Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Copying a HDD HELP!

  1. #1
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,944

    Copying a HDD HELP!

    I am using norton ghost 9.0 to copy an older hdd to a newer hdd... I copy the HDD to make a direct copy and also the Master boot record... I reset the computer with the copied HDD as the master in IDE 0. And it won't boot up...

    I then go to fdisk and set the partition in the cloned drive as active... But it still won't boot up... It ends up getting past the bios etc then says something about 'verifying DMI table' and hangs there....

    Don't know what to do now.... Any help?

  2. #2
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,944
    nvm... found out how to do it.. You had to delete the partition of the new drive... and it works like a charm... sucks how there is not a lot of documentation on how to do this... just wasted 3 hrs doing this...

  3. #3
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Is this a replacement hard drive for the same pc or a hard drive in another pc?


  4. #4
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,944
    it was a replacement

  5. #5
    Karma is a SOB Addict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by aagiants View Post
    it was a replacement
    If its Western Digital, I find that their freebie tools work easier than Ghost. Ghost is a GREAT app, but its easier to clone drives with the WD tools. Not sure if Seagate has the same (I know Maxtor has something like it).

Similar Threads

  1. Wipe clean a Dell laptop HDD ?
    By mountainman in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-28-06, 01:05 PM
  2. MPAA admits to unauthorized movie copying
    By Zerohero in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-06, 06:11 PM
  3. HDD setup
    By morbidpete in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-28-05, 06:28 PM
  4. can't see hdd in an enclosure IBM Thinkpad HDD
    By AMPLIFRIER in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-05, 09:40 AM
  5. HDD cluster size
    By persianpower in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-31-05, 03:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •