Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 72 of 72

Thread: Burke's Vista thoughts...

  1. #61
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    So...does anyone wanna buy my copy? Home Premium OEM, never activated? (Yeah yeah, it "violates" the OEM agreements, but c'mon, never activated!)

    $100 shipped.
    Same for me, sealed Vista Business, 100 bucks shipped too (buy burke's first)

  2. #62
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I ordered a new HDD yesterday.. I'm kinda wondering if I could just put that drive in and flip back and forth between the XP one I have in now and install Vista on the other for now to test it out .. hmm!

  3. #63
    SG Enthusiast Leatherneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    The Great Midwest
    Posts
    3,611
    Quote Originally Posted by bhamblin View Post
    Biggest issue? The freakin' "Are you SURE? The bogeyman might be in this softwarez!"" dialogs. Yeah, you can dig around and change all that, but damn man...
    You mean I'm not alone with this opinion? I don't need a warning asking me if I'm sure I want to open notepad because I might accidentally edit a config file rendering some useless feature inoperable Nothing wrong with having the latest OS, but after 2,359 updates XP seems pretty stable.
    USMC RETIRED

    Steve

    Tacoma Guitar Forum

  4. #64
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    how do you do the Flip 3D with the Aero function? and are there any major things I need to tweak in Vista besides the normal stuff you shut off and tweak on XP?

  5. #65
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    how do you do the Flip 3D with the Aero function? and are there any major things I need to tweak in Vista besides the normal stuff you shut off and tweak on XP?
    Windows key + Tab

  6. #66
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by bhamblin View Post
    Windows key + Tab
    sweet.. yeah saw the other button at the bottom to set it up.. anything else I need to know? I've already went through hell to play BF2.

  7. #67
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Don't start disabling Services unless you're ready to undo the changes. I screwed it royally but killing some of them. Software Licensing service = Burke does not use Vista.

  8. #68
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,405
    i played with it for a while, but i am not impressed. Going to wait till the first service pack comes out for it and I can afford to upgrade the ram on my system
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  9. #69
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by nightowl View Post
    i played with it for a while, but i am not impressed. Going to wait till the first service pack comes out for it and I can afford to upgrade the ram on my system
    well so far its the audio drivers I'm having the most problems with as its causing alot of things to lock up cause of the lack of support from that end. As for Ram I'm curious if it supports more than 2gigs better than XP did as in not making it slower with 3 than 2 running in dual.

  10. #70
    SG Enthusiast 7thkevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,870
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    well so far its the audio drivers I'm having the most problems with as its causing alot of things to lock up cause of the lack of support from that end. As for Ram I'm curious if it supports more than 2gigs better than XP did as in not making it slower with 3 than 2 running in dual.


    I cant get Xfi drivers to work.. it says for vista but when I install it says can not find a supported card...

  11. #71
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by 7thkevin View Post
    I cant get Xfi drivers to work.. it says for vista but when I install it says can not find a supported card...
    odd.. did you redownload them and try? Plus are you going to give ALchemy a try?

    http://preview.creativelabs.com/alchemy/default.aspx
    Last edited by Sava700; 02-03-07 at 03:59 PM.

  12. #72
    R.I.P. MissTynker2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    6,930
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefty View Post
    They will get me to upgrade to Vista when they pry my lappy from my cold dead hands.
    Mystical Folding Minx

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft Update Windows Vista Homepage
    By hayc59 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 04:21 PM
  2. Vista is immune to viruses!
    By YARDofSTUF in forum Network Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-06, 01:49 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-06, 04:57 AM
  4. Windows Vista
    By thechemgeek in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-05, 05:38 PM
  5. New website thoughts ?
    By Ghosthunter in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-05, 09:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •