Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 43

Thread: Vista Aero?

  1. #1
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413

    Vista Aero?

    What is it and what does it do? Were is it on my computer?
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  2. #2
    Mental Metal Minister Jamie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    10,452
    quote from article 'Cat posted:

    One of the major new features in Vista is the GPU-accelerated Aero Glass interface. In order to enable Aero Glass, your system must be equipped with a DirectX 9 class graphics card and Aero Glass ready drivers. While this new interface is certainly attractive, it does take up quite a lot of system resources. When Aero Glass is enabled, a file called DWM.exe (Desktop Window Manager) is loaded, which occupies anywhere from 40-70 MB of system memory, depending on how many Windows are open on-screen.
    .

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  3. #3
    The interface/theme/desktop?


    Ya, so got a copy of home premium free.....installed it....dual booting with XP ....it looks cool...the UAC is annoying but I can see where turning it off defeats the purpose but still....not sure what services i can stop yet without crashing but I hit the task manager right after install and i had 44 running processes...

  4. #4
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    It makes things look prettier in Vista. There's some function too, but you get that without Aero. I like it..shrug.

  5. #5
    Mental Metal Minister Jamie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    10,452
    yeah, I figure if you have the hardware to run it, why not ...
    .

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie_R View Post
    yeah, I figure if you have the hardware to run it, why not ...
    The sidebar widgets seem cool but ....can't wait to see what happens when I try and play some of my illegally downloaded music

  7. #7
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    Quote Originally Posted by Izzo View Post
    The sidebar widgets seem cool but ....can't wait to see what happens when I try and play some of my illegally downloaded music
    i imagine nothing will happen (it'll probably play the music)

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Amro View Post
    i imagine nothing will happen (it'll probably play the music)

    ya, I read somewhere that it might have issues.....basically it just defaulted to DVD quality (16bit) playback....a couple of adjustments and

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    right now with my Audigy card I feel like i'm listening to a 1980's FM radio.. the sound sucks so bad..thats the only thing I hate about Vista right now and the fact that Creative can't get something out to make it work with Vista

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,248
    Guys,
    I was not following all the Vista threads but if I wanna capture some video stream from my receiver it wont let me ?
    What is the deal here.Is it going to force me install Windows drivers ?


    Thanks
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  12. #12
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052




  13. #13
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Ya angling those windows is sooo helpful lol

  14. #14
    Mental Metal Minister Jamie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    10,452
    Quote Originally Posted by Amro View Post
    i imagine nothing will happen (it'll probably play the music)


    (yes, I reloaded Vista and so far I'm lovin' it )
    .

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  15. #15
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,980
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    right now with my Audigy card I feel like i'm listening to a 1980's FM radio.. the sound sucks so bad..thats the only thing I hate about Vista right now and the fact that Creative can't get something out to make it work with Vista
    http://forums.creative.com/creativel...essage.id=5009

    http://forums.creative.com/creativel...essage.id=5000

    http://forums.creative.com/creativel...board.id=Vista

  16. #16
    I've had no issues with my X-fi so far and EAX is not greyed out.

  17. #17
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post



    Yes thats what im looking to do, how do you enable it?
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by KINGoFOOLS View Post
    Yes thats what im looking to do, how do you enable it?
    Windows key + tab

  19. #19
    Regular Member KINGoFOOLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    413
    Didnt work
    AMD X2 4800+ AC freezer pro 64 cooler, ASUS A8N prem. 2G OCZ platinum PC3200, eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, 37G SATA Raptor, OCZ 700W PSU.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by KINGoFOOLS View Post
    Didnt work


    Hmmm....works for me.

Similar Threads

  1. GamePC: Windows Vista : Frequently Asked Questions - Answered
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-07, 12:30 PM
  2. Microsoft Update Windows Vista Homepage
    By hayc59 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 04:21 PM
  3. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 02:57 PM
  4. Windows Vista RC1 Released
    By Joel in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 09-13-06, 09:17 PM
  5. Windows Vista
    By thechemgeek in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-05, 05:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •