Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Tweaks for Vista

  1. #1
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052

    Tweaks for Vista

    Before I dive in and load it on my big rig this weekend what tweaks are available to use. I know some of yall have it already so ya might know.
    Also does the TCPOptimizer work on it? Does the webpatch work on it as well to open those concurrent connections? Something exist like TuneXP for it?

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Most likely the TCPOptimizer won't work, the TCP/IP stack has changed and Vista uses IPv6 which is what things are progressing towards. Vista has a self tuning TCP/IP stack as XP does but it is supposedly improved.


  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by bhamblin View Post
    thanks.. anything specific I need to do right off the bat? Does your sound card work ok? Cause I haven't found a beta driver for my audigy Z2 card that supports DirectSound and for EAX stuff.

  5. #5
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by mnosteele52 View Post
    Most likely the TCPOptimizer won't work, the TCP/IP stack has changed and Vista uses IPv6 which is what things are progressing towards. Vista has a self tuning TCP/IP stack as XP does but it is supposedly improved.

    ok thx

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,982
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    thanks.. anything specific I need to do right off the bat? Does your sound card work ok? Cause I haven't found a beta driver for my audigy Z2 card that supports DirectSound and for EAX stuff.
    You wont, you need an X-Fi to get EAX.

  7. #7
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    You wont, you need an X-Fi to get EAX.
    umm ok but that wasn't the point.. even X-fi drivers have no support for EAX yet.

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,982
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    umm ok but that wasn't the point.. even X-fi drivers have no support for EAX yet.
    http://pc.ign.com/articles/759/759538p1.html

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    yeah I read that.. but they are supposed to be releasing a driver that will fix that..so not sure thats why I asked.

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,982
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    yeah I read that.. but they are supposed to be releasing a driver that will fix that..so not sure thats why I asked.
    It'll be fixed for their cards that support OpenAL, and thats X-Fi only I believe

  11. #11
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    It'll be fixed for their cards that support OpenAL, and thats X-Fi only I believe
    I think with this issue..its a matter of time before ALchemy is released for the other cards ..right now they are only testing with the X-Fi but this might push me to go ahead and upgrade to the X-Fi card anyway.

    http://preview.creativelabs.com/alchemy/default.aspx

Similar Threads

  1. Tweaks Causing Timeouts on Netgear FWG114P, Win2K, WinXP - What's Happening?
    By singularity2006 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-10-09, 02:58 AM
  2. Windows Vista Tweaks / TCP Optimizer
    By phatoneusa in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-17-09, 04:53 PM
  3. Applied tweaks, now comp acting like a "tweaker"
    By tmsgabber in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-05, 07:14 PM
  4. Undoing all changes made by Tweaks
    By skysurfer in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-05, 02:38 PM
  5. Need Help, New To Cable Tweaks.
    By Jaeden09 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-22-05, 06:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •