Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: hughesnet and port forwarding

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    Angry hughesnet and port forwarding

    I have a hughesnet 7000 and a dlink 524 router. I finally have the router and hughesnet working together. I need the instructions to get port forward working.

    I have set up an account with a dns service..

    when I type in the dns address all I get is the hughesnet modem, instead of the device that I need. Any step by step instructions will be helpful. Thanks in advance.

    I am port forwarding to 192.168.1.10

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Port forwarding is usually independent of the ISP. Go to this site that guides you to port forward your Brand and Model of router with a wide range of software:

    http://www.portforward.com/

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2
    Went to multiple sites for instructions and I now have a static IP from hughsnet.
    72.xxx.xxx.185
    255.255.255.252

    dlink router di524

    outside address static
    72.xxx.xxx.186
    255.255.255.252
    gateway 72.xxx.xxx.185

    inside address
    192.168.1.1

    dvr port forward to 192.168.1.10 ports 5000 and 5001

    I can ping 72.xxx.xxx.185

    still cannot connect to dvr. Am I missing anything.
    Last edited by beggsr; 02-17-07 at 09:37 PM. Reason: forgot words

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by beggsr View Post
    Went to multiple sites for instructions and I now have a static IP from hughsnet.
    72.xxx.xxx.185
    255.255.255.252

    dlink router di524

    outside address static
    72.xxx.xxx.186
    255.255.255.252
    gateway 72.xxx.xxx.185

    inside address
    192.168.1.1


    dvr port forward to 192.168.1.10 ports 5000 and 5001


    I can ping 72.xxx.xxx.185

    still cannot connect to dvr. Am I missing anything.
    Imagine you are setting up a LAN with your DLink as a DHCP server dispensing LAN IP to multiple devices.

    The DLink is where you need to punch holes through to get to the WAN side, thus port forwarding the DLink.

    You need to set a static LAN IP address of 192.168.1.10 to your comp so that the DLink can deliver data packets through these ports to the static LAN IP address:

    http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    As already mentioned... You have to forward ports 5000 and 5001 on your DLink router to the internal static IP of your DVR (192.168.1.10 ?). Once you do, you should be able to reach your DVR using your external IP address:
    72.xxx.xxx.186:5000 ?

    If the above works, you've set the router correctly. Note that if you are using some type of free dynamic DNS for a hostname, they may not be forwarding all ports. Make sure the IP works first.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •