Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Cable Modem to Computer, Computer to Router... how, please :)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Cable Modem to Computer, Computer to Router... how, please :)

    Hello,

    I absolutely hate routers. But I just got a laptop and so I got a router as well so I can give it wireless Internet. But for the life of me, I do not want my desktop to be behind a router. I want the desktop to give internet to the router, which inturn gives Internet to the Laptop wirelessly as well as filesharing via workgroups. I am relatively competent with computers, but I admit I don't completely know what I am doing when the router isnt setup between modem to desktop.

    I am using Windoze XP Pro SP2 and the router is a Dlink DGL-4300. Might be noteworthy that I am using a crossover cable to connect the computer to the router. If this is wrong I can use standard Ethernet..

    So recap on my desired setup:

    --INTERNET---MODEM---DESKTOP---ROUTER----wi-re-le-ss----LAPTOP

    As far as I know this is possible. I had a friend who had Internet > Modem > Computer > Router > Router > Computers (both routers went to different computers) .. but I am no longer in touch with him.

    I dont think I need to setup dhcp software on Windoze or anything like that, but I may be wrong as well. Basically if someone would please be so kind as to tell me how to accomplish this setup I would be very grateful.

    I suspect I am not supposed to plug the Desktop into the WAN port on the Router but one of the LAN ones as when I plug it into the WAN I can't even access the Router's Control Panel. If I plug it into the LAN, I can access the Router's CP, but then my Internet Disconnects/Reconnects forever.

    It would seem the router assigns the Local Area Connection going to the router a regular network IP of 192.168.0.xxx, with its gateway as 192.168.0.1 . Also it seems an "Internet Connection" icon appears in Network Connections -- which wasnt there before. Denno if this information is useful.

    Again, I really appreciate your assistance for this Thank you!

    -Ji

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Ah nvm I got it. I had to disable the dhcp server on the router, and assign it some bogus wan settings. All is well now :P

    thanks anyways.

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    That really seems retarded. Why dont you want to be behind a router?

    Behind the router you get the protection of NAT. The Dlink 4300 is a great router too, has a nice QoS feature listed as gamers fuel or something as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I connect Cable modem to DSL router?
    By fun2sh in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 09-01-15, 09:33 AM
  2. Router Cable Modem connection problems
    By mrglouie in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-14-09, 01:50 PM
  3. Cable Modem Losing Signal. Time Warner = Clueless...
    By wildmandingo in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-09, 08:18 PM
  4. Guide for fixing lost connection and speed issues on cable.
    By Rocky_Grim in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 02:12 PM
  5. Linksys Cable modem (BEFCMU10) & Router (WRT54G) connection problem
    By surlung in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-06, 02:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •