Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: System time

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943

    System time

    Probably this should be in hardware but I am putting it in here...My computer is 8 months old and on occasions the hour part of system clock stops advancing but minutes stay con the correct time? Is it my CMOS battery? I would doubt it since the minutes stay accurate. He anyone heard of such a thing as this? If so, how do I fix it please? XP OS

    TIA

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Often CMOS battery
    In the past used to sometimes be blamed on antivirus software, a BIOS flash would often fix the compatibility issue there.
    Sometimes you just come across a system that flat out, for whatever the heck reason, can't keep the time correct. Resort to some 3rd party software to keep the clock synched..like AtomicClockSynch.
    http://www.download.com/Atomic-Clock...-10061823.html
    XP has a basic one built in...you can add better NIST time clocks via the registry.
    http://www.worldtimeserver.com/atomic-clock/
    Of course if you're on a domain, the w32time service synchs across active directory..so make sure your DC is synched properly with NIST time servers.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    could just have the wrong timezone set in windows too.

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    It turns out it was the wrong timezone although i have no idea as to how it was changed since I never did it. Do you guys have any ideas as to what could of caused it or even heard of this happening?

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    User error

    That or it was fine cuz whatever wrong timezone it was worked until the last DST switch.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    no, no user error. not twice in 1 week...any other ideas?

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    No clue, I guess add it to the mystery column.

Similar Threads

  1. Long time no see
    By donald_k in forum Feedback, Suggestions & Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-05, 09:53 PM
  2. c00002la{fatal system error} confused
    By mongul in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-05, 02:47 AM
  3. BF2 Crashing
    By Scott in forum Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-21-05, 02:11 PM
  4. aČ System Editor PlugIn Released
    By hayc59 in forum Network Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-05, 08:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •