Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 207

Thread: question

  1. #61
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by holokaustos View Post
    You have too many processes running.

  2. #62
    Writing is life. holokaustos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan...Wolverine Country!
    Posts
    206
    What do you mean? As in, "Hey, you have a virus!" Or as in, "Jesus, why is all that running?!"
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I got double my money cuz holokuasusususatsos quoted me too...
    Destroy racism Protect Net Neutrality

  3. #63
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by holokaustos View Post
    "Jesus, why is all that running?!"

  4. #64
    Writing is life. holokaustos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan...Wolverine Country!
    Posts
    206
    LOL! You scared me for a sec, man! Ran Spybot and everything, just to be sure...
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I got double my money cuz holokuasusususatsos quoted me too...
    Destroy racism Protect Net Neutrality

  5. #65
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    If he's running too much stuff, then so am I





    can someone tell me what looks funny?
    There is security in fearlessness.

  6. #66
    Writing is life. holokaustos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan...Wolverine Country!
    Posts
    206
    Well, not that I can tell, but I could be missing something. Your Vaio has some proprietary software running on it, which is to be expected if you use a laptop right out of the box without reformatting. NOD's there, too, but that's obvious, considering your other posts.

    All in all, everything appears to be like mine: just a bunch of stuff on your computer, that's all. Still, listen to whatever some of these guys have to say. They might be able to point out some tips that'll help your laptop run more smoothly...
    Last edited by holokaustos; 01-14-07 at 06:14 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I got double my money cuz holokuasusususatsos quoted me too...
    Destroy racism Protect Net Neutrality

  7. #67
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    Quote Originally Posted by holokaustos View Post
    Well, not that I can tell, but I could be missing something. Your Vaio has some proprietary software running on it, which is to be expected if you use a laptop right out of the box without reformatting. NOD's there, too, but that's obvious, considering your other thread.

    All in all, everything appears to be just like mine: just a bunch of stuff on your computer, that's all. Still, listen to whatever some of these guys have to say. They might be able to point out some tips that'll help your laptop run more smoothly...
    thanks.. yeah it's already running a bit faster after I did what they said, which is really cool.

    does anyone know how to keep the "automatic updates" thing for windows from loading each time I start up my puter? Its always there, and I don't want it to be..
    There is security in fearlessness.

  8. #68
    Writing is life. holokaustos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan...Wolverine Country!
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    thanks.. yeah it's already running a bit faster after I did what they said, which is really cool.

    does anyone know how to keep the "automatic updates" thing for windows from loading each time I start up my puter? Its always there, and I don't want it to be..
    Try this:

    Go to Control Panel > Security Center > Change the way Security Center notifies me. If the main Security Center box doesn't have the option you're looking for, then the "Change the way Security Center notifies me" option should be the one.
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I got double my money cuz holokuasusususatsos quoted me too...
    Destroy racism Protect Net Neutrality

  9. #69
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    My Computer properties > automatic updates > and there you can turn off auto updates and jsut do it manually if you like.

  10. #70
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    I just disable the automatic updates service.

  11. #71
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Are you running two Antivirus programs?

  12. #72
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    Are you running two Antivirus programs?
    not anymore - I uninstalled AVG and am just using Nod.

    could all those processes running be why my puter is slow sometimes?

    Ps - disabled auto-updates, thanks
    There is security in fearlessness.

  13. #73
    Revenant 9mmprincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    out where the lions roar
    Posts
    1,756
    One thing I don't understand is that under processes it lists "explorer" even though I don't have IE open; nor do I have windows explorer open. All I have open right nowis firefox, windows task manager, and MSN messenger.. so what is this explorer that is open and taking up 16708 worth of memory?
    There is security in fearlessness.

  14. #74
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    One thing I don't understand is that under processes it lists "explorer" even though I don't have IE open; nor do I have windows explorer open. All I have open right nowis firefox, windows task manager, and MSN messenger.. so what is this explorer that is open and taking up 16708 worth of memory?
    It's the windows "shell"

    This is the user shell, which we see as the familiar taskbar, desktop, and so on. This process isn't as vital to the running of Windows as you might expect, and can be stopped (and restarted) from Task Manager, usually with no negative side effects on the system.

  15. #75
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    One thing I don't understand is that under processes it lists "explorer" even though I don't have IE open; nor do I have windows explorer open. All I have open right nowis firefox, windows task manager, and MSN messenger.. so what is this explorer that is open and taking up 16708 worth of memory?
    windows explorer. That's normal.

    I agree with CableDude, you guys have a lot of crap running

    Like holokaustos said, a lappy out of the box running a PE will have a lot of crap running on it. Nothing harmful, but yeah slows your box down. Best action w/ a new lappy is wipe the hdd and do a clean install of XP Pro SP2. Download any driver packages from your lappy manufacturer and you shouldn't have any poroblems, if you do, then you have the drivers and chit.

    3 things:

    avgemc.exe
    avgupsvc.exe
    avgamsvr.exe

    Those are avg processes still running.

    Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services

    Hunt those avg processes down and stop them, then disable and apply. Restart.

    I'm sure there's another way to turn that off, I'm just having another brain fart.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  16. #76
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmprincess View Post
    thanks.. yeah it's already running a bit faster after I did what they said, which is really cool.

    does anyone know how to keep the "automatic updates" thing for windows from loading each time I start up my puter? Its always there, and I don't want it to be..
    automatic updates or gen advantage notification?

    I'm running a corp key so I had to remove that gen adv crap.

    The guys already answered the updates question...
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  17. #77
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,784
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettoside View Post
    3 things:

    avgemc.exe
    avgupsvc.exe
    avgamsvr.exe

    Those are avg processes still running.
    She may have uninstalled AVG, but didn't restart? Those should be gone with an uninstall.


  18. #78
    Writing is life. holokaustos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan...Wolverine Country!
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    My Computer properties > automatic updates > and there you can turn off auto updates and jsut do it manually if you like.
    Was that different than what she and I were discussing? I thought the icon in the taskbar, the one that lets you know of updates, came from the Security Center?

    Unless you're talking about the actual updates and I'm talking about the notification of those updates...
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I got double my money cuz holokuasusususatsos quoted me too...
    Destroy racism Protect Net Neutrality

  19. #79
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    She may have uninstalled AVG, but didn't restart? Those should be gone with an uninstall.

    Yups, should be gone is correct- but I have seen this before with various av. After restart.

    Quickest thing I could think of was going into services and stop, disable and reboot. I couldn't find an AVG uninstaller, like symantec offers rnav.

    Didn't google it too hard- time for 24 to start lol!
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

  20. #80
    Senior Member ghettoside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    At Large in the US
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by holokaustos View Post
    Was that different than what she and I were discussing? I thought the icon in the taskbar, the one that lets you know of updates, came from the Security Center?

    Unless you're talking about the actual updates and I'm talking about the notification of those updates...
    lol, that's what I'm trying to figure out. Automatic updates (the service) or it's config (tray notification), or the win genuine advantage nag.

    You can turn off the Security center too, but Auto Updates can be controlled a couple ways.
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post

    There are idiots everywhere.

    At work, in forums, in poetry classes, everywhere!

Similar Threads

  1. EnablePMTUDiscovery Question & MTU of 1492 Question
    By singularity2006 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-28-06, 11:19 AM
  2. Ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer
    By Chris in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 97
    Last Post: 09-06-06, 06:32 AM
  3. Question about network setup and speed
    By nyrfan in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-06, 10:36 AM
  4. How would you answer this question?
    By Lefty in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 12-08-05, 09:45 AM
  5. Question, from one that never has a question...
    By Mad_Haggis in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-05, 09:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •