Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 207

Thread: question

  1. #101
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    ack, someone help me. I downloaded a memory usage meter thingy, and after I boot up my puter but before I open ANYTHING, it says I'm using 54% of my memory. That doesn't sound right, does it?
    There is security in fearlessness.

  2. #102
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    If I'm running Nod do I still need to run zonealarm?
    There is security in fearlessness.

  3. #103
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    where is everyone? my puter is very slow today for some reason...
    There is security in fearlessness.

  4. #104
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    get rid of zonealarm, zone alarm is the antichrist!

  5. #105
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    get rid of zonealarm, zone alarm is the antichrist!
    I thought zonealarm was the best free firewall? So is Nod enough then?
    There is security in fearlessness.

  6. #106
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    zonealarm is junk, windows built in firewall is decent, theres also a free comodo and keiro, you can google them.

  7. #107
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    could you tell me why exactly zonealarm is junk? It's been recommended to me by numerous people, many of whom know a bit about computers.. I'd just like to know what it is about it that isn't good...
    There is security in fearlessness.

  8. #108
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Its sluggish and bloated and most times when people have a fairly clean system and a problem its the cause, anyone that recommends it to you, slap them.

  9. #109
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    nope, haven't done any tweaks... and I didn't get SP2 cos I kept hearing it was screwing ppl's stuff up :/

    My lappy is a Sony Vaio PCG-GRZ660

    thanks for offering to fix it, but after seeing those new lappys at CompUSA, well.. I want a new one

    eta - apparently the overheating is a well known problem of this model:

    http://www.amazon.com/Sony-PCG-GRZ66.../dp/B000083GMF

    :/
    Yes, you could have some issues when upgrading to SP2. Program breakdowns mostly. If you come upon your XP disc later, I recommend slipstreaming SP2 into the install disc. Works great, never had any problems following a clean install of xpprosp2.

    Yeah I figured you'd want a new lappy.

    Thanks for the model # and the link to the overheating problem. +1!

    Lemme mull things over...

    Control Panel>System> Advanced Tab>Performance>Settings.

    3 changes under ...>Performance>Settings:

    a)
    ...>Performance>Settings>Visual Effects- "Adjust for best performance"

    Default is "Let Windows decide what's best for my computer"

    b)
    ...>Performance>Settings>Advanced-

    3 changes:

    Processor Scheduling
    and Memory usage

    "Adjust for best performance"

    Virtual memory

    It's prolly set to "system managed size". Select Custom and give yourself say 599 min and 600 max. That should work good- considering photoshop (which uses RAM, virtual memeory, and it's own scratch disc)

    Try those little adjustments. I'll be back later for some more in depth suggestions.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  10. #110
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    could you tell me why exactly zonealarm is junk? It's been recommended to me by numerous people, many of whom know a bit about computers.. I'd just like to know what it is about it that isn't good...
    I agree w/ every word YoS said.

    Zone Alarm was a decent sw firewall 4 years ago... just like Symantec has turned bloatware.

    You should be fine using the built in XP Firewall, it actually works pretty good. For the best security, invest in a NAT Router. Hardware firewwall

    remove ZA and I guarantee your computer will run better.

    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Uninstall zone alarm
    uncheck quicktime
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside View Post
    ... ps: Imho, Zone Alarm is a crappy resource hog.
    Imho, did you ever do that webroot online scan? Scan for rootkits! You were w/o av protection...

    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside View Post
    ... You may want to download the trial version of Webroot SpySweeper, update it and then do a thorough scan. You have scan options to scan compressed files and to scan for rootkits. I used to boot into another OS and then scan my main OS w/ antivirus to look for rootkits. Webroot changed that. Imho, best anti-spyware available- but the real time protection will use resources. i suggest dwnld and update the trial, once you're clean you can uninstall or buy it. It can be used as a scanner/cleaner only too- you just config it so that it doesn't start w/ win. if resopurces arwe a prob- which in your case I don't think SS will slow you down too much. Depends on where you go on the net really as to what level of protection you need.
    Last edited by ghettoside; 01-16-07 at 05:39 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  11. #111
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    ack, someone help me. I downloaded a memory usage meter thingy, and after I boot up my puter but before I open ANYTHING, it says I'm using 54% of my memory. That doesn't sound right, does it?
    Imho, just use windows Task Manager to check on this.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  12. #112
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    If she gets rid of any spyware and viruses and other garbarge she should be able to install SP2 without any problems. I have installed sp2 on 46 machines w/o problems.


    Still running sp1 on one machine at work, but that's a thread for the general forum.

  13. #113
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside View Post
    Imho, just use windows Task Manager to check on this.

  14. #114
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    If she gets rid of any spyware and viruses and other garbarge she should be able to install SP2 without any problems. I have installed sp2 on 46 machines w/o problems.


    Still running sp1 on one machine at work, but that's a thread for the general forum.
    Yups bro, I'm sure there's a chitload of malware. Haven't even asked if she's got Spybot and SpywareBlaster installed.

    9mm- most av doesn't protect against spyware, and the norton and mcafee products that do protect against said threats... they are piss poor apps.

    Webroot is the best.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  15. #115
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Webroot software is great, their support sucks.

    WIth time and different software issues and spyware I wonder how well SP2 would install for her.

  16. #116
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Its sluggish and bloated and most times when people have a fairly clean system and a problem its the cause, anyone that recommends it to you, slap them.
    Have removed Zone Alarm.

    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside View Post
    Yups bro, I'm sure there's a chitload of malware. Haven't even asked if she's got Spybot and SpywareBlaster installed.

    9mm- most av doesn't protect against spyware, and the norton and mcafee products that do protect against said threats... they are piss poor apps.

    Webroot is the best.
    I do have Spybot and Adaware.. used to have SpywareBlaster but apparently not anymore I'll re-download and run it. I hadn't run Spybot and Adaware in a while tho - Spybot found 11 things and Adaware has found 16 already and isn't done yet.

    I did download that websweeper thingie, it didn't find anything, although I"m not sure I looked for rootkits? I'll re-run it.

    When Adaware is done I'll do the tweaks you mentionend, Ghettoside.

    As always, thanks a million to all for the help
    There is security in fearlessness.

  17. #117
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983

  18. #118
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I thought NOD could detect rootkits?

  19. #119
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    Spysweeper is still sweeping, but it says "system monitor found - potentially rootkit-masked files". egads....

    Hi CableDude
    There is security in fearlessness.

  20. #120
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    I thought NOD could detect rootkits?

Similar Threads

  1. EnablePMTUDiscovery Question & MTU of 1492 Question
    By singularity2006 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-28-06, 11:19 AM
  2. Ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer
    By Chris in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 97
    Last Post: 09-06-06, 06:32 AM
  3. Question about network setup and speed
    By nyrfan in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-06, 10:36 AM
  4. How would you answer this question?
    By Lefty in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 12-08-05, 09:45 AM
  5. Question, from one that never has a question...
    By Mad_Haggis in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-05, 09:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •