Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: weird internet problem with time warner ... only 1 ip that works from router?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    weird internet problem with time warner ... only 1 ip that works from router?

    I'm helping a friend out with his internet but I can't figure it out. It's prob. stupid that I'm overlooking but I can't figure it out. There is 2 computers, both are connected to the linksys router BEFSR41. The cable modem is connected to the router via the uplink port.

    The weird thing is that the first computer that boots up, gets an ip of 64.xxx.xxx.xxx and the second computer that boots up gets the 192.1698.1.102

    The first computer can access the web with no problem but the second one cannot. I know the onboard nic on the second computer is working since it can talk to the router, just can't access the web. And when we switch up which boot first, the first computer always gets to the internet.

    I would expect that since both computers are connected to the router they should get the router ip, 192.168.1.xxx but it seems like the first computer that boots up is connected directly to the cable modem(based on the ip address), but both are wired connected to the router.

    What's wrong, do I need a cross over cable or something between the cable modem and the router or is the router doing something weird?

    Thanks in adv!

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Sounds like DHCP is turned off.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Sounds like DHCP is turned off.
    How to I enable DHCP? The router shows the DHCP server is turned on, and when I hit properties on the TCP/IP settings it shows DHCP for both computers.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Quote Originally Posted by pastrami View Post
    How to I enable DHCP? The router shows the DHCP server is turned on, and when I hit properties on the TCP/IP settings it shows DHCP for both computers.
    Then it should be on, the router is where I'd question it. Make sure its not just on for the internet connection but also for the network, should be/could be 2 spots in the setup area for DHCP. The rotuer isnt set to DMZ mode is it?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Then it should be on, the router is where I'd question it. Make sure its not just on for the internet connection but also for the network, should be/could be 2 spots in the setup area for DHCP. The rotuer isnt set to DMZ mode is it?
    DHCP is enabled on the computers and the router ... DMZ mode is off

    Should the cable modem cable to going into the uplink or the WAN port?

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Quote Originally Posted by pastrami View Post
    DHCP is enabled on the computers and the router ... DMZ mode is off

    Should the cable modem cable to going into the uplink or the WAN port?
    Cable modem to Router WAN, all PCs to the 1 2 3 4 ports.

Similar Threads

  1. Strange problem with wireless router
    By vandalx in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-08, 07:11 PM
  2. Router WAN problem
    By first_major in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-06, 03:37 PM
  3. wired router/wireless router network problem
    By MidgetBrawl in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-06, 01:29 PM
  4. Azureus, XP or router problem?
    By Silmano in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-06, 10:16 AM
  5. rough start
    By Lefty in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-30-05, 09:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •