Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Just got Optimum Boost 30/5 - Are these settings any good?

  1. #1

    Question Just got Optimum Boost 30/5 - Are these settings any good?

    Hello all,

    First time posting here. I just upgraded to OOL Boost. I am not sure if my settings are correct to give me the most out of this service.

    I ran the SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer and got the following results:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.17.2007 15:34

    TCP options string: 0204058c01010402
    MSS: 1420
    MTU: 1460
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 65320, 130640, 261280, 522560
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 112
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Are there any recommended setting to achieve better performance based upon the above results?

    Some Specs:
    Cable Modem: SA DPX2203
    Router: Netgear WNR854T
    Ethernet Adapter: Intel(R) Pro/1000 CT Network Connection
    OS: WinXP SP-2

    Really appreciate your assistance!
    Last edited by SlickVic78; 02-18-07 at 12:27 AM.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Log into your router setup and ensure MTU is set to 1500 and reboot your router to take effect.

    Then, try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 513920
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  3. #3
    Hi trogers,

    Thanks for the reply. I checked to make sure the MTU on my router was set to 1500. It was. I then used the information you suggested with TCP Optimizer and ran another TCP Analyzer (after reboot):

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.18.2007 01:39

    TCP options string: 0204058c0103030301010402
    MSS: 1420
    MTU: 1460
    TCP Window: 514080 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3
    Unscaled RWIN : 64260
    Reccomended RWINs: 65320, 130640, 261280, 522560
    BDP limit (200ms): 20563kbps (2570KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8225kbps (1028KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Am I supposed to be seeing the settings used in TCP Optimizer show up within the Analyzer? If so, I am not sure why they aren't appearing after running the Analyzer. I went back into TCP Optimizer and the settings were what I defined from your suggestions. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Seems your MTU is limited at 1460.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer to make RWIN an even multiple of MSS:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1460
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 522560
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

  5. #5
    Hi trogers,

    I did what you suggested:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.18.2007 13:14

    TCP options string: 0204058c0103030301010402
    MSS: 1420
    MTU: 1460
    TCP Window: 523600 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3
    Unscaled RWIN : 65450
    Reccomended RWINs: 65320, 130640, 261280, 522560
    BDP limit (200ms): 20944kbps (2618KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8378kbps (1047KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Why would I be limited to only 1460 MTU? Would this be an OS issue? Should I restore back to windows default settings?

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by SlickVic78 View Post
    Hi trogers,

    I did what you suggested:



    Why would I be limited to only 1460 MTU? Would this be an OS issue? Should I restore back to windows default settings?
    We have tried setting MTU to 1500 in your router and also your Windows registry but it is stuck at 1460.

    Your MTU could be limited by some previous traffic shaper program you have installed or by your ISP.

    Your TCP Window (RWIN) is still not 522560. Run the TCP Optimizer again using the custom setting given.

  7. #7
    Hi trogers,

    There have been no other traffic shaping programs ever used on this machine. Must be my Router or ISP then, since I have used all the custom settings you provided.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Is your RWIN set to 522560? How is your speed now?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17

    Any Suggestions For Me?

    Roadrunner speed paying for 7 Mbps/sec download/512K upload

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 513920
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits (scale factor of 6)
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 64240

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8) <-- current value
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 20557 kbps (2570 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 8223 kbps (1028 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 50 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    --------
    Tracert Results:
    1 6 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 8 ms 6 ms 7 ms 10.57.64.1
    3 8 ms 5 ms 5 ms GIG3-3.BKFDCA1-GSR1.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.18]
    4 12 ms 12 ms 19 ms cpe-24-161-192-77.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.77]
    5 15 ms 19 ms 15 ms ae-3-0.cr0.lax00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.66]
    6 28 ms 24 ms 24 ms 66.109.6.6
    7 27 ms 23 ms 23 ms ae-0-0.pr0.sjc20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.139]
    8 25 ms 23 ms 23 ms 66.109.9.173
    9 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms g-1-0-0-p141.msr1.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.55]

    10 75 ms 25 ms 23 ms te-9-1.bas-a1.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.23]
    11 27 ms 28 ms 22 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]




    Connection is up and down

    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.4.12
    click START to begin
    Connected to: nitro.ucsc.edu -- Using IPv4 address
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 491.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 6.85Mb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem
    Information: Other network traffic is congesting the link

    Have 2 other PC's on network, Not while testing though, also 1 wireless
    WRH54G Linksys Wireless-G Home Router
    mellowbudz@bak.rr.com
    Last edited by MellowBudz; 02-15-08 at 03:02 AM.
    MellowMan

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by MellowBudz View Post
    Roadrunner speed paying for 7 Mbps/sec download/512K upload
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 128480 or 256960
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    WoW that what i call service lol
    Will apply settings and repost.. Thank You
    MellowMan

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.15.2008 04:20
    IP address: 75.85.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030101010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 128480 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 5139kbps (642KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2056kbps (257KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    still has a latency problem
    MellowMan

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    Tried Both Settings Also
    MellowMan

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.4.12
    click START to begin
    Connected to: nitro.ucsc.edu -- Using IPv4 address
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 492.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 6.80Mb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem
    MellowMan

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    1 6 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 34 ms 5 ms 6 ms 10.57.64.1
    3 5 ms 6 ms 9 ms GIG3-3.BKFDCA1-GSR1.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.18]
    4 14 ms 10 ms 10 ms cpe-24-161-192-77.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.77]
    5 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms ae-3-0.cr0.lax00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.66]
    6 23 ms 23 ms 23 ms 66.109.6.6
    7 24 ms 24 ms 25 ms ae-0-0.pr0.sjc20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.139]
    8 24 ms 25 ms 21 ms 66.109.9.177
    9 25 ms 23 ms 24 ms g-0-0-0-p151.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.75]

    10 27 ms 26 ms 23 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    11 23 ms 23 ms 25 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.
    MellowMan

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17


    I know i can get more out of this without having to purchase the next package they have available
    MellowMan

  17. #17
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Uneven ping times at your router and modem in hop 1 and 2.

    Make sure both are placed a few feet apart from each other and from ALL ther electrical devices.

    If your comp is on a wireless connection, watch out for interference over the air from other wireless devices.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    Router & Modem are right next to each other hanging on the wall, guess that was a bad idea lol... this looks way better though...

    MellowMan

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    1 4 ms 2 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 9 ms 5 ms 7 ms 10.57.64.1
    3 6 ms 7 ms 6 ms GIG3-3.BKFDCA1-GSR1.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.18]
    4 12 ms 11 ms 16 ms cpe-24-161-192-77.bak.rr.com [24.161.192.77]
    5 17 ms 16 ms 17 ms ae-3-0.cr0.lax00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.66]
    6 23 ms 21 ms 21 ms 66.109.6.6
    7 23 ms 23 ms 24 ms ae-0-0.pr0.sjc20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.139]
    8 24 ms 25 ms 23 ms 66.109.9.177
    9 26 ms 27 ms 24 ms g-0-0-0-p151.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.75]

    10 24 ms 26 ms 23 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.19]
    11 24 ms 26 ms 26 ms f1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.158]

    Trace complete.
    MellowMan

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    17
    TCP/Web100 Network Diagnostic Tool v5.4.12
    click START to begin
    Connected to: nitro.ucsc.edu -- Using IPv4 address
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 492.0kb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 6.90Mb/s
    Your PC is connected to a Cable/DSL modem
    Information: Other network traffic is congesting the link
    MellowMan

Similar Threads

  1. help with settings (a lot)
    By cylent in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-06, 02:30 AM
  2. some good settings?
    By syknesss in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-24-05, 07:59 PM
  3. The good, the bad, and the ugly...
    By DaddyLongLeg in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-01-05, 03:04 PM
  4. Good settings for 5000/256?
    By TrevGlas in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-05, 11:30 PM
  5. A "Rough" Guide To PC Specs For BF2
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 06:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •