Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Stumped on Bonding / Teaming. Please Help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Stumped on Bonding / Teaming. Please Help

    I am trying to figure out the best way to merge two T1’s into one wan connection. I have a Cisco 1841 with dual T1 Wics but this is expensive and a pain to configure. I was thinking about using my ISP’s t1 routers and hooking in the linksys box that has dual Wans?.? I am also wondering if I can achieve the same thing using a server with a dual port Intel nic (as the wan) and a second nic for the lan. What do you think?

    Also, does anyone know if there is any way to actually BOND two broadband connections with out buying a 10K “fatpipe” device?


    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,921
    Personally I'd take the dual WAN router approach. However...with T-1's..you have to make sure the edge equipment that your T-1 ISP uses...has ethernet out, instead of serial...so you're sort of at their mercy here.

    For true "bonding"...you need to also have your ISP support that multi-link, else, you're devices can really only load balance/failover.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the reply. That is the way I was leaning as well. I know all our t1's have Ethernet out. This is how we are using them now. The problem is that we are overloading a couple of them and need to add more bandwidth. I guess this should solve it......Just for my knowledge, why wouldn't you try it using a PC with 2 wan nics and 1 lan nic?

    I'm getting ready to post another thread on Gateway devices, or network controllers. I have experience using Valuepoint (not always stable) and Nomadix controllers (to expensive). I am considering using a server instead....the only question is which IOS...what software.....proxy...etc. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Can't format drive- I'm stumped
    By twwabw in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-07, 01:59 PM
  2. Stumped with this Dell...
    By Loonatic in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-20-06, 11:32 AM
  3. Stumped on XP activation
    By Sid in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-21-06, 06:04 PM
  4. Power supply/ mobo issue - I'm stumped !
    By westy in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-05, 06:58 PM
  5. NxT1 bonding to obtain higher bandwidth
    By jhartman in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-05, 02:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •