-06, 10:03 PM
  5. A "Rough" Guide To PC Specs For BF2
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 06:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •